We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the cottage!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A dear friend and I stayed at the cottage attached to the Inn. We each had our own floor and privacy, plus the main house for great, indulgent breakfasts in the dining room and late night hot chocolate and home made cookies in overstuffed chairs by the fireplace in the living room. Comfort, warmth, friendship ... what a delight!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Alice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Tailor's Cottage... you're right, it's PERFECT for a girl friend getaway where you can stay together, but still have your own space. And I'm glad you liked breakfast, because I LOVE cooking... so having guests stay with us who want to eat what I cook is the BEST thing ever!!! Hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Historic Smithton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a fabulous girls weekend. We stayed in the Blue Room, the Red Room and the Crimson Dove Room. All were beautifully decorated, historic style touches but comfortable modern amenities. The Crimson Dove Room is the largest and has a lovely sitting area in front of the fireplace (all rooms have them!). Rebecca and Dave, the innkeepers, are so friendly and informative but never intrusive and Lucky, the Inn dog, is completely laid back. The breakfasts were simply amazing, homemade Italian herb bread, muffins one day, strawberry bread the next. In addition Rebecca prepares a hot entree, first morning we had egg "cups" with country ham and cheese, the next day crunchy French toast with berries and whipped cream and sausages. Oh yes and fresh fruit both days! Whew, you will be full. We all wished we could stay longer. The inn is in the non-touristy side of the Lancaster area but easy drive to everything and on the back roads you will see the true Amish hard at work in the fields. Don't miss going to the Ephrata Cloister about a mile down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbi232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your girlfriend getaway to Ephrata!! We agree, one of the things we like about our town is that it's close to everything, but not "overrun". And of course I'm REALLY glad you liked our breakfasts because I love cooking them for you. And we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others... if it helps other FUN folks like you guys find us, we're very happy!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

was a very pleasant experience........well kept inn with great rooms. breakfast was excellent ! would recommend as a weekend getaway or vacation .
innkeepers were very helpful and courteous.

the inn was in a central location that was good for visiting all the areas around the lancaster pa. area. not too far out to go to all the attractions and points of interest in the area.

Room Tip: we enjoyed our stay in the chocolate room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Like you, one of our favorite things about Ephrata is the proximity to everything in the county... and I love that you can choose between the "quick-easy-highway-drive", or the "gorgeous-winding-backroads-drive" to get where you need to go. Hope you find an excuse to come back this way again... there's LOTS more to see and do than you could possibly fit in a weekend!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our only regret is that we booked just one night. Rebecca is an amazing host - warm, welcoming, made us feel right at home. Spacious, immaculate room, supremely comfortable bed, DVD library was an especially nice touch. Generous, creative, flavorful breakfast. Hard to believe that this was the least expensive B&B that we stayed in during our two-week road trip around the Northeast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillowdaleCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you SO much for your great review!! I'm glad you enjoyed and appreciated all the amenities and touches throughout the Inn... especially the DVD collection... I'll definitely be referring to this review next time my hubs says I'm buying too many DVDs!!! :o). We hope you'll come back again when you can stay longer... as you noticed with our breakfasts... in Lancaster County it's "all about the food"... and there are lots of great local restaurants I think you'd enjoy!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed four nights at this lovely B&B, and both of us agree that it is top notch. Our room and bath were very clean, spacious, and comfortable, and the full breakfasts each morning were so delicious and filling that we skipped lunch each day! Add to that a welcoming innkeeper (Rebecca), who obviously wanted us to be comfortable and to feel at home, and we have every reason to return in the future, which we will!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

YEAH!!! I have lots of favorite things about being an Innkeeper, but one of my favorites is that I get to meet the most interesting people... and if I'm really really lucky... they come BACK! I'm so glad that that's your plan! However much you enjoyed staying in our spacious rooms, eating our yummy food and enjoying Lancaster County, we enjoyed hosting, feeding, and talking with YOU just as much! We look forward to seeing you guys again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights and it made all the difference for our trip. Rooms are wonderful and huge gourmet breakfast was a great start to busy days. Rebecca and Dave are genial and helpful hosts. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

I'm so glad we were able to get your day off to a delicious start! And thanks so much for sharing your experience at our B&B!! We look forward to seeing you again soon !!! :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for just one night...my friends and family visiting from Germany--we all would highly recommend Historic Smithton Inn on your next Lancaster visit! Innkeepers/owners.. Dave and Rebecca have outdone themselves in sprucing up the Inn..our rooms were off the hook gorgeous, so so clean, and cozy comfy beds (with bedding that makes you melt to sleep!). My family and friends that were with me and I can not say enough about their cooking and hospitality. AND...awesome location and they were able to help us put together an itinerary for our trek through Lancaster. Thank you again Dave and Rebecca!!! ..we'll be back next year!!! :D!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charz609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

It was SO fun hosting you and your family during your whirlwind visit to Lancaster County... I'm glad to hear you''ll be coming back because there's LOTS more to see, so I look forward to helping you discover even more of our wonderful area! And of course I'm REALLY glad you enjoyed breakfast because that's one of my favorite things about being an innkeeper... I LOVE to cook, so I'm always thrilled when someone likes what I cook!!! Looking forward to your return trip!! ~ Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: £117 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing