We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Amanda Gish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanda Gish House
Certificate of Excellence
Sumter, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hosts make this B&B the most enjoyable we've experienced. The home is decorated in a way that takes you back to a time when like was not so rushed. Also, the house design makes it easy for guests & hosts to easily have privacy.The food is excellent!! There is also a lovely porch and patio to enjoy in the mornings and/or evenings. Ann & Dave are most helpful with suggestions & arrangements for activities catered to individual preferences. They definitely go above & beyond in this category!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
35
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We were just passing through so only stayed for one night, but had a wonderful experience here. This is a beautiful late Victorian house with tons of charm, nicely decorated and furnished, and superbly maintained. My wife and I had the palatial "garden" room and our two girls (ages 11 and 13) were just down the hall in the "rose" room. The beds were very comfortable, and the breakfast was scrumptious. Ann and Dave were very welcoming and nice to our kids. This is a first rate B&B and a model for others to follow.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandercoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruckersville, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time here. The house is extremely well decorated. Anne and Dave were wonderful hosts. We came home one evening to a fire outside in the chiminea; had coffee and talked with Anne. We stayed in the Rose Room; the bed was extremely comfortable. The gourmet breakfasts were superb. Located just up the road from the Dove Chocolate Factory, when you step outside the air smells of dark chocolate. A short drive to Hershey, Adamstown, Intercourse, Bird in Hand, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here because it was convenient to Hershey, PA for the Farm Aid concert. Ann and Dave were wonderful hosts, the food was EXCELLENT, the bed was perfect and the jacuzzi in the Garden room was wonderful!! Would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The garden room is wonderful, especially the jacuzzi to soak your aching bones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were in Elizabethtown along with other family members celebrating my parent's seventieth wedding anniversary, so all of the rooms were occupied by family members. It was as if we were in our own home. Ann and Dave were great, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfasts were fantastic. We especially enjoyed sitting on the wonderful porch which had more than enough rocking chairs to go around. One morning Ann even invited my parents to join us for breakfast. This will certainly be our place to stay for future trips.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My daughter has attended Elizabethtown College and has celebrated her Graduation this past weekend, we enjoyed our stay in the French Room and Garden room. My family and I were so pleased with our stay. The owners Anne and Dave take lots of pride in their B & B and have such an eye for detail along with great taste in decorating. Anne sets an elegant and beautiful table, and offers a delicious breakfast. Hershey and Lancaster is a short distance away,and the countryside is lovely. I have had quite a few stays at this property and always have left happy. Although my daughter has graduated I hope to return to Amanda Gish House and will most certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is Beautiful and has a Large bathroom with whirlpool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liketravelLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

After a hectic 2 weeks of work in Washington DC & New York, this was the perfect place for rest & relaxation! The beautiful accommodation, great breakfasts & spectacular hospitality of our hosts gave us all a wonderful experience! The Garden room was gorgeous with a lovely bathroom, attached. Ann was the best tour guide & made sure we saw the places we wanted in out short time available. Thank you for the great experience!

Room Tip: The Garden room has a lovely huge bathroom attached with additional shower - great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mount Joy / Lancaster West
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 7 in Manheim
69 reviews
10.5 mi away
Warehouse Hotel
Warehouse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Manheim
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Palmyra/Hershey
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Elizabethtown (Hershey Area)
1.8 mi away
West Ridge Guest House
West Ridge Guest House
#2 of 3 in Elizabethtown
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda Gish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda Gish House

Property: Amanda Gish House
Address: 556 W Bainbridge St, Elizabethtown, PA 17022-2110
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amanda Gish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing