We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time”
Review of Aromas Del Sur

Aromas Del Sur
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Ephrata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant was opened in October 2010 by a group of three Colombian sibilings. We like to say we serve Spanish food but most of our dishes are cooked and prepared with Colombian influence. We wanted to bring a little part of South America to the Ephrata and Lancaster area and educate people on our lifestyle. Please come by and enjoy something we are very passionate about. We have delicious appetizers which come out fast and are filling along with our plentiful entrees. We serve your typical dishes such as pork, steak, and chicken which are usually always accompanied by their rice and beans. These dishes are prepared with Colombian spices and seasoning, but are not spicy as many believe just flavorful. We have options for reservation, take out, BYOB, and large parties. TAKE A LOOK AT OUR NEW WEBSITE!!!Please feel free to call during business hours.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went for a second time and it was better than the first. The staff is phenomenal and the food is even better. The empanadas are a must and I would suggest getting the chicken and beef since both are great. The only dilemma is which entree to get. I don't eat pork but tried someone's at our table will say the Lomo de Cerdo was incredible. I had the Pollo Enchilado and loved it. This place is a hidden gem and worth the visit.

1  Thank brttdvd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your repeat business and wonderful review! Going back to a restaurant says a lot about it and we are glad we are worth another trip. We are glad your only issue is picking which dish to eat for the night! We believe that is a wonderful dilemma to have and it strikes many of our customers. Hope to see you again for your third, fourth, and fifth visit!

Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We returned to the restaurant where we met on our first date three years ago! Enjoyed the food then & again tonight! Family owners with roots in Columbia just love to cook & serve! No rush.....BYOB......great staff. They are all friendly and anxious to tell you about their dishes. The ambiance has improved but still very casual. Prices are fabulous....appetizers like empanadas are $1. each!!! We had one of each: chicken, beef & cheese. We each had a seafood main entree ~ prepared exquisitely & portions are huge! We both took home plenty for lunch tomorrow. This is a must stop if you are in the Lancaster County area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Libraldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hello!

We want to thank you for your fabulous review and awesome ratings! We are so excited to part of your history together and hope will be part of your future together too! We do love to cook and serve our customers our delicious and large dishes. Thank you for pointing that out and making it a must stop if you are in Lancaster County.

Muchas Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Never been disappointed here. Food always good--service always friendly.
You just have to keep in mind it is a South American mindset--no rushing...You have to be a bit patient when they are busy.

The family that owns it is wonderful and always anxious to please. This is one of those places you want to route for..so they succeed.

P.s-this is the first restaurant review I have ever written. That tells you a lot right there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisY9673AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hola!

Thank you for your first review and great ratings! We are more than happy to serve you and all our guest. We thank for your support and continued business and understanding the South American mindset. People like yourself make our jobs even more enjoyable and more anxious to please! We will succeed thanks to all the reviewers on this site and our amazing clientele.

Thank you so much!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Your food is authentic Colombian and so enjoyable for everyone's taste. My husband had the Paella and I had the Sobrebarriga meat dish..delicioso! This restaurant is the best kept secret in Ephrata. Will be regular customers. Last night my son and his girl friend joined us for dinner..they loved it! Come to Aromas del Sur and bring your friends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hola!

Thank you for your great review and amazing ratings! We are happy to see you enjoyed everything and brought family with. Can't wait to see you all more often and bring everyone along and do not forget the wine of course!

Gracias por todo!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Service is very nice and food it very good. Try their homemade rice pudding for dessert. YUM! The pudding is the grandmothers recipe - it is served warm and is the best rice pudding I have had.

Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your nice review and great ratings! we are happy you pointed out our rice pudding and enjoyed it! Its a recipe we have been enjoying for decades and love to share the dessert with all. Next time you have to try the flan prepared with our Colombian style. Hope to see you again!

Thank you!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aromas Del Sur also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Aromas Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing