We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Definitely Be A Repeat Visitor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Snow Hill, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will Definitely Be A Repeat Visitor!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My fiance and I could not have been happier with our stay at the Smithton Inn. From incredibly comfortable beds (I wish I knew what mattress they use - we LOVED it!) to absolutely amazing breakfasts (Rebecca is a STELLAR cook), it was the PERFECT place for us to stay. We stayed for 3 nights - the third night was half-price due to a special promotion - and loved every minute of it. We're considering renting the whole house for our wedding - that's how much we enjoyed our time there! We will definitely return to the Smithton Inn.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might want to consider a room away from the road - I was able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
245
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This B& B was everything we expected and more. We stayed in the Crimson Dove Room and it was big and spacious. The fireplace and jacuzzi tub made the room very romantic and cozy. The bed was amazingly comfortable we didn't want to get up in the morning. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with amazing homemade granola. The innkeeper Dave was very friendly and knowledgable about things to do in the area. Rebecca his wife wasn't there for our stay. They do have a very friendly dog named Lucky that will be your new best friend during your stay. I highly recommend the Historic Smithton Inn!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bstauffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Holiday
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This B&B has everything I look for:: Character, big rooms, comfortable bed & sheets, nice TVs with a big DVD collection and best of all, delicious breakfasts with good coffee! The location is perfect for getting around the county and there are plenty of terrific restaurants nearby. I highly recommend the Historic Smithton Inn.

Room Tip: Best room is the Crimson Dove Suite, but they're all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This inn is everything you'd imagine if you fantasized about a charming, authentic, rustic, welcoming, unique piece of special, tucked into the Berkshire beauty. The rooms are cozy and welcoming, the hosts make food rich with love and local flavors, and the dog, Lucky, becomes your mascot. You won't want to leave and see the sights that surround it. I've been twice now, and it's going to be an annual delight.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, VA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The room was huge as was the bathroom. I especially liked that the electronic equipment was very easy to use. They have a huge library full of movies. I also liked the complimentary tray in the room filled with all kinds of goodies.... water, granola bars, candy, chips, etc.

My husband and son watched football in the communal living room. The young couple that run the place are very accomodating... there if you needed something, but not watching you.

The only minus, and it is a very small one;o)), is that their little dog leaves deposits in the yard and you have to be careful not to step in it as my son did.

About a 20 minute drive away is a delightful little town, Lititz, with unique shops. A great restaurant is "johnny's" about 20 minutes away from the inn too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is one of the most authentic and beautiful yet comfortable inns that we've ever stayed in. All the rooms have working fireplaces, genuine antiques, and the inn itself is pre-revolutionary. Still, there's central air conditioning, flat screen tv with dvd player and a gourmet and bountiful breakfast served daily. For the price, it's a real deal and I like going back just to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManhattanWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is such a special place. The B&B is owned and operated by a delightful couple, Rebecca and Dave, who live on the top floor of the inn. Rebecca's breakfasts are amazing (homemade granola, yogurt, muffins, apple french toast, fancy omelettes...the list goes on and on). The room we stayed in was super-comfy, big, and maintained the old-fashioned-cozy feel of a historic B&B without sacrificing modern conveniences (like flat screen TV, etc.). Rebecca and Dave were more than happy to provide directions, sightseeing tips, and restaurant recommendations. The next time we travel to the PA Dutch County, we will definitely stay at the Smithton Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Property: Historic Smithton Inn
Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing