We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Lancaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights and it made all the difference for our trip. Rooms are wonderful and huge gourmet breakfast was a great start to busy days. Rebecca and Dave are genial and helpful hosts. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I'm so glad we were able to get your day off to a delicious start! And thanks so much for sharing your experience at our B&B!! We look forward to seeing you again soon !!! :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Historic Smithton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for just one night...my friends and family visiting from Germany--we all would highly recommend Historic Smithton Inn on your next Lancaster visit! Innkeepers/owners.. Dave and Rebecca have outdone themselves in sprucing up the Inn..our rooms were off the hook gorgeous, so so clean, and cozy comfy beds (with bedding that makes you melt to sleep!). My family and friends that were with me and I can not say enough about their cooking and hospitality. AND...awesome location and they were able to help us put together an itinerary for our trek through Lancaster. Thank you again Dave and Rebecca!!! ..we'll be back next year!!! :D!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charz609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It was SO fun hosting you and your family during your whirlwind visit to Lancaster County... I'm glad to hear you''ll be coming back because there's LOTS more to see, so I look forward to helping you discover even more of our wonderful area! And of course I'm REALLY glad you enjoyed breakfast because that's one of my favorite things about being an innkeeper... I LOVE to cook, so I'm always thrilled when someone likes what I cook!!! Looking forward to your return trip!! ~ Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for just two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The hosts Dave and Rebecca are the perfect innkeepers and Rebecca's breakfast are amazing. Fresh local produce beautifully presented and cooked, no need to eat until dinner! Coffee available 24 hours a day and most welcome with one of Rebecca's cookies
We stayed in The Chocolate Room which is cosy,comfortable and spacious. Large bathroom with all amenities, plenty of beautiful towels. Free Wifi, Flat screen TV, DVD library and plenty of information about the local area. We looked in to the Sage, Yellow and Blue Rooms, all beautifully kept and spotless. Would stay in any of these rooms. The area around Ephrata has lots of interesting places and is situated in the middle of Amish farmland. Dave gave us lots of information about local must see sights and we came across many more. A trip to Gettysburg is well worth the trip,save a day to see it all.
Local pub , I think called The Lincoln Inn serves amazing fish and chips! Also an ice cream place as you drive into town ?The Udder, serves fabulous ice cream sundaes, sodas and desserts all for about $ 3.95. delicious soup for even less, toasties and sandwiches....used by the locals and a real find.
Must mention Lucky the dog, what a star he is! Checks you out when you come through the door and is your very best friend when its your turn to be served breakfast.
If we are lucky enough to return to this area then this is the place we'll stay at again. Thanks Rebecca, Dave and Lucky for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The Chocolate room is a corner room so has three windows, a Iittle road noise in the morning but...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank churchmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you SO much for your lovely review. We love helping guests discover all the hidden treasures around town and the broader area... sounds like you managed to fit in some gems! We agree, the Udder Choice and Olde Lincoln House are great local eateries! We hope you find an excuse to come back this way again... we can hook you up with many more great places to eat, drink and be merry!!

And for someone from the UK to call us the "Ideal B&B"... well it just doesn't get much better than THAT!!! So thanks for making my day. ~Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great B&B. The rooms were immaculate and large. Water/snacks/coffee/cookies abundant available all day. Conveniently located. The homemade, cooked to order breakfasts are truly the highlight...served by the innkeeper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

One word: WoooHooo!!! There's nothing better on earth than telling someone who LOVES too cook that you like their food!!!! While I think there are lots of great reasons to stay with us beyond breakfast, the fact that you've focused on my favorite time of day & thing about being an innkeeper is just fine with me!! As you pointed out, we too like the convenience of our location, and hope you find another excuse to come visit our wonderful town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was our third trip to the Historic Smithton Inn in as many years. Sometimes when you have a wonderful stay and then go back, it isn't as good as you remember, but that absolutely is not the case here! Each time we return to the Smithton Inn, it is just as wonderful as we remember it and we always find something new and interesting to do in Lancaster County. The rooms are squeaky clean, the breakfasts are amazing and the Innkeepers, Rebecca & Dave, are wonderful. They were so helpful with recommendations for dinner and things to see and do (don't miss the Green Dragon Farmers Market if you are there on a Friday!) and they even have a pet-friendly room available. And unlike a lot of B&B where we have stayed, the free Wifi actually works! While we were there this time, the Inn hosted a backyard ice cream social to raise money for the local school district. It was loads of fun, with a magician and live music, and we felt right at home. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GalvestonSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our organization needed a place to hold a retreat. This place was a great place for our staff to relax, unwind, and also discuss our organization. Their parlor was cozy, and had a very personal feeling for our meetings. The rooms were beautifully outfitted with all the modern necessities without losing the historic feel of the building. Breakfast was equally decadent. The innkeepers are fabulous and very friendly with a deep knowledge of the history of the building as well as the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My mom and I were on a mini road trip thru Pennsylvania and enjoyed a wonderful night's stay at the Historic Smithton Inn. The house is a historical treasure! From the moment we got there to the second we left our hosts were nothing but helpful and delightful. Our room was perfect --- clean, comfortable, and spacious --- and the breakfast was delicious. The garden grounds offer a beautiful place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or a pre-dinner cocktail in the evening. I can't recommend this place enough and if we come back thru town we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: £118 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing