We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really fun place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutchmaid Deck

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dutchmaid Deck
Ranked #26 of 75 Restaurants in Ephrata
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Chester
Level Contributor
298 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Really fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Nice gathering of the locals. Place reminded me of beach bars in the Caribbean or Seacrets in Ocean City, MD. Bar service was excellent from two very attractive bartenders. I'm not a big fan of Karaoke, but this night was a lot of fun. Some of the local singers were pretty good. Our group especially enjoyed Harry's love ballads to his girlfriend and the Old Dinosaur's classics (yes, that's his name and he has business cards, a Facebook page, and a blog).

The menu was not upscale, but the food was very good. Prices were very good as well. Our barmaid recommended the toasted cheeseburger, and she was right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevens, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I have been here numerous times and have never been impressed. Very slow service, the staff needs tips in being polite, and the the food is ok (at best). Super packed all the time, a lot of fights. The only thing that is positive about this place is there reasonable prices. I would skip visiting this place though...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gingerbabyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yuck. Rude. Smelly.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We came here upon the recommendation of the B&B owner we were staying with. It sounded nice, have a beer on a giant deck. When we arrived they were pretty busy and there was not a cloud in the sky. It was probably pushing 85 degrees out, so when we were seated at a table right in the sun with no shade at all I asked if we could be moved to one of the many empty tables with umbrellas. I was told no, there was no room (though I could see the empty tables). I figured the hostess was just having a bad day so I would ask the waitress- after waiting awhile and being surrounded by people smoking (yes it's outside so I guess they are allowed but it smelled bad) we placed our beer order and I asked if we could move over to the table with the umbrella not far from us. She said no I would have to ask the hostess. UGH! I decided not to eat here so I would not fry. Our beers arrived and I got a rolling rock in a can- I haven't been served a can of beer at a restaurant ever, and rolling rock is not the same in a can. I chugged as fast as I could and left, with a sunburn. On a shady day this is a good place for bikers and smokers and people who want to drink out of cans. Will not return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fun time had by all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The Deck---great hangout for after work drinks, great toasted cheeseburgers and fries. Food is great bar food....not good for you but good to eat. It's great to meet friends, be outdoors, and have some good drinks. Nothing over the top but just a fun place and something to look forward to opening every year!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank deb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Holiday
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the deck ROCKS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I can't wait until it's summer again, so we can eat those delicious burgers and fries at the Deck. It's the only thing I missed on my latest trip to Ephrata (in December).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dutchmaid Deck also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Dutchmaid Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing