We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quietness amongst the trees”

Review of Summer Dew

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chithirapuram, Munnar, Idukki District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
timandjan...
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
“Quietness amongst the trees”
Reviewed 19 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Great location, Lixon always there to help (unobtrusively) & his mint tea is fabulous!
The food across the road, delicious.
Walks & jeep journeys they recommended were brilliant.
A lovely place to spend time at!
Big Thank You

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpadmana
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good view of greenery, a type of cottage”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Summer Dew is a cottage , with 2 bedrooms. The room could accommodate 2 adults, three would be a crowd. The rooms were clean and tidy. One of the rooms had a washbasin in the room itself. You could either rent one or two rooms. There is a kitchen which was used only for making tea (by the owner). The view from the vearandah was good - the greenery around, the clouds and the misty hills. About 11 kms from the main town. The service by Mr. Lixon, the owner cum caretaker, was very good. He would get us food from nearby places, make tea in the morning and always had a smile.
The property had 2 approaches - a longer route (about 3kms more) via a steep road climb or a shorter route where there was no road for at least .5 kms and then down. Driving a 4 wheeler was not easy. So, we used to take the car out in the morning, finish whatever sightseeing we wanted to do and come back by 4 or 5pm. No point in going back and forth. And for a couple of days, we went to the nearby property (Clouds land) for breakfast, which had a steep almost 45 deg. climb. So, if you have problems in walking, then you might have to ask the owner to get the breakfast to the cottage.
Food was problem for us, since we were vegetarians. Dinner, we had to either make do with whatever was made (chappathi, subzi, rice...) in the nearby property or have Mr. Lixon get something for us from outside (since we were not comfortable in driving downhill and uphill again). We preferred the latter. Also, the nearby veg restaurants (5kms away) were mostly the Gujarati types, not very tasty and also the cost was high (Mahaveer restaurant).
They have a washing machine to do the laundry in the other property.
It would be good if this cottage had a full fledged kitchen with a cook, whom we could interact with, instead of having to go through Mr. Lixon every time.
If you can manage the above for the scenery, then a good place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbara
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good nights sleep”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a place to stay right in the treetops. Lovely spacious room, comfy bed and good en suit. verhanda perfect for bird watching or just reading a book. Excellent meals served in the homestay across the road.. recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChintanS1...
1 review
“Excellent view, people, and food!”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Summer dew was an amazing experience mainly due to Lixon, the host.

He is a very warm fellow who did everything he could to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was very tasty, and fulfilling. The place is 10 km away from Munnar and is quite relaxing, away from the hustle bustle of the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123rach45...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amaxing”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Great location, the crew does everything for you to make your stay as best as possible and the food is just incredible. I loved the food so much, it was everyday different and absolutely delicious. Rooms are clean. They booked us a hike to the top op the mountain, it was the best experience with great views and lots of information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great complete package”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed two nights in this lovely house.
Location is near the tea plantages in the hills.
Rooms: Clean and modern room
The food: So lovely and affordable. Every day we were wondering which great dishes we got served that day. Every meal (breakfast and dinner) was different. At dinner we recieved multiple kind of curries. It was so tasteful. Amazing!
Location of dinner: In front of their home. Quite small but that makes it more cozy and easier to start a conversation with guest.
The staff: Is it possible you get that great staff elsewhere? They really are helpful at any time of the day. They arranged two activities for us and drivers to go to Munnar. If you needed something they don't hesitate to help you.

If you are looking for a great place around Munnar and want to do activities there, stay at this place. It is really a perfect place to stay! Ask them to arrange a hike for you, best experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binoop A
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer Dew ”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is my honeymoon trip

Thank you very much for a wonderful stay it was fantastic hanging here with you guys and wonderfull food!!!
We enjoyed the trip and stay
10/10 - food
10/10 - hospitality
10/10 - homestay.....
We definitely come back...
Thank you Lixon and thank you "Summer Dew"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing