We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Knoebels Amusement Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Elysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knoebels is a place the whole family can enjoy! It is America's largest free-admission amusement park and also offers free parking, free daily entertainment and free picnic facilities. While at the park, you can take a dip in our 900,000 gallon Crystal Pool filled with refreshing mountain stream water. The pool area includes watersides, diving boards and a play area just for young children. You can stay overnight at one of two campgrounds that include cabins and over 800 campsites for tents and campers. In addition to over 60 rides, award winning food, swimming, games, and gift shops, visitors can add a round of golf at Knoebels Three Ponds Golf Club right next door to the park.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great amusement park for families. Affordable. Free parking. No admission fee. Pay per ride. All you can ride hand stamps available. Pet friendly. Crystal pool is awesome and has waterslides. Great time for the entire family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jene74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,418
    319
    62
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned fun!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have been visiting Knoebels for about 20 years, sometimes just us, sometimes with family. We love the campground which us right next to the park. There is plenty to keep busy, rides, games (we live Facination), good food, swimming, campfires. It has a good family atmosphere, bring the kids, grandma, the dog.

Helpful?
2 Thank DawnStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super clean, cheap and fun”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to take your kids for some old fashioned amusement park fun. Huge park spread over lots of acres. Picnic area, free parking, great food and fun rides. Great prices, nice people and pretty ride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love going here every year. There is something for everyone of every age. The rides are fun, the food is delicious, and the cost is fair - I love that there isn't an entry fee and you only have to pay for the rides that you go on either with tickets or you can get an all day band. We love the campgrounds as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, NJ
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced Amusement Park a Rarity Today”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of my biggest complaints about amusement parks in general is how greedy they can be with their policies and prices. One of the best things about Knoebels is that they are very reasonable. You are not going to pay $22 to park your car, $10 for a poor tasting hamburger, $5 for a bottle of water or $30 for a cheap souveneir. In fact, this is the only amusement park where I can say that everything about it was actually reasonable. Parking is free. There is no admission fee so you're not paying to simply walk around the park. You only pay for the rides you go on and most of those range from 1.25-1.75 each. You purchase ticket books that have colored tickets worth varying amounts. The food and gift shops were actually normally priced. We spent about $70 on rides and food for three people for the entire day. It's a bargain compared to other parks.

Knoebels is located in a small town not really near any metro areas, but is nonetheless very popular. We came for our first visit on Memorial Day. The parking lot was pretty full, but it did not seem crowded because the park is also very spread out. It was hot but there are many shady areas. There are a combination of thrill rides, kiddie rides and family rides so everyone will find something for them. They also have a water park but I did not get to try it. My favorite ride was the antique cars. The lines were not long. There are many food options throughout the park, ranging from concession stands to sit down restaurants. The food is really good, with a lot of variety and healthy options and you won't get stiffed with outrageous prices. There are many gift shops as well and again the prices are normal. They offer shows and interesting attractions such as the sawmill where someone was demonstrating wood carving. The staff there are friendly and helpful. There are special events during the holidays. Dogs are welcome in the park (a plus). We probably saw several dozen. Towards the end of the day, my daughter was not feeling well due to being exhausted, so someone from security gave us a ride back to our car.

At Knoebels you get great family entertainment for a sensible cost which is why I plan on returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NJ-Tennessean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knoebels Amusement Resort also viewed

 

Been to Knoebels Amusement Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing