We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We visit the area a few times a year to antique the area shops, and this visit was just as wonderful as the last. Dave and Rebecca continue to make improvements to the property to make it an even nicer experience with each successive visit.

The guest rooms are large, clean, and comfortable, and the common areas are spacious and inviting. Breakfasts for the three days of our visit were varied, creative, and delicious, whether prepared by Rebecca or Stephanie.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IronMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I traveled to Ephrata in September to support a benefit show for a friend of ours, and we stayed at the Historic Smithton Inn. Rebecca and David are wonderful innkeepers and have created an experience that soothes and delights. We stayed in the Chocolate Room, beautifully done and exceedingly comfortable -- the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Love the quilts!

The breakfast is served with fresh ingredients -- we felt pampered and much cared for! Guaranteed we shall return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed two nights here during our first visit to Lancaster County. Our room (Sage) on the first floor was surprisingly large. We are used to small, cramped hotel rooms. The large bathroom, great shower, and comfortable bed with its Amish quilt were pluses. The wooden floor was impressive, even though it is not original to this building. The inn was very clean and quiet. We thought the breakfasts were healthy and filling, and the coffee good. Off-street parking was also a plus. The proprietors were charming, informed about local art, and very generous in helping one decide what cultural sites to tour and where to eat. Their recommended restaurants were very good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay and would return again in a flash.

Room Tip: Good access to the parking lot is available from first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerncrkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My sisters and I recently spent an extended weekend in Lancaster County -- there are many places from which to choose. We are so fortunate that we chose the Historic Smithton Inn, Rebecca & David are charming and helpful. Yeah, Lucky the dog does tricks, but what Rebecca does with simple local ingredients for breakfast is far more impressive (sorry David!). There is so much going on in this area of our country that our days were full and it was wonderful to come back to the Tailor Room(s) to rest and visit as sisters should. (No fighting - Mom would be proud!). Oh, just selected the rating "Sleep quality" -- the sheets are luxurious!

Room Tip: Two levels with a living room, kitchen and screened porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaAH303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

It was our first trip to Pennsylvania and my husband and I enjoyed our stay so much that we plan on going back. We stayed in the Crimson Dove room. The room was spotless, enormous, the furniture beautiful and we had a handmade Amish quilt on our bed that was gorgeous. The breakfast every morning was different and delicious. While we ate, Rebecca, the innkeeper and her husband David would talk to their guests and ask what they were planning for the day and give them suggestions and directions if they wanted/needed them. Their staff (Stephanie and Judy) were friendly and very helpful. They sent us to a motor scooter company that took in the Amish farms and 4 covered bridges. It was our favorite thing on our entire trip. If you are anywhere near Ephrata and you don't take the opportunity to stay here you are missing out on a beautiful property. Thank you David and Rebecca for a very memorable trip.

Room Tip: I looked at every room and there is not a bad choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We were thrilled to find the Historic Smithton Inn on our recent trip to Pennsylvania. It was our anniversary and we love the area. What a warm, friendly atmosphere and such comfortable, spacious rooms. The breakfasts at this B&B are huge and delicious. We truly didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were large with wonderfully soft sheets and homemade quilts on the beds. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan W R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I travelled to Ephrata (pronounced "eft-ruh-tuh") last week on business and was recommended the Historic Smithton Inn by friends. This was my first stay in a B&B and I have to tell you it was an awesome experience. This old colonial building has charm and character you would expect of a historic building, yet it's interior provides a surprisingly spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed common areas and guest room including the necessary wi-fi. It has the class and charm of the husband and wife proprietors, Rebecca and David, who have a hankering for keeping their guests happy and fortunately... they love to cook! In my opinion, they have the best breakfast in town. Every morning I was delighted to greet a healthy and hearty home cooked meal. Each meal seemed to outdo the last with the Pesto Egg Cup, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, and fresh juice, leaving me forever scarred...Yes, you had me at Pesto! Shame on you Historic Smithton Inn. Now, how can I visit another?

Room Tip: Every room was unique and different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: £120 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing