We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Colombian Food”
Review of Aromas Del Sur

Aromas Del Sur
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Ephrata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant was opened in October 2010 by a group of three Colombian sibilings. We like to say we serve Spanish food but most of our dishes are cooked and prepared with Colombian influence. We wanted to bring a little part of South America to the Ephrata and Lancaster area and educate people on our lifestyle. Please come by and enjoy something we are very passionate about. We have delicious appetizers which come out fast and are filling along with our plentiful entrees. We serve your typical dishes such as pork, steak, and chicken which are usually always accompanied by their rice and beans. These dishes are prepared with Colombian spices and seasoning, but are not spicy as many believe just flavorful. We have options for reservation, take out, BYOB, and large parties. TAKE A LOOK AT OUR NEW WEBSITE!!!Please feel free to call during business hours.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Buried in the Pennsylvania Dutch area of Ephrata, PA is good Colombian restaurant. The menu has many typical dishes from the country, I was told by my companion from Colombia who thought the food was as good as in Colombia. Empanadas were very good. The picante sauce they serve with it is great. $1/empanada -- cheese, beef, or chicken, Tamales are made in a banana leaf, not corn. Chorizo is cumin rich. Ubiquitous rice and beans are there as well, Simple decor, friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RockyMountJoy-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hello!

We are grateful for your detailed review! We are happy to hear we were able to please your Colombian companion as many other Colombians in the area agree with his statement. The Empanadas are by far our biggest seller due to their fresh ingredients and filling size. We hope you come back again soon with more Colombian friends if possible!

Thank you!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We came in a half hour before closing and it was relatively quiet, but the wait staff (the owner's son) was pleasant and accommodating. The whole staff was like that. If we lived nearby I can see visiting just because it has a welcoming atmosphere.
My daughter-in-law, who has traveled through various South American countries, has explained to us that each country has a unique cuisine- in other words, it's not all TexMex. We found this to be true. We learned that Columbian food can be heavy on starch: the empanadas (which were OK) and the fried yucca (I would not order again- too heavy). I ordered the chicken enchilado which was good but very hot due to the chiles (I should have known this if I'd thought about it). Next time I'd try the arroz con pollo. My husband ordered the bandeja paisa, which he enjoyed. The surprise, again, was the fried plantain- we expected something sweet but the overall taste was... starchy. It was fun to experiment, and we would return but try something different the next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank batterybri79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hello!

We thank you for such a great and informative review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your service! It is true our food is quite heavy on starch but due to our countries region that is what we are used to cooking with as other countries in our region. We would definitely recommend our soups and seafood dishes if you do not enjoy the other starch dishes. Regardless of what you chose we will try to accommodate you as much as possible! We hope you are able to stop by again in the future!

Thank you!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visiting in June for the first time, I was extremely excited to eat at this restaurant based on its amazing reviews, and boy did it exceed my expectations!!! The food and service was fantastic! In our party, we ordered chicken Empanadas for each of us, one friend got the Paella and loved every bit of it, I ordered the Bandeja Paisa ( a tasty platter of rice, beans, eggs, chirozo, pork, steak, and fried plantains) and was in heaven. The other two ordered a meat platter which I forget the name of, and they were thrilled as well.

Though the decor is tacky (in a cute way) and the building seems plain from the outside, it's what is on the inside that really matters. We shall return soon!!! Thanks again to the staff and management for a great meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hola!

Sorry for the delay in response we want to thank you for such a wonderful review! You nailed our establishment on the head! We are happy to hear we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your experience. We focus a lot on our food and service which we believe is the most important part of a restaurant experience but we are always trying to improve our decor as many reviewers have mentioned could use work. We hope you return soon!

Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Great food and great service. Very friendly and well informed server. We had the chicken dishes 2 of them and both were fantastic. It is welcome addition to the restaurant scene in and around Lancaster where there are so many american and italian places. There are very few ethnic joints of good repute. This place is a great columbian eating joint - something we do not get to see so often all around.

Thank Murli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hola!

We thank you for your support of ethnic restaurants in Lancaster and hope everyone feels the same way you do! We thought we would fill a niche with our Latin American cuisine and it has been received wonderfully by everyone in the area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your dishes and hope you get to try out many more!

Thank you for your lovely review and ratings!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went for a second time and it was better than the first. The staff is phenomenal and the food is even better. The empanadas are a must and I would suggest getting the chicken and beef since both are great. The only dilemma is which entree to get. I don't eat pork but tried someone's at our table will say the Lomo de Cerdo was incredible. I had the Pollo Enchilado and loved it. This place is a hidden gem and worth the visit.

1  Thank brttdvd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua B, Owner at Aromas Del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hello!

Thank you for your repeat business and wonderful review! Going back to a restaurant says a lot about it and we are glad we are worth another trip. We are glad your only issue is picking which dish to eat for the night! We believe that is a wonderful dilemma to have and it strikes many of our customers. Hope to see you again for your third, fourth, and fifth visit!

Gracias!

Aromas Del Sur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aromas Del Sur also viewed

Ephrata, Lancaster County
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 
Ephrata, Lancaster County
 

Been to Aromas Del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing