We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room had awful smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room had awful smell”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Overall our experience was okay, except for the horrible damp smell of mildew and mold of our room. Everything in the room felt wet. For the price we paid (which was a lot) I would have expected something better. Through out the night you could hear the A/C leaking onto the carpet, which was probably the cause for the awful smell. If we hadn't gotten into our room so late I would have asked to be moved.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor- they all have a damp smell to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Amanda C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    46
    22
    16
    2
See reviews for
52
17
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We chose this hotel because it was directly between Hershey & Lancaster which were the two places we would be visiting during our 5 day excursion.
Although our reservations for 2 rooms had been made months in advance, upon arrival we were told we were going to have to be moved after spending only one night in one room but the remainder of our stay would be in the same room. Fortunately, the clerk was able to "upgrade" us to a bigger room with a sleeper sofa.
Unfortunately, the "upgrade" was next to the stairs which had a doorway. Nightly construction workers would arrive between 4:30 & 5:15 AM slamming the stairway door rather than taking the elevator which was silent! Even after requesting the staff speak with the workers, they continued to slam the door morning after morning!
When I was able to speak with the manager, she offered a complimentary stay next time we were in the area! I told her we would NEVER return here! It was more expensive than the hotels in Hershey & Lancaster but to save on time & gas we stayed here. BAD decision. DON'T STAY HERE unless you don't expect to get a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Request a room away from elevators & stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafferhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your most recent stay at our property. I can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate parties to aide in improving our services for the future. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings of your stay with us. Feel free to contact me directly anytime at 717-367-4000 or 800-335-4188 should you wish to discuss these issues with me. Thank you again, and have a great day!

Regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elizabethtown hotels

Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Location was good--about 15 minutes outside of Hershey and very close to Amish Country--Old PA Tpke.

The room was great. Comfy beds and pillows and very clean. A little strange to have the sink in the room a foot away from the bed but for one night it was not a big deal. We used the pull out couch which was AWFUL - all springs. The two of us who slept there did not get a wink of sleep.

Breakfast was super--nice options, all fresh, and the ladies working the space were very professional.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't sleep on the pull out sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careerdagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafferhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your thoughtful comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We sincerely appreciate it! Have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

When you go to a brand name hotel, you hope for no surprises. That was the case with this Holiday Inn Express. Well located just off the 283 highway, with quite easy access to Elizabethtown College where we were attending a conference. The room was spacious and clean; the WiFI worked fine. The complimentary breakfast had a nice range of options, including several hot choices. We'd go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusty_Archivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a friends wedding in March and found the Hotel great as far as facilities, breakfast, and amenities.
We felt, though, that it is overpriced as the only other hotel in town is the Red Rose Inn and it does not get rave reviews.
We were also shocked that this town of 12000 does not have any taxi service and were further surprised that the hotel did not offer any kind of shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaggyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear SaggyBs,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. We are pleased you found our hotel to be great. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Chose hotel for it's convenience for a quick visit to Elizabethtown. Found it to be a good value, providing everything needed for my stay. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Plan to stay again next pass through town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckaugello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Overall a decent place to stay. The room was bright and clean, the TV, fridge and mic were very functional and clean (fridge/mic). Beds were a little soft for my taste but ok for my daughter. Free breakfast was very good with a large selection of food. Staff was always present to clean, top off the coffee and food. All staff were vere pleasent.

Here are my concerns: The hallways reeked of fresh cigarette smoke no matter what time of day. The room itself smelled of sprayed air freshener..ostensibly to counteract the nasty hallway smell. The heater in the room (February visit) was very noisy. When we arrived we found out the the tiolet was clogged. I called the front desk and they said they'd be right up with a plunger. They were ideed fast! When I opened the door less than 5 minutes after calling, the staff member held out a plunger, said "here you go" and walked away leaving me to unclog the toilet.

Other than those four issues, our stay was pleasent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julyvaca33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear julyvaca33804,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that our breakfast exceeded your expectations and you find our room bright and clean. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are happy you experienced it as such. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced and for the inconvenience the hallways and toilet may have caused. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and assure you that proper measures have been taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
69 reviews
14.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#3 of 7 in Manheim
647 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Manheim - Lebanon
7.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Address: 147 Merts Dr, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-8803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania (Hershey Area) is the ideal place to be in PA! Our hotel is located betweenHarrisburg, Hershey and Lancaster.. Corporate business travelers will value our free high-speed Internet, as well as our close proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport (MDT), Manheim Auto Auction, Elizabethtown College, Masonic Village, and the community of Mount Joy. Vacationers will enjoy the Amish Country, thrills of Hersheypark, and easy access to Hollywood Casino! We also have discount tickets to many area attractions available at our front desk. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, all of our guests will enjoy our variety of well-appointed guest rooms, including triple queen suites,for larger families, and luxurious whirlpool suites for a relaxing or romantic getaway. Our staff will greet you with a warm welcome, and offer a good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Our free, deluxe Continental breakfast has plenty of variety to start your morning, and now also includes a selection of hot foods daily, as well as, warm cinnamon rolls, a variety of pastries, cereal, and much more! We are easy access from the PA Turnpike (I-76) and airport MDT, just off Rt. 283 at the Rheems/Elizabethtown exit. We'd love to have you stay with us, and we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elizabethtown
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing