We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome - highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply awesome - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is such a special place. The B&B is owned and operated by a delightful couple, Rebecca and Dave, who live on the top floor of the inn. Rebecca's breakfasts are amazing (homemade granola, yogurt, muffins, apple french toast, fancy omelettes...the list goes on and on). The room we stayed in was super-comfy, big, and maintained the old-fashioned-cozy feel of a historic B&B without sacrificing modern conveniences (like flat screen TV, etc.). Rebecca and Dave were more than happy to provide directions, sightseeing tips, and restaurant recommendations. The next time we travel to the PA Dutch County, we will definitely stay at the Smithton Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
245
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is the inn to pick for a delightful stay in the PA Amish countryside. Beautifully restored historic building with great public rooms, large and superbly comfortable bedrooms with every convenience, and 5-star breakfasts are just part of the experience. Innkeeper Rebecca will make you feel like you are visiting a friend and provide great touring advice. Also, Ephrata is a nice, untouristy geographic base from which to see this area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KurtNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We visit the area several times a year and love to stay at the Smithton. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the innkeepers are wonderful hosts, and the breakfasts are creative and delicious. The Inn has become our "home away from home" and it is a delightfully historic, yet homey and comfortable B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

From the extra comfy sheets to the marvelous breakfast (I also had Rebecca's Peach-Stuffed French Toast and local sage-sausage), you can't go wrong. The room I had on the ground floor was twice the size of the one I had stayed in the night before in downtown Philadelphia, had a couple of nice leather-(ish!) armchairs, a refrigerator, and a wee little fireplace that was unnecessary in early September but which (I thought) was a nice touch. Anything you might need in an inn is there and much you might not expect, such as a baby grand piano in the parlor. The grounds are nice with off-street parking, a small koi pond, a gazebo, and Adirondack chairs scatterd here and there. Honestly, why would you stay in a soulless, sterile hotel when you could stay here?

Room Tip: Not actually sure about the pets, but the Inn boasts a friendly, if rather elderly, dog named "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We wanted to stay someplace near home (NYC) so decided to go to Amish Country, which is a 2.5 hour drive. There are over 160 B&B's in Lancaster County - capital of Amish country - so after a lot of research, we settled on this place. Was not disappointed.

House: The building itself is old (built in 1700's) , and I expected for a little wear and tear, but the place was very well kept and clean.

Room: we stayed in the red room, and it was exactly as pictured and described (check out the website). The bathroom had a deep tub, and the housekeeper cleans it daily, which allowed us to take a bath (a luxury we don't have in our NYC apartment).

Breakfast: the best purpose of a B&B is the breakfast, and this place was exceptional. Rebecca - one of the innkeepers - is an amazing cook. First day's breakfast was cinnamon french toast souffle with turkey sausage, fresh fruits of apple, strawberry and kiwi, strawberry bread with homemade preserves. Second day's breakfast was 3 pepper quiche with herb cheese and regular sausage, blueberry muffins, and fresh fruits of pineapple and blueberries. Everything was absolutely fabulous

Location: Ephrata is really small, so there isn't too much to do there, but it was a close drive to Lancaster, a couple wineries, and Intercourse/ Bird-in-hand. The B&B was so great that if we went back to Lancaster County, we would probably stay here but there are more central places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPNYC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had to run, and boy did we luck out. My ex husband to be and I ran off to this incredible little inn near lancaster. My favorite thing were the sheets. I kid you not, I have never felt anything softer in my life. Then the size of the room. There was room to walk, for that matter I could have jumped rope. Not often seen in a B and B. The hostess with the most Rebecca went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect for us.

There is plenty to do to keep you busy in the area, and she will help you with whatever you need. It is nice to see someone doing what they love to do. That actually was the best part of all.

Room Tip: The Red White and Blue decor room looked bigger..but our chocolate room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dressedlikeastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We just returned from a second stay at the Historic Smithton Inn. What a wonderful experience. So much more relaxing than a large hotel. Rebecca's breakfasts were even more delicious than I had remembered. Peach stuffed french toast!! She is a master of the local, seasonal ingredients. I highly recommend the Inn to anyone coming to this charming part of Pennsylvania.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Property: Historic Smithton Inn
Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing