We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping with lots of options all around!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hershey KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Beautiful campgrounds with lots of different type camping spaces...rvs, tents, cabins. Great recreational hall with kitchen facilities! Check out the Sunday morning breakfast! Or Popcorn and movies!! Large swimming pool along with a kiddie pool, playgrounds for the kids! Giant chess set off the patio! Mini golf, fishing! What more could you ask for at a home away from home! New cabins have been added, including a handicapped cabin! They are sparking clean! The bathhouse, bathrooms are very clean and have laundry facilities available, a country store and probably much more I am forgetting! The people who run the place strive to make it an enjoyable stay for everyone! There are rules and security which makes it a safe place! The location is great, close to so many things in the Lancaster area...shopping the outlets and amish country, sight seeing, Hershey Park, Antique Car museum, Hershey Experience, great restaurants if you want to eat out...what more could you ask for! Go and camp and relax or use it for a base for your exploring!!! If you have special needs, talk to the staff, they seem more than willing to try to accommodate customers! Opens in April and closes in November (hey, it's PA weather!). There are seasonal regulars along with people passing thru the area! Make it a stop for your next camping get a way...whether you are local or coming to the area from a distance!!! VERY well maintained! This is the type of hidden gem that once you stay there, you'll share it with all your friends!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artisticwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very friendly, very helpful. But the campground is closed Nov - mid April.
We would definitely stay again. We came all the way from California and actually have considered coming back when everything is green and in peak season.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limeyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I have read a lot of bad reviews on this campsite but I can honestly say our family has only had wonderful experiences there. We have camped there for 3 years in a row and will definitely be going back this summer. It is a little out of the way but we actually enjoy the quietness. It is a well kept campsite with a cute little store. There are two pools, two playgrounds for the kids and a fun miniature golf area. There is a "rec hall" where kids can go and watch movies, make ice cream sundaes,play pool,etc.. There is also a little pond for fishing. I do believe the hornet issue is where the volleyball nets are set up. Unfortunately, that is where the other playground is for the kids and the hornets are quite bad. I would think they could do a little more to get rid of them. We stay in a cabin and have only had one problem which was a clogged kitchen sink. We informed management and by the time we returned from the pool, the problem was solved. I found the staff to be very friendly, however, I did hear some folks complaining about the manager. They do charge you a $125.00 deposit fee upon arrival but that was returned to us within 2 weeks after our departure. If you're looking for a quiet, clean family oriented campsite, I think you'll like this place! We certainly do!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discj0ckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

KOA, what to say? I called ahead let them know I have more people to add onto my reservation. I have a pop up camper. I asked if I could use a tent so we wouldn't be cramped, that was ok. Ok, until I got there. It was $10 pp, then $5 more a night for a tent ( keep in mind no more extra people, just to use our tent) then $8 a night bc we had an extra vehicle we were not even allowed to put on the site. It was nickle and dime you for everything. Putt putt golf on site should be free, it's small and mediocre, costs $3.75 a person. The virtual tour I took looked 100% different from the bathrooms I was near. Which were a little dirty but it is a campground. I just expect whatever brand new bathroom that was online I would be seeing, not old with mildew. The pond is small but my only issue is set hours to fish? Can't fish before 8am but most fishers get up early? Not near any campers so not sure why there are hours unless they try to charge for that too. Camp store and kitchen ( when it is open) doesn't open until 830 so early risers cant do anything. Front desk staff was rude and cold old ladies. Not even a friendly gesture minus thank you.So here is your positive- the pool was nice, 15 to hershey, 20 to Lancaster.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank erinhatfield12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The campground is very well maintained and the sites are quite large. The staff was not overly friendly and this was the first time ever at a KOA that we had no help by the staff to back into our site. On our second night there a camper pulled in beside us at around 8 oclock pm in the rain and the staff simply showed him where his site was and did not offer him any help to back in. My husband was kind enough to go and help them out with a flaslight and guide them onto their site and got completely soaked...BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! 10 minutes after we set up we we're swarmed by hornets and spoke to fellow campers who said that they and their neighbors experienced the same problem and two of their children we're stung! When they went to the office to see if the staff could do anything about the hornets and their nests the staff reply was you're in the country and the in the country there are bugs!!!!! We decided to leave one day early because the hornets we're sooo bad and gave the front desk 2 days notice that we would be leaving 1 day early and did not get reimbursed...Once again this was the first time ever in a KOA that we we're charged for an early departure, we have stayed in many KOA and this has never happened!!! All in all not a horrid place to stay compared to the other campgrounds in the area but not up to the standards of most KOA's.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We rented a basic cabin- one full bed, 3 twins (2 are bunk beds). We just needed to sleep there before we continued on our road trip.

Pros:
CLean cabin
Fire ring for campfires
Our cabin was #105- close to pool, close to bath house
2 playgrounds- nice ones too
Pool was great- basketball hoop, large shallow end, clean warm water
kiddie pool for toddlers
Great playgrounds for kids
washer dryer available
Staff was very kind and helpful


Cons- no running water in our cabin. This is a downside of our choice with the basic cabin. The deluxe models have more options but weren't available
The bathhouse near the pool wasn't updated but was clean
Beds were ok but might need more if staying more than one night. They are simple and clean mattresses on bunk beds. Not for everyone but worked for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

NOTE: THE BEST WAY INTO THE PARK IS 441 to Turnpike Road (locals refer to it as the "Falmouth intersection"). GPS will take you a down a couple of back narrower roads. Stay on 441, GPS will "recalculate" two times, then route you directly to Turnpike Road This is an outstanding park. Very well maintained, continually updated, and offering all the amenities you expect from a KOA. There are 3 sections to the campground. Front section is newest and less shaded but is designed for pull throughs and big rigs. (ask if the new sites with a patio and swing are available). The center section is well shaded and sits across the road from the new Kamp cabins. The lower section is being expanded and also is tent friendly (mulch spaces with electric).

Pools are very nice with a water mushroom in the main pool and spray jets in the kiddie pool. 3' chess pieces and wooden checkers are available next to the General Store.

Wifi worked great the whole time. The 2 hour limit is unique but minimally problematic.

We chose this park after flatly rejecting a park in York. The park is about 30 minutes from Hershey, 30 minutes from Lancaster, and 40 minutes from Elizabethtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
11.3 mi away
Hershey RV & Camping Resort
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
4.8 mi away
The Red Rose Motel
The Red Rose Motel
#2 of 2 in Elizabethtown
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
West Ridge Guest House
West Ridge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Elizabethtown
50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amanda Gish House
Amanda Gish House
#1 of 3 in Elizabethtown
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey KOA Campground

Address: 1980 Turnpike Rd, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-9542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Elizabethtown
Number of rooms: 175

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing