We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Tunkhannock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean, quite, comfortable and affordable. Did i mention clean? Front desk staff very accommodating. Full breakfast included. Would certainly stay there again and will in the near future. I do a lot of traveling so an quite particular of my stays.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    22
    14
    2
See reviews for
49
17
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BUFFALO, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Would have rated it 5 stars for location, value, comfort & welcoming, helpful staff...were it not for a few issues as follows: The bathroom fan was extremely noisy, loud rattling thing. Our telephone did not work. The television stations do not match what it says on screen, and the channel selection isn't great. No TCM. The room coffee is horrendous, not fit for human consumption. The coffee in the lobby isn't much better - tasteless swill. Wifii connection so terribly slow, I gave up. We were there for 2 nights. When we left our room just before noon on Easter Sunday, we asked the front desk clerk to have our room serviced. She stated "oh, the cleaning staff has left for the day". Ok, I get it, it's Easter Sunday. Why weren't we informed, we asked? Why would we not get our room serviced when we were there for 2 nights? The clerk then seemed to notice her error and offered to service our room herself. When we arrived back that night, the room was in fine condition, cleaned and fresh towels, garbage removed etc. Also the phone was fixed. They could not fix the fan because the maintenance person was not on duty at the time. Great location right off the interstate, but quiet enough. We'll be back there again - hopefully with no problems next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBirdier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear WanderingBirdier,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

It was an average stay. The room was clean, but the matresses were very uncomfortable. The coffee was more like water, which really makes it hard for me. But the staff was friendly and it was convient to the Elizabethtown College that we had come to visit.

Room Tip: I purchased the oversize room to allow for more room since it was 3 of us. Basically it was a cuto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCSpriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear OCSpriggs,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and the coffee. We will address these concerns.I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
283 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

after reading a few reviews I was unsure what my stay would be like...well It was great! I arrived around 3 pm for a 10 hour stay ,The parking lot was a little difficult for a semi but I have been in worse lots..the lady at the desk was great they offered a truckdriver rate that was wonderful..room was nice and clean..bed was standard Holiday Inn bed it was perfect...had a stand up shower with good water pressure for being on top floor..the room was not huge but was plenty big enough for me and everything was clean and in order..I checked out shortly after 1am the girl had my bill ready and fresh coffee made...all was perfect If Im in the area again this is where I will stay...

Room Tip: top floor was nice and quiet ..great for a daytime sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the much more upscale Sheraton in downtown Boston and we actually thought this room was nicer--just as clean and comfortable, but larger and with more amenities like a kitchenette. We were in and out for a niece's wedding, but would have found it a very restful place to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Recently spent a Saturday night and we (husband & wife, adult daughter plus a dog) were pleased by the hospitality of the front desk staff. We arrived just a bit more than 3 hours earlier than check-in time with the intent of merely leaving one of our two cars in the parking lot, exploring the Lancaster area and returning late in the afternoon.
While there we sent inside to use the lobby bathroom and daughter decided to check-in. We had reservations for one queen bed with a rollaway cot but the front desk was able to upgrade us to two queen beds. The lobby had a few cafe tables/chairs so we opted to eat the sandwich lunch we had packed there. The staff didn't raise an eyebrow at this and by the time we had finished eating the upgrade room was ready and the from desk had decided to not charge us a pet fee. We dropped our bags in the room, which fully met our expectations, took off to see the area and returned late in the afternoon as planned and then went out to dinner and a show (How to Succeed at Business Without Really Trying) at the Dutch Apple Dinner Theatre.
Everything in the room worked as expected and the A/C unit was not loud.
Breakfast was not quite as busy as we expected and it filled our needs just fine. Rather than having a waffle maker, this hotel had an automated pancake maker - just put a plate on the table at the discharge end of the machine & push the GO button. In less that 1 minute out roll two pancakes ready to eat. This is quite a time-saver when compared to waffle makers plus the area around it is much cleaner.
All this and we were also able to get the government rate on the room. If you are looking for a pet-friendly place to stay in the Lancaster area, you would be wise to consider this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The room was clean and had plenty of space for us and our little dog, who was allowed! My partner had a symposium to go to at the Dept. of Corrections Training Academy for 2 days. I went to keep her company, they gave us a USA every morning to read, choc covered pretzels at check-in, out front was a little mini park where I walked my little guy and free breakfast too. I suppose for a down side I'd say the beds were a bit too bouncy as were the pillows but we were able too sleep just fine.
Great stay ! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rshafferhie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area), responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your thoughtful comments in regards to your recent stay at our property. I am sincerely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please keep us in mind for the future should you need lodging accommodations in the area. Thanks again, and have a wonderful day!

With warm regards,
Rose Shaffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Manheim
Hampton Inn Manheim
#3 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
14.7 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
9.5 mi away
Lancaster Inn & Suites
Lancaster Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
Address: 147 Merts Dr, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-8803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re traveling for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania (Hershey Area) is the ideal place to be in PA! Our hotel is located betweenHarrisburg, Hershey and Lancaster.. Corporate business travelers will value our free high-speed Internet, as well as our close proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport (MDT), Manheim Auto Auction, Elizabethtown College, Masonic Village, and the community of Mount Joy. Vacationers will enjoy the Amish Country, thrills of Hersheypark, and easy access to Hollywood Casino! We also have discount tickets to many area attractions available at our front desk. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, all of our guests will enjoy our variety of well-appointed guest rooms, including triple queen suites,for larger families, and luxurious whirlpool suites for a relaxing or romantic getaway. Our staff will greet you with a warm welcome, and offer a good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Our free, deluxe Continental breakfast has plenty of variety to start your morning, and now also includes a selection of hot foods daily, as well as, warm cinnamon rolls, a variety of pastries, cereal, and much more! We are easy access from the PA Turnpike (I-76) and airport MDT, just off Rt. 283 at the Rheems/Elizabethtown exit. We'd love to have you stay with us, and we look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elizabethtown
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown
Elizabethtown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing