We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B, we would definitely come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Inn is very charming and Ephrata is a wonderful town, centrally located to lots of activities. The Innkeepers are a great couple who are very friendly, accomodating, and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was spectacular and we actually got some cooking suggestions and lessons. We both thought it was a good value and we would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baltowheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at the Smithton Inn last weekend. The owners were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was clean, quiet, large and pretty, and the breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend this Inn if you are visiting Lancaster County, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodKarma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

The Smithton is a great place to stay. With a bed and breakfast you never know what you are going to get but the Smithton lived up to its high ratings. Great location and great breakfast.

Room Tip: gourmet breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1-al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My sister and I had never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before. I was a little unsure how it would be as I am not a very out going person. We both loved it though. Our host Davve and Rebecca were wonderful. They made us feel at home and very comfortable. The breakfasts we had were wonderful. Rebecca is a fantastic cook. She also gave us tips on things to do an how to get there. Because of them I will check out more Bed and Breakfast. The inn is so beautiful and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in the Red room but they are looked very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicki039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This was a very nice place to stay within the town of Ephrata. I picked this place because of the accessibility to many diifferent locations in Lancaster County, and the reviews were impressive. My girlfriend and I were very impressed with the look of the Inn, the cozyness of the rooms, and the attentive inn keeper Rebecca who was committed to ensuring we had a comfortable stay. We stayed two days in the yellow room which has a queen size bed and a large bathroom with a shower stall. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept great. Though the room faces the street, noise was not an issue. We experienced a mini heatwave during our stay, and the room was comfortable despite the 90 degree weather. We also extended our stay one additional day and stayed in the red room, which has a jacuzzi bath and shower. The layout of the room is a little different and seemed a little more spacious than the yellow room. Breakfast each morning was excellent, with fruit to start, a main course, and some speciality fresh baked breads. We had plenty to do in the three days we stayed, exploring the back roads in the farm land, spending time in Intercourse, Bird in Hand, and Strasburg, and going antiquing in Adamstown. Both Rebecca's Dad (visiting) and Rebecca made us feel welcome, and were available when we had questions about the area. Lucky the dog is well behaved, and was nice enough to pose for my camera the first night while standing on the stone wall. Highly recommended and we will return in the Fall.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drewman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is an exceptional place to stay--anywhere in the country. The inn itself is historic and interesting, and it is very tastefully decorated--loaded with antiques. Our bedroom was large and equipped with the biggest bed imaginable, as well as a fireplace, and every possible amenity. The co-owner Rebecca is so amazingly nice and accomdating that adjectives fail. She is a highly accomplished cook, and the breakfast should be featured in a fancy travel magazine. Although the road that runs in front of the house is heavily travelled and noisy, once inside this lovely old inn, all that is forgotten.

Our main visit nearby was to the old christian cloister and the vast Green Dragon farmers market--both of great interest to us.

Love to stay at this wonderful B&B again. It's easily one of the best in the country.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I enjoyed a blissful stay at the Smithton Inn. The room was beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. We were also able to enjoy the outdoors as we sat outside on the grounds to read and write. The accommodations were so nice that I had no interest in sightseeing or leaving the site. This is our new "go to" place for staying in the Lancaster area! (Thank you David and Rebecca. I hope that you will continue to find pleasure, for many years to come, in opening up your home to share with others like myself who need comfort and rest.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
436 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Olde Square Inn
The Olde Square Inn
#1 of 10 in Mount Joy
368 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Inn at Twin Linden
The Inn at Twin Linden
#1 of 1 in Churchtown
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: £119 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing