We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saluting the Smithton Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Smithton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saluting the Smithton Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

On Veteran's Day, Rebecca and Dave were kind enough to offer rooms to veterans as a way of "thanking" them for their service! We were lucky enough to be able to enjoy their beautiful
B & B and fine hospitality. The Inn has such historic character but also modern amenities like a whirlpool tub!! And then a nice relaxing evening in front of the fireplace...Imagine that! Breakfast by Rebecca was fabulous and directions and tourist attraction info by Dave made for a wonderful experience! And tricks performed by their dog, Lucky, were fun to watch. The Historic Smithton Inn is a MUST to visit and enjoy!!

Room Tip: The cottage is unique, as long as you can use the stairs because it has 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We feel so lucky and blessed to actually be in a position to thank our Vets on Veterans day... I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of a free "B&Bs for Vets" night with us!! This was the fourth year we participated in the program, and I look forward to it each year, because I get to meet (and thank) great folks like YOU!! Thank you again for your service!!

And speaking of lucky.... Lucky says "hello" and she hopes to perform for you again sometime soon! Never was there a more appropriately named dog... you guys gave her so much attention, she was in heaven!

Take care & thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our B&B!!!
~Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
239
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I've stayed a few times at this B&B and it's really just about as good as it gets....prices are fair, the rooms are AUTHENTICALLY furnished with antiques etc BUT are COMFORTABLE and have all modern amenities, the owners are friendly but not intrusive and the breakfast is really delicious. Those factors add up to a perfect B&B in my book.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManhattanWilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
William - thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Historic Smithton Inn. It means so much to us that you like staying here enough to come BACK again and again... especially since we love catching up with you and hearing about your latest travels... you and Fernando DO manage to go to some really great places! I love your attitude toward travel and really SEEING/experiencing the places you visit... I'm always impressed with the cool "off the beaten path" shops that you manage to find on your own here... like that local cheese shop on this last visit. I look forward to seeing you guys again soon, there's plenty more here to 'discover'... or you can always just relax in front of the fireplace and catch up on movie-watching... or BOTH!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

As this was our second trip to the Inn and will not be our last might I add, Rebecca and Dave made us feel like we were just part of their family.
With her fantastic culinary skills, I have since asked if she and Dave would adopt a 59 year old man! You truely will never get a better breafeast even if you stayed at some high end place spending way more than you need to.
The owners never hesitated when being asked aything about Ephrata and the surrounding areas and their recomendations were always spot on.
My wife and I have stayed at a lot of Cottages and Inns and I can say without a doubt that staying at the Smithton Inn and being pampered by its owners is second to none.
Should one be planning a trip and looking for a place to stay...stop your search right now as you have just found the perfect place ...bar none!
Exceptionally clean rooms, great food, and a newly found friendship with the owners. You won't get that in some fancy Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
John, thank you so much for the fantastic review! And we would "adopt" you and Lee-Ann in a heart-beat, you guys kept us laughing the whole three days you were here... plus, it's wonderful to cook for folks who enjoy a delicious breakfast... which I LOVE cooking! I'm so glad you liked our recommendations for drives/tours/shops/restaurants... we'll have more for you when you come back on your next trip! Hope to see you again soon! ~ Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here before when the inn first opened several years ago. I thought the Crimson Dove room was my favorite, but this time I stayed in the Tailor's Cottage, and that's my new favorite. I could stay there for a good long time! The breakfasts were amazing. You sure don't get homemade, delicious food like this at a chain hotel! As a vegetarian, I was so happy to have meat free hot breakfast options. And, of course, the inn's mascot, Lucky, helped keep me from missing my dogs so much. Anyone who is traveling through this area would be crazy to stay anywhere else. It has the beautiful touches of Amish country in a great old stone building but with the modern conveniences you need.

Room Tip: You can't get a bad room here. If you want more quiet just let the innkeeper know when you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houstonalle4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write another lovely review about our property. Lucky has indicated that she misses you already and that you shouldn't wait so long to come back next time! (her owners agree!!!) And thanks for sharing your Vegan Banana Walnut Muffin recipe, I'll let you know how it turns out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A dear friend and I stayed at the cottage attached to the Inn. We each had our own floor and privacy, plus the main house for great, indulgent breakfasts in the dining room and late night hot chocolate and home made cookies in overstuffed chairs by the fireplace in the living room. Comfort, warmth, friendship ... what a delight!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Tailor's Cottage... you're right, it's PERFECT for a girl friend getaway where you can stay together, but still have your own space. And I'm glad you liked breakfast, because I LOVE cooking... so having guests stay with us who want to eat what I cook is the BEST thing ever!!! Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just returned from a fabulous girls weekend. We stayed in the Blue Room, the Red Room and the Crimson Dove Room. All were beautifully decorated, historic style touches but comfortable modern amenities. The Crimson Dove Room is the largest and has a lovely sitting area in front of the fireplace (all rooms have them!). Rebecca and Dave, the innkeepers, are so friendly and informative but never intrusive and Lucky, the Inn dog, is completely laid back. The breakfasts were simply amazing, homemade Italian herb bread, muffins one day, strawberry bread the next. In addition Rebecca prepares a hot entree, first morning we had egg "cups" with country ham and cheese, the next day crunchy French toast with berries and whipped cream and sausages. Oh yes and fresh fruit both days! Whew, you will be full. We all wished we could stay longer. The inn is in the non-touristy side of the Lancaster area but easy drive to everything and on the back roads you will see the true Amish hard at work in the fields. Don't miss going to the Ephrata Cloister about a mile down the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your girlfriend getaway to Ephrata!! We agree, one of the things we like about our town is that it's close to everything, but not "overrun". And of course I'm REALLY glad you liked our breakfasts because I love cooking them for you. And we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others... if it helps other FUN folks like you guys find us, we're very happy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

was a very pleasant experience........well kept inn with great rooms. breakfast was excellent ! would recommend as a weekend getaway or vacation .
innkeepers were very helpful and courteous.

the inn was in a central location that was good for visiting all the areas around the lancaster pa. area. not too far out to go to all the attractions and points of interest in the area.

Room Tip: we enjoyed our stay in the chocolate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Like you, one of our favorite things about Ephrata is the proximity to everything in the county... and I love that you can choose between the "quick-easy-highway-drive", or the "gorgeous-winding-backroads-drive" to get where you need to go. Hope you find an excuse to come back this way again... there's LOTS more to see and do than you could possibly fit in a weekend!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
11.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Property: Historic Smithton Inn
Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing