We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They Made Us Feel Like Family!! Can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“They Made Us Feel Like Family!! Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We had a WONDERFUL stay at the Historic Smithton Inn! The Innkeepers, Dave and Rebecca, and their adorable dog Lucky made us feel like we were spending time with family. The room was great (we were in the Blue Room) -- very clean and with all the amenities you would expect and then some. Breakfast was served on our schedule and was excellent -- one morning was a Pennsylvania Dutch ham/egg cup and the other was an egg dish with local sausage. Rebecca helped us plan our days with perfect suggestions on tours and where to go for dinner. Don't miss the pretzel and chocolate tours offered close by in Ephrata or the Cloister, with all its interesting history. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GalvestonSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
241
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I and three other couples recently spent a weekend at the Historic Smithton Inn. Rebecca and Dave were wonderful, and so accommodating, Even before we arrived, Rebecca help plan our trip by suggesting restaurants, tours, etc. The rooms were big and nice and breakfast was to die for - especially the Crunchy French Toast!! Wish we could have stayed longer. I would definitely stay here again. A Carroll Ruston, Louisiana

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alnita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We recently spent a lovely weekend at the Historic Smithton Inn and were absolutely delighted with our stay.The room was beautiful and clean,our hostess was extremely hospitable and helpful in every way and the breakfast was heavenly. We will definitely go back and I encourage anyone who is sight seeing in the Lancaster area to consider this gem!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for for 2 nights this time. We have been here 2 other times. The breakfast is wonderful, and it is plentiful. If going to Amish Country this is located in a central place. The house is full of history with modern comforts. The rooms are spacious and relaxing. Rebecca and Dave are perfect hosts. Just wish we could have spent more time there. It is nice to have a working fireplace in each bedroom. Rebecca adds a nice touch by putting snacks and bottled water in each room. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms and each one is just as nice as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hmguilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My dearest friend of 45 years suggested we take a trip to Ephrata to visit with another dear friend and their family. She said we would be staying at a Wonderful B & B. Well this is an understatement. This place was that and much more. The room was perfect with a brick fireplace complete with a log already in it, high bed with the most comfortable sheets ever! The chair, I didn't want to get out of because it was so cozy. Our hosts Rebecca and Dave were so accommodating, friendly and warm. Breakfast was splendid, I am sorry I didn't take my phone or camera to snap a photo.
I can't wait to take my family there too. I HIGHLY recommend the Historic Smithton Inn, as a wonderful destination that you will enjoy!.

Sheila F.
Bensalem, PA

Room Tip: They are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila_Friedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, during Superstorm Sandy. We did not lose power, and while most of the area was closed down, we were comfortable and warm. The rooms are great, the bedding is fantastic, and Rebecca and Dave was perfect hosts. Breakfast every day was outstanding. All in all, I can only say positive things about this B&B. Ranks up there with the best I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EastwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great B&B experience. Our hosts were pleasant and made helpful suggestions to make our PA visit most enjoyable. The inn was lovely, the rooms were clean, comfortable and inviting. Their breakfast was delicious and the presentation was superb. Thanks Dave, Rebecca and staff!

B & S from Chesapeake, VA

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
11.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Property: Historic Smithton Inn
Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing