We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a cute place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepy Hollow Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elysburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sleepy Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Elysburg B&B and Inns
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a cute place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We always go to knoebels every year, this is our first stay in Sleey Hollow Bed and Breakfast.
It was great, such a cute place and cute young owners. It was a pleasure! I would recommend this to anyone going to the area, only a few minutes from the park. Dinner you can go to a cute town Danville and eat at the town brewery. Jim and Kareena seved a great breakfast the two days we
Were there. We are returning next year!!!!!!
Camille R

Room Tip: Ask the owner what you need !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Shore, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at Sleepy Hollow we were greeted by the owner and host Jim. We never met Kareena. We soooo wanted to like this place in hopes that we would return year after year. The property is absolutely lovely as was our room. The problem was as we entered our room it reeked of heating oil. Jim claimed he could not smell it but said the tank (below our room) had just been filled earlier that week and he would go down and make sure there was no spill. In conversation, he had mentioned another previous guest had complained as well but didn't clarify when that was. He assured us that there was no visible spill. We reluctantly decided to stay and tried to air it out by opening the windows. We were not in the Main House. We were in the Americana and Roost which are detached, both had the odor. Just to clarify, this was more than just a nuisance odor. We could smell it in our hair and clothing after leaving the room. He was robotically apologetic yet there was no sense of urgency to remedy the problem. The other problem was the breakfast. The only thing on the menu was eggs and toast. What a disappointment. We checked out early. The only thing that would have saved us as a customer would have been some sort of discount or something-- nope, full price.

My advice to anyone checking in is to make sure this problem has been fixed. According to Jim there was no leak/spill and he could not smell it so I'm not sure that he's convinced there is even a problem. Advice to management, own up to the fact that there is an odor problem and please spruce up the menu. You are sitting on a gem of a property! We wish well.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JLBMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This location is perfect for a day (or more!) at Knoebel's. The owners, Kareena and Jim, are very accomodating and genuously nice, friendly people. The bed and breakfast is situated on the hill in the middle of a gorgeous woods, surrounded by trees and farm animals. The bed in the Hummingbird room is very soft and the mini fridge was helpful to have. There are plenty of common areas inside and out. The pancakes Jim made for us were delicious and we would like to be back again real soon. The atmosphere was great, including a beautiful koi pond and foot bridge with gazebo. Lovely stay and very reasonable priced!

Room Tip: If you like the second story, go for the Hummingbird Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skittles_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
203 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have been going to Sleepy Hollow for 10 years now at least one time per year, often twice a year once in summer and another in fall. We love Knoebles Amusement park and find Sleepy Hollow a great place to escape the noise. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. There are new owners since 2009, therefore those who were accustomed to Ed and Judy will need to get to know Corina and Jim. They are doing a nice job keeping the place clean:) We come up with family and have stayed in most of the rooms except for one, the Mallard. We enjoy the quiet and the beautiful grounds. Breakfast is a nice touch and we enjoy the coffee beginning at 7:30 am.

Room Tip: The Mallard and Americana are larger rooms. The Americana is great for a couples get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcs922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

It was five years since we had stayed here (the last reunion) and it is a comfortable, clean and friendly place as we remembered. Kareena and Jim do a nice job of keeping the place up and serving an excellent breakfast. It is very convenient for Danville, Knobels Park and some beautiful country once you are out of the Coal mining towns.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I have not stayed her since 2003, when Ed & Judy were the owners. Since then, I learned that Judy fell ill and I believe they've sold the place. Please call and find out if Ed & Judy are still the owners before following my review. Our weekend was awesome! We rented all but one ro as there were 12 of us. My husband, three year old and I had the room next to the kitchen that had a handmade fireplaceantel by Ed that was gorgeous and a large jacuzzi. Ed had created the entire home and added the newer building with two beautiful rooms and an Americana theme where both my sister in laws and their hubby's stayed. My mother and father in law were in the Mallard room which was actually what may have been a small garage under the house at one time. My in laws didn't like that they were far from the rest of us and that they were in a very small basement room.
The breakfast was wonderful by Ed and Judy. The three almost teenagers of ours stayed upstairs in the Butterfly Room. It was nice but not beautiful like the ro Irooms I stayed ory sister in laws stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommabear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed at this inn for two nights while visiting a local amusement park and a mining location. The rooms were perfect! We stayed on the second floor with our teenage daughter. We had two separate bedrooms, two baths, and a quiet sitting room between the two bedrooms. My husband and I enjoyed the little deck overlooking the woods. We are not likely to visit this area again, but if we were, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rozmova5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elysburg
9.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
9.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#3 of 7 in Bloomsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
16.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 7 in Bloomsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Hollow Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Hollow Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sleepy Hollow Bed and Breakfast
Address: 172 Sleepy Hollow Rd, Elysburg, PA 17824-8904
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Elysburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Elysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing