We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local farmer's market”

The Green Dragon Farmer's Market
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Ephrata
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local farmer's market”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is a little bit of everything for everyone's taste. Of course the food is the best part especially in summer when fresh produce is available. However there are local offerings all year especially near holidays like Thanksgiving, Easter, Christmas. Near holidays if you don't go early you may have to wait in a line of cars to get into the lots. Still worth the visit.
There are also flea market offerings and local crafts and companies. My husband is usually the one to shop there early on Friday. We get meat, cheese, produce, fruit, flowers and plants, etc. When I want to look for socks, gloves, hats, sweats and other clothing items a good place to shop.
On Friday night this is the place to meet friends and have a family experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelingrammie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    138
    47
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Central America
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One gigantic”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Green Dragon flea market is one of the largest in the country. It is run by the Amish and PA Dutch. You can find bargains from fruits/veggies to furniture and clothing. Antiques are also available. If you are hungry have a PA Dutch lunch or dinner. It is only open on Fridays, in all kinds of weather. It is normally open at 8AM, but get there before that and get a parking place. It gets very crowded. The traffic can be very heavy.
Plan to spend most of the day there. It is well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank traqveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pretty much fun”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Typical farmers market with loads of extras. Saw some of the same people here that frequent Hometown market for example. I value the local foods most of all and bought some great local tasty morsels !!! Like pretzel rolls stuffed with cheeseburger! Grabbed some spiced pumpkin bear claws for breakfast and some caramel coated almonds. And an excellent wet-bottom shoo-fly pie for $3.We left carrying many bags! My arms hurt! LOL

I can do without the purse and cell phone case vendors but I guess they add something for others. I'll take local produce any day! Like the Brussels sprouts I bought still on the stalk! Cool!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuckfrombath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
309 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great place to eat locally made foods”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This local farmers market is only open on Friday's and draws lines of cars from neighboring towns. Bring your cash because there is lots to buy. The buildings host many Amish and Mennonite vendors who sell freshly made goods. The exterior stands offer a large variety from farm fresh fruits and vegetables to baked goods and gardening tools. Like many swap meets you will also find a mish mash of vendors selling goods made in China (e.g. phone cases, scarfs etc) but if you stick close to the buildings you will find many authentic country goods and foods. There were very few bathrooms available so if you spot one without a line make sure you use it because there were very few restroom facilities on site. Finally, make sure you pick up one of the Amish long johns (similar to a chocolate or maple bar doughnut) they will melt in your mouth. I would love to visit this town and it's market next time I'm in Pennsylvania.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabby92399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
721 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Great Farmers Market!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I wish I had Farmers Markets like this at home. There we're so many choices for fruits, veggies, cheese and meats. Many of the vendors were Amish and Mennonite and all were friendly. Had a great stuffed pretzel! I would come here often if I lived in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Dragon Farmer's Market also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Green Dragon Farmer's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing