We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic inn with great hospitality”
Review of Kimmell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ephrata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kimmell House
Ranked #7 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“A fantastic inn with great hospitality”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had a very warm, comfortable welcome and totally enjoyable visit. Dave and Bonnie are excellent, experienced innkeepers who are very friendly and knowledgeable. Our rooms were lovely and immaculate. The furnishings are very well done and so appropriate for the inn. Breakfasts were so delicious and the presentation was great. We had a medical emergency while at the inn and they went out of their way to be helpful. We would recommend this inn very highly and would love to visit again. Dave and Betty Wahlstrom

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was our first visit to the Kimmell House and our first opportunity to enjoy Dave and Bonnie's hospitality. We stayed two nights in celebration of our 40th anniversary and had a really enjoyable time. The breakfasts were great, the room was clean and comfortable, and the host & hostess were gracious and helpful. Dave's recommendation for a restaurant for dinner was outstanding! The house is delightfully authentic historically, a fact that is important to us. We will definitely go back again. It was one of the best B & B experiences we've had.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Kimmel House this past Thurs. heading to Millersville Univ. on Friday. The Inn is one of the most beautiful b & b's we've ever stayed in. It is clean, organized, renovated to perfection and shows the thought and care given to reflect it's 200+ years standing. One can't stop but admire all the little touches whether it be in little picture frames, linens, dishes or in the presentation of breakfast or snacks. The hosts were extremely accommodating as we arrived late evening. The Hunt Room was beautiful and all the little surprises like chocolate on the pillows didn't go unnoticed. The room had a sleigh bed for our adult son and there was plenty of room for the three of us. The bathroom had all the little extras too! As we had to be at Millersville by 9am, we asked if they could serve our breakfast earlier than they usually offer. Without hesitation they had breakfast on the table at 8am (so appreciated). We truly enjoyed our stay even though it was brief. I didn't comment on the spa, kids activities or room service because it didn't pertain to our stay. However if they offer these additional items, I'm sure they are superior as well. So... if you are visiting the Lancaster area, or are parents of students at Millersville and need a place to stay, the Kimmel House is the place to stay! I know we'll be back!

Room Tip: Hunt Room is a beautiful room for 3 people. Plenty of space, luxury and history!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I'm not the type to write reviews, but this place was amazing. The decor is extremely tasteful and in keeping with the historic nature of the house. No floral print and doily explosion here! The hosts are great sources of information and very helpful. Breakfast portions are large, but delicious and will allow you to skip lunch and have more fun! As another reviewer said, it is very sound-proof and we had no trouble sleeping. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asaxtron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Kimmell House is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are comfortably furnished and very clean. Bonnie and Dave are delightful hosts and the breakfasts are delicious with plenty to eat. This is definitely a place I would stay again when in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtdtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Kimmell House and it gets better and better.
The Kimmell House is exceptionally cleaned and so tastefully decorated.
The beds are extremely comfortable. The setting is beautiful and peaceful.
Each room has its own bath and it is so sound proof. The owners are delightful. They took such good care of us. Breakfasts are out of this world. We truly cannot wait to go back
and recommend this five star with no reservation!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stopped at the Hampton Inn but it was full, asked around and headed off to the Kimmel House. What a find! Great room, wonderful breakfast and lots of local advice. Innkeepers were really helpful, thoughtful and weren't in the way. We went to the Green (or Red) Dragon Friday market and bought local hams, bread, cheese (try the Cheddar and Horseradish delicious). Bought a bottle of wine in Ephrata on the way back and had dinner in the garden reading the papers etc. It was so good & relaxing we repeated it the next day (includng another bottle of wine - well we were on vacation!). Innkeeper even left us bowls for our ice cream which we put in the fridge/freezer - really thoughtful. It was an excellent find, and since it was by chance really made our weekend in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshire_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Akron
Rodeway Inn Akron
#1 of 1 in Akron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Inn at Leola Village
0.9 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.8 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimmell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimmell House

Property: Kimmell House
Address: 851 S State St, Ephrata, PA 17522-2345
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1795 Stone Georgian. Householders house of the Ephrata Cloister. 4 guest rooms all with private bath, TV and AC. House is decorated in the time period , with modern amenities. Close to Antique shops and most Lancaster County sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing