We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maureen b." The Best"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my cousins and I once in a lifetime trip, and the Smithton Inn completed it wonderfully,it was clean, comfortable,the best breakfast and so welcoming.Rebecka the Inn keeper was great. can't wait to come again. Maureen and Pat from Texas

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1211tuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Hey Maureen!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! That you plan to come back again all the way from Texas means the world to us! We look forward to that day :o)!!!

Take care & see ya'll soon!!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just spent two delightful nights in the chocolate room of this wonderful inn. The owners, especially Rebecca are very cordial and helpful. Very rarely do I find someone who understands what "vegetarian" means, so I was happy (delighted rather) to find a host who exactly understood what my dietary needs were. I was travelling with my parents, and Rebecca was more than willing to accommodate any special needs (including last minute requests) they had. The room itself was neat, although our room was on the busier side, so there was some noise in the early hours of the evening, but nothing that would stop me from staying in this room again. The room was tastefully done, and ours also had a fireplace that tempted me to come back in Winter!!! We were welcomed to complimentary snacks, coffee/tea,home-made cookies and water... which was a nice personal touch. Logistically, this place is not too far from all the main attractions in the area, though it is not in the middle of "farmlands" as such either. All in all, I felt very welcome, secure and happy while I stayed there and enjoyed my quite evenings in their well manicured lawn. Rebecca also gave us some very nice suggestions for things to do, and I absolutely have fallen in love with her Strawberry Rhubarb Jam and her baked oatmeal. Definitely going there again, and recommending this place to all my friends. I am going to get the Tailors Cottage the next time around, just because I like the feel of having a personal patio, which the cottage seemed to have.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug_822_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thank so much for your kind and informative review. You really captured everything we strive to provide our guests in terms of experience, service & hospitality... THANKS! And we're glad we were able to easily accommodate your special requests.

We look forward to seeing you on future visits...and I agree, the Tailor's Cottage & its private patio are very special!

All the best,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Inn is absolutely beautiful. We were traveling with our dog, and this wonderful place is dog friendly. It has one room set aside for dogs, as it has its own entrance, so we grabbed it. What a pleasant surprise to find an entire apartment. It was adorable. Two floors with a lovely living room, kitchen, screened porch on the first floor, and a beautiful bedroom and spacious bathroom (with jacuzzi) on the second floor. They even served our breakfast in our room. The Inn did not disappoint. Upon arrival I was disappointed it was on a main road, but once in the lodge, you did not feel it at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank millerengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

It's so nice to read your review and have guests enjoy our property as much as we do. And we especially enjoy being able to accommodate dog owners in such a wonderful room (the Tailor's Cottage). As dog lovers ourselves, we're glad we have such a great space for 4-legged guests and their owners!

While it can at first appear to be unfortunate that the Historic Smithton Inn, a colonial stage coach stop 250 years ago, is located on a main intersection... our thick stone walls and tightly sealed double paned windows do a fantastic job of blocking out the majority of street sounds.

Thanks and we hope to see you again someday!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just spent a couple delightful nights at the Historic Smithton Inn (1763) in Ephrata Pa. The accomodations were clean spacious and comfortable . Our Innkeper host Rebecca was cordial very well informed about the surrounds and provided a spectacular breakfast both days we were there . The decor of the inn was in keeping with the age of the house and warmly inviting as a place to relax and imagine life in a time long ago . Coffee and delightful cookies available for a late night snack is a nice plus as was "lucky " The friendly old dog !
Our visit was everything we hoped it would be and we look for the possibility of another visit at some point ! lancaster County Pa. is a wonderful place to visit especially in summer and fall.
Sam & Joy BAKER

Room Tip: Our rooom on the first floor "Sage" was at the back of the property , quiet, well placed s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Hello Sam & Joy!

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Lancaster County in general... we're big fans of this area ourselves and agree, Summer & Fall are especially popular times of year to visit... especially with all the festivals, fairs and outdoor concerts scheduled just about EVERY weekend... we hope to see you back this way again!

All the best,
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for a weekend and it was an excellent experience!!! Cleanliness, friendly, great breakfast, and hospitality!!!!! Will definitely go back! Lucky the dog was an added bonus!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chocolate room and the dark colors made it more relaxing and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jlkwell1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

We're SO glad that you enjoyed your stay with us... and Lucky was glad you chose to stay with US... she loves the attention of doting guests like you guys!! We ALL hope you'll come back this way again!!

Hope to see you again soon!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I spent the past 4th of July weekend with my family(wife and a 6 year old son) in the Smithon Inn in Ephrata. We had very relaxing time in this historic yet beautifully restored and conveniently located inn. All rooms seem to have colored theme and ours was the "Red Room". The inn itself had a personal feeling of being in a neighbor's home with all the modern necessities and was immaculately clean. Breakfasts were well proportioned and high-level. The innkeeper and her colleague were both very friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. They even setup a separate bed for my son sensibly during our absence. The location of the inn was an added plus. It's near the main road leading to both the country side and the downtown Lititz and Lancaster. I would repeat and recommend it to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pensivegautama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricSmithton, Owner at Historic Smithton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

I'm so glad you enjoyed your 4th of July getaway with us! Everything you mention in your review are JUST what we're aiming for... homey, clean, great amenities & service, delicious breakfasts... I'm glad we were able to hit the mark!

Hope to see you again sometime soon!

All the best!
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I had a very enjoyable few days at the Smithton Inn. Rebecca was awesome in helping us figure out things to do while we were there. The breakfast every morning was superb made from local ingredients. I would definitely stay there again. Thanks so much and look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range: £120 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing