We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Smithton Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ephrata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
“Great Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This was our first time in the Lancaster County PA area. The location of the Smithton Inn was ideal for day trips through the County. The rooms were clean with period furnishings.

Breakfast was excellent and the innkeepers were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family and if we are back in the area would stay once again at the Smithton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanran1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
241
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

When we arrived at the Inn tired from a 10 hour drive we were warmly greeted by Dave and Lucky (the house dog). We got the entire tour from the spacious and comfortable parlor to the extensive DVD library. And Dave made sure to point the always availble Keurig for coffee and the ever present home baked cookies (the white chocolate chips were my favorite).

We had the suite and it was great providing ample room for relaxing as well as sufficient storage for our wine. And the air conditioning worked great which was extremely important due to the unseasonably hot and humid weather.

I especially enjoyed sitting on the front porch while sipping on an adult beverage and watching the world go by as the location is perfect for people and vehicle watching.

Rebecca's breakfasts are a great way to start the day. Make sure you bring your appetite in the morning. Hopefully she will put together a cookbook as we would love to recreate the experience at home.

Rebecca, Dave and Lucky were meant to be Innkeepers. We have been to many Inns in the past and would rate The Smithton as one of the tops.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coach009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Beautiful home built in 1700's; gourmet breakfasts; helpful and friendly hosts - Rebecca and Dave Gallagher, even put me on the local TV news station; would highly recommend to anyone interested in visiting southeastern PA

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malkinrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I've stayed in several places in the area and this is THE BEST, with large comfortable bedrooms, a great breakfast and friendly hosts. The house is a historic treasure and the innkeepers have done a great job in cataloguing sight-seeing and leisure activities in the area. Overall, an excellent value and a must-stay for future trips.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn00py123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I met my parents at the Smithton Inn for the weekend and we had a wonderful time. The foam-topped mattresses were supremely comfortable, the sheets soft, and the rooms well-appointed. The rooms are decorated with antiques, but equipped with modern conveniences such as flat screen TVs, in-room refrigerators, and wireless internet. Our hosts were friendly and helpful while still allowing us to spend time alone as a family. The plentiful breakfasts featured a variety of locally sourced foods and were fantastic. With the Smithton a mere 1.5 hours away from Philadelphia, we hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58971630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My daughter and I stayed at Smithton Inn while biking in Amish Country. We found the historic inn to be wonderfully charming - lovingly restored and in its full glory. We were welcomed with cold drinks, fresh baked cookies and a large comfortable room. The decor is perfect for a 200 year old tavern - tasteful, elegant and restrained. While true to the period, our room had every comfort we could hope for - flat screen TV (and an amazing collection of DVDs to chose from) a small fridge, robes, and a spacious bath. We enjoyed drinks on the front porch in the evening watching Amish carriages travel down the lane thru the warm summer night. Our hosts had myriad suggestions for how best to enjoy the town and surrounding area. In the end, we opted for a late day stroll thru the nearby Ephrata Cloisters - the perfect end to a tranquil outing in Amish country. The following morning we were greeted with an amazing homemade breakfast of fragrant muffins, sausage quiche and herbed hash browns. The delicious coffee was ready by 6 am and never stopped flowing. Our stay at the Smithton Inn was the highlight of our visit to the area and we look forward to staying again - perhaps during the autumn harvest?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gambletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The Inn was built in 1763 and they have done a good job maintaining and restoring it. The minute we entered the door we knew we found a gem. We were greeted warmly by Dave and the dog, Lucky. There were fresh cookies and a Keurig coffee maker in the entry in case we needed a jolt and a treat. Check in was easy even though we got there earlier than planned. Dave showed us the downstairs common areas - dining room; living area with baby grand piano, a flat screen TV, and fireplace; and his office with a ton of DVD's we could borrow. He took us upstairs and showed us the four rooms on the second landing and then took us to our room. It was HUGE! We stayed in the Crimson Dove room formerly known as the Purple room. We had a high King size bed (it was great, I needed to use the steps to get in it), a sofa in front of the fireplace (way too outside to start a fire), a desk with a flat screen TV and DVD, another seating area, a small refrigerator, armoire, and free wi fi. It was spacious and cozy at the same time. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi tub/shower and nice vanity area with stool. They had some complimentary snacks and water for us.

Breakfast was outstanding. There was yogurt, muffins (the second day it was a peach coffeecake), herb bread, homemade granola, bran, coffee, tea and juices. Then came the best part. Rebecca is a great cook. The first morning we had a strawberry & blueberry topped pancake like/coffee cake, sausage patties, and a cup of fruit that was flavored. The second day we received a crustless quiche with asparagus and mushrooms, polenta with cheese and another type of fruit cup. Everything was delicious! Rebecca is also a sweetheart and will spend time chatting with you if you choose. She is very gracious. I purchased a cookbook of B&B recipes since we spent a lot of time chatting about the food. She does an excellent presentation too.

The grounds are well maintained. The Inn is very easy to find and just down the street from the Ephrata Cloisters which we also visited. They are very happy to answer any questions regarding the area and made recommendations for places to eat. I wish we had planned on more time there. It is very evident that they care about how their guests feel and add all the right touches - soft towels and a lot of them, nice toiletries, the refrigerator, complimentary snacks, reading material, etc. We also met the cleaning woman, whose name I forget, but she was very nice too.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephrata
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
10.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Hurst House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1777 Americana Inn Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Artist's Inn and Gallery
Artist's Inn and Gallery
#1 of 1 in Terre Hill
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Smithton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Smithton Inn

Property: Historic Smithton Inn
Address: 900 W Main St, Ephrata, PA 17522-1328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Ephrata
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ephrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Smithton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Smithton Inn is a Select Registry property and one of the oldest bed and breakfasts in Lancaster County. The 1763 colonial stone inn boasts 7 guest rooms, all with en-suite baths, working fireplaces, flat screen TV/DVD players, digital alarm clocks and refrigerators. Guest rooms are spacious and blend historic charm with modern comforts. You'll absolutely love our breakfasts! Our location provides you easy access to all the wonderful Lancaster attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Historic Smithton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing