We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Wedding Anniversary Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hurst House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wedding Anniversary Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I LOVED this place! We celebrated our first wedding anniversary here, and the owners were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast in the mornings were delightful, the grounds were beautiful, and the rooms make you feel like home. One of the best nights sleeps I have had in a long time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
89
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langhorne, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Off the beaten path, surrounded by Amish farm lands and backing up to a breathtaking man made pond, is this gorgeous Bed & Breakfast Inn by welcoming and gracious host Bert and her husband Rich who planned and built this magnificent Inn from the ground up. You will want to stay at least two nights to truly enjoy and get away from all the city hustle and bustle. This is a great get away for older couples.

Room Tip: Bird in Paradise has the closest and best view of the man made pond. The fireplace is in the wall a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our second stay at the beautiful Hurst House. We celebrated our 30 wedding anniversary this time. The weather was very warm for October we sat outside on our balcony at night. We enjoy going to Lancaster and visiting different places and this is the place we stay at because it feels like home. The views of the pond with the swans are so calming for the soul. You will not feel like a stranger in their home for long because they make you feel like part of their family. They are lovely people who love the Lord and serve others with a kind and loving spirit. If you are in the need of a perfect getaway then this is the place for you. The Carbaughs, Greencastle, Pa

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our first time at a B&B, so we didn't know what to expect. Bert was so welcoming (almost as if we were visiting a long lost relative), and she has done a lovely job decorating the house. Rich was interesting to talk to about the actual construction of the house. The views from high on the hill are breathtaking, and you HAVE to take a walk after sunset to see the frogs leaping into the pond...they are HUGE! Bert and Rich have thought of everything. It is such a relaxing environment. The beds are very comfortable; rooms are sound proof and very clean. Breakfast was delicious, but I must admit that our favorite part of the visit was talking to Lucy, the lady that helps Bert around the house. Thanks, Lucy...for enlightening us about the Amish and Mennonite families. We found it to be so fascinating and we could have talked to you for the entire day! This is definitely a "must stay" if you are visiting the Lancaster area. Ask Bert about the quaint quilt shops in the area, and make sure you stop by at least one of them.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view since you are on top of the hill. We chose the Victorian Rose room for the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, L.I., NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nothing has changed from our wonderful stay last year, except that we stayed for a week this time and Bert and Rich were there to greet us and also hug us in farewell (last year Inn sitters greeted us.) We stayed in two different rooms this time and both were comfortable with beautiful views from the balconies. Bert and Rich were present to share "Things to do and see" and even made reservations for us to have dinner at an Amish Farm. We came home so rested. Looking forward to our next stay in their lovely Victorian Home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetraveler002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

After our stay at the Hurst House B&B I decided it should be renamed the Hurst Home B&B. We felt like we belonged at this B&B with its very friendly host, magnificent views, relaxing wide porch and delicious breakfast.
You know it's going to be a special place when you turn off the country road onto a drive way which appears will go into the clouds. When you arrive at the top of Cats Back Hill you are afforded a view of the Amish and Mennonite country side you could only otherwise see from a hot air balloon. The patch work quilt of farms extended as far as the eye could see with ribbons of colors created by the different crops being grown in the fields.
The host made you feel at home immediately and let you know quickly the house was yours to enjoy. The breakfast was wonderful and the most delightful Mennonite lady who prepared the meal the morning we were there had the brightest smile which just let you know this was going to be a special day.
It's hard to top this place and we definitely will plan another stay soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Any other B and B's we stay at in the future will have tough "shoes to fill" as Hurst House has set the bar remarkably high. This modern Victorian home could have been set in Cape May and in fact some of the Cape May homes were inspiration for this grand house. From the minute we were greeted by Bert we felt like invited friends instead of customers. The decor was beautiful and the panoramic views were breathtaking. We sat on the wraparound porch and watched a storm roll in over the valley. It felt like we were miles from the hustle bustle of the world. Each of the 5 large rooms has a magnificent view of the Lancaster valley and is uniquely decorated. The house was spotless, quite a feat when you see all the beautiful treasures that the Hurst's have collected over the years. This is a perfect romantic getaway or a great place to stay if touring the Amish country. I'd love to go back at Christmas time to see how they decorate the house!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marprinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
8.9 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
10.3 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
4.3 mi away
Historic Smithton Inn
Historic Smithton Inn
#1 of 8 in Ephrata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
3.7 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
12.3 mi away
Lovelace Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurst House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurst House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 154 E Farmersville Rd, Ephrata, PA 17522-8506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hurst House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hurst House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing