We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Amanda Gish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanda Gish House
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

After a hectic 2 weeks of work in Washington DC & New York, this was the perfect place for rest & relaxation! The beautiful accommodation, great breakfasts & spectacular hospitality of our hosts gave us all a wonderful experience! The Garden room was gorgeous with a lovely bathroom, attached. Ann was the best tour guide & made sure we saw the places we wanted in out short time available. Thank you for the great experience!

Room Tip: The Garden room has a lovely huge bathroom attached with additional shower - great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

If you're in Lancaster County PA and want a lovely, Victorian B&B at a reasonable price, check out the Amanda Gish house. It's located between Hershey and Lancaster. The food is delicious and the rooms are lovely. Ann & Dave, the proprietors, are very knowledgeable about the attractions in the area as well as great hosts. I've stayed in all 3 guest rooms, and like them all for different reasons. The Garden Room is the largest and best. It has a spacious area for sitting and a huge bathroom with stall shower and a jacuzzi tub, plus double sinks. The French Room is a good size, but lacks usable seating, so it really is a bedroom, but has a lovely bathroom. The Rose Room is about the same size as the French Room, but you have use the bathroom located in the hallway, which is private. The parlor is very nice and cozy and good for sitting and reading. Each room has been updated recently with DISH network and flat screen TV. I visited there several times as my mother was a resident of the nearby Masonic Village until her passing in late December. I felt such warmth during my visits here and knew that Ann & Dave really cared about my well being. I can't say enough about the experience I have had there. You can tell that Ann & Dave love being hosts of a bed & breakfast. I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Go with the Garden Room for the best experience, although all three rooms are clean & comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallagherbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaville, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We've stayed in numerous B & B's, hotels, timeshares, etc. but the Amanda Gish House exemplifies perfection! It's clean, Ann and Dave are perfect hosts, food is delicious and decor is impressive. Our son goes to Etown and if we can't stay here (because we waited to long) we get very disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington d.c.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The Amanda Gish House exemplifies the best of a B&B experience: cozy rooms, cordial gosts, relaxing ambiance, and great home-cooked food! We stayed in the French room, with a queen bed and private bath w/whirlpool and updated fixtures, + robes, and slippers. Go ahead and spoil me!

Ann and Dave were very accommodating to our request for a gluten free breakfast - they came up with fantastic recipes for both days, including waffles and muffins that were indistinguishable from the equivalent wheat-flour based items!

We also appreciated their directions and recommendations on sightseeing in the area. Ann and Dave take pride in their beautifully renovated 1896 (?) property and want to share this with their guests. The location on a street leading out of Elizabethtown was a lot quieter than other B&Bs in the Lancaster area that I drove past that were on major roads. We also enjoyed their garden and self-propelled swing.

E-Town is about equidistant from Harrisburg and Lancaster and 15 mins. from Hershey, which allows for a greater variety of sightseeing opportunities. Other B&Bs are closer to Amish country, but driving time is generally less than 30 minutes to anyplace in Lancaster Co. from the Amanda Gish House.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCsquasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiyuan, China
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Wow. I was really impressed, especially for the price, and given that only budget hotels were cheaper during a busy summer weekend. One of the nicest B&Bs I've stayed in, and a really excellent value.

The hosts are very welcoming. The house is a lovely older house with high ceilings and interesting features. The exterior is nicely landscaped as well.

Each evening, there were fresh cookies. There was also a fridge with soda pop, a hot drink maker for tea/coffee/hot chocolate and some after dinner drinks available to enjoy for free. The free Wifi worked well.

Breakfasts were nice, starting with a baked item with a homemade flavored butter. The breakfast were tasty and included good local sausages from a well-known local shop and other nice touches (chilled mango soup!)

The smallest room is a small, but comfortable. All rooms have their own bathrooms, but the smallest room has the bathroom in the hall, which includes a massaging bath. Helpfully, there is a sink in the bedroom and a room divider is provided in the hall to add some extra privacy for going back and forth between the room and bathroom. Those little touches make all of the difference.

Parking spaces might be a little tight, but it is possible to park on the side street next to the house as well.

It is located a couple of minutes outside of Elizabethtown. It is right across from the Masonic Homes, so perfect for visitors there and fine for the college. Also, it is about 20 minutes from Hershey and a far better value than anything else I have found in the area during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Great location if you want to check out Lancaster County. Dave and Ann are excellent hosts. Stayed 2 nights and both days the breakfast was wonderful. (some of the food from local shops which is great.) Very helpful in giving us directions to different places in the area. (we didn't get to check it out, but there is a "Amish Wal-mart" that we will have to check out next time) We did the package where you got 2 tickets to Nissley's winery concert and dinner. What a treat! It was all packed in a suitcase picnice basket w/everything you need to listen to music on the lawn from wine glasses to candle. Food was excellent. The strawberry salad was nice w/fresh dill and dressing. Next time we will have to bring the parents so we can go biking around the area. Great stay at the Amanda Gish House

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabradtherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We stayed at Amanda Gish House for three nights while attending an event in Hershey. The home itself is beautiful, the character painstakenly maintained by the hosts, Ann and Dave Royer. Ann and Dave had very good communication prior to our visit - providing directions, and coordination our arrival, including being flexible on our arrival time. Parking was handy, free and safe off the street. During our visit, we especially enjoyed sitting on the veranda in the evening enjoying the peaceful surroundings, it made us wish we had more time to do so, but we were busy attending our event and seeing the sights of the area. The breakfasts were excellent-much better than we would have received in any restaurant we would eat at if staying in a hotel. The room was on the smaller side, as expected in a house of this era, but very comfortable and well appointed. The whirlpool tub was welcome at the end of the day. The hosts are very dedicated to their B&B and promoting the locally-owned/operated businesses in the area, which meant that Ann was very helpful in providing many ideas for what to see during our drive deeper into Lancaster County. Though we had a 15 minute drive into Hershey for the events we attended, it was well worth it even in terms of value, considering the pricing of hotels in Hershey and the delicious breakfast, not to mention the extra-special personal care we received at Amanda Gish House. I would highly recommend Amanda Gish House when staying in the Hershey/Elizabethtown area.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
69 reviews
10.5 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
1.8 mi away
West Ridge Guest House
West Ridge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Elizabethtown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda Gish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda Gish House

Property: Amanda Gish House
Address: 556 W Bainbridge St, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-2110
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amanda Gish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing