We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B Stands for Better and Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 July 2013

After dropping our son at camp my husband and I stayed here one night on the way to meeting my parents in Atlantic City because it is located halfway. What a find! I only wish we could have stayed longer. The Red Rosé room overlooks the back garden and is charming beyond belief yet comfortable. Comfort and modern amenities are not sacrificed for the charm of the place and the owners. They have warm cookies when you arrive and on the desk at all times as well as tea and coffee. The owners are helpful and friendly and genuine without being intrusive in any way. The room had a jacuzzi tub and bath oil was provided along with amenities which made for a relaxing bath. It is up a platform step so just felt so cozy. We enjoyed the outdoor gardens and fountain. I rolled out my yoga mat and did yoga on the grass while my husband sat and read a book. It was an oasis. The owner gave my husband info on where to go for a walk while I soaked in the tub and his restaurant recommendation for dinner was spot on (Lilly's on Main). Also we stopped at Ten Thousand Villages even though we have one near our home, this one is larger and is the original one where it all started. There was nothing negative or disappointing about The Smithton. Breakfast was the stuff of dreams.

Room Tip: The Red Room overlooked back garden which was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibraryLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was the best B&B my husband and I have ever stayed in! The owners are wonderful, sweet, knowledgable people. They really have a passion for running a great BandB and giving you a wonderful experiance. The rooms are simple and clean with great details to attention; such as complimentary snacks with water, a fridge, modern power strip with USB ports, nightlight in bathroom, nice toiletries, a movie library to borrow from, book library, board games, coffee/tea available 24/7, porch rockers, back patio furnature, and a gourmet breakfast every morning! We enjoyed the town of Ephrata, as it was a larger town than most in the Lancaster area. The town had decent dining options, and many convent stores. If your staying in the Lancaster area this place is a MUST!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Blue room. All rooms seemed very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babywe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Rebecca and her husband are absolute DOLLS. They were so kind and welcoming, incredibly helpful in giving us sight-seeing tips, and breakfast each morning was to die for. The inn itself is incredibly beautiful and clean. The rooms manage to give a rustic, antique atmosphere without bordering over into little old granny territory. :-) We were extremely happy with out stay - excellent value. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizabethtguerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for several nights & thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The inn's hostess (Rebecca) prepares & serves both a hearty & delicious breakfast; food allergies and preferences are accommodated effortlessly & are just as hearty & delicious. The Smithton's front desk typically has a jar of fresh baked cookies & should one desire an accompanying mug of coffee, they can find a myriad of choices within arm's length. The inn's aesthetic is charming & the front porch rockers are quite soothing. We stayed in the Tailor's Cottage. Having traveled to PA for our nephew's graduation, we often found ourselves surrounded by family & the Tailor's Cottage has a comfortable sized living space where we could sit, visit & relax. We loved the handmade quilt on our bed (& on the beds of other family members staying at the inn) & were very impressed with how comfortable the beds are! We were excited to discover our cottage has a working fireplace & it is nice to see how much care Dave & Rebecca are taking in keeping as much of the original touches & structure historic. The innkeeper's welcomed our quadruped daughter (our dog, Boo) & the inn has a beautiful garden area were Boo delighted in playing catch. We love visiting our sister in Ephrata & plan to return as soon as possible...yet don't know how tell her we'll be staying at the Smithton (vs. her place)! The coziness, comfort & yummy food at the Smithton easily make it the place to stay while visiting this neck of the woods! We encourage anyone traveling to this area of the country to make reservations and stay at the inn - they will be especially pleased!

Room Tip: The Tailor's Cottage has a lovely screened porch but at present, a solid Wi-Fi signal is unavail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2GoToAll50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The modern traveler is accustomed to institutionalized chain hotels, with anonymous staff who change every eight hours and a cookie-cutter monotony of decor and ambiance. It is a pleasure to revisit an age when travelers depended for lodging on the personal care of resident innkeepers. It's exciting to see a modern family not only preserving 250 year old landmark, but continuing an ancient tradition of personal hospitality, and doing so to the highest standards. Our accommodations in the Sage Room were charming and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and Rebecca was very helpful in introducing us to the area and attending to our needs. We will definitely include this venue in future trips that bring us through Lancaster County.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and room service are Not Applicable The Sage Room has easy access from the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I had booked here for one night as we were on our way from Hanover PA to Philly airport to meet some friends. I had no idea what to expect but was struck by the hospitality of the hosts and the facilities such as large residents' lounge, a wide range of DVDs for use in the rooms (FOC) and the wonderfuly comfortable room (Crimson Dove). Breakfast was geat and it was like staying with friends. Eprata itself is a great little town with at least one great restaurant (Lily's on Main) and the preserved old religious Community site Ephrata Cloister which is within walking distance from the Inn

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank risottofungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were definitely not disappointed! We stayed in the Red Room. It was so cozy and quiet. We got a great night sleep and we were treated to a wonderful and delicious breakfast. I would love to come back here for every anniversary, and just to get away once in a while. It's close enough to tourist spots, yet far enough away to relax and have a quiet stay. The staff is very warm and friendly, and will do everything they can to make your stay special! I will recommend this Inn to everyone I know.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hertzog Homestead Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
437 reviews
7.7 mi away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 3 in Reinholds
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: £102 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing