We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Safe! terrible management decisions” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
U.S.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Safe! terrible management decisions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

One of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had--and I have traveled to many large cities over the years. Recently I was here on a Saturday night, and I was sitting quietly in a hallway near the front vestibule waiting for a ride from a friend. An intoxicated man started yelling at me, I ignored him until he started threatening me. I was going to go into the lobby for help when he had two friends show up and I felt trapped in the hallway, as the three of them were between me and the front doors into the lobby. Someone apparently from the hotel briefly looked into the hallway from the double doors and never intervened. If someone from the hotel staff or management had bothered to inquire such as "hey what is going on here" it would have provided a distraction so I could have extracted myself from the situation. The situation become loud and hostile and this guy wanted to "take me outside" and apparently fight me because "he didn't like my face" and "i had been sitting there too long". I felt very physically threatened. The police arrived eventually right before things got ugly, and the man and his two friends made false allegations that "I had been bothering people, including girls and they were protecting them from me". Since I had no witnesses (which I would have had if the management had bothered to find out what was going on), the police were giving me a hard time and called my name into the station. I am absolutely flabbergasted at this point as I had been sitting there doing nothing. Because the hotel staff and management were completely ineffectual and did not intervene and help me, they allowed the situation to get worse, I could have been physically harmed if the police had arrived a minute later, and I had completely false accusations made against me. The hotel management made a terrible mistake by not trying to help me. I understand they felt they needed to call the police, but they could have helped me initially!!! I have traveled to places like downtown DC, Philadelphia, Baltimore, Miami, and New York. I have never felt so unsafe in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aTolerantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I’m sorry the service you received didn’t meet the standards you expected. Please know the safety and security of our guests is our No. 1 priority, and we take your comments very seriously. We will be reaching out to you directly to discuss this incident in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    220
    67
    27
    14
See reviews for
249
265
36
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My boyfriend and I attended his friends wedding at the hotel and we also stayed there. The location on the bay is great. You can either eat at the hotel or there are a couple other choices within walking distance. Our floor was a little noisy but I think it was just wedding rowdiness. Great room, comfortable bed and I loved the style of the bathroom. The front desk was helpful in finding LATE night pizza delivery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for submitting a reveiw of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room and had I appreciate your kind comments in regards to the service provided by my Front Desk staff. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Best in Erie. In the past 3 years, I have stayed in Erie many times: consistently impressed with the Sheraton Bayfront and consistently disappointed in the others. Tops in every aspect, but especially the staff and lobby with bar and grille. Although the grille is expensive (entrees are $18+), this is typical for a fine restaurant and IS the best restaurant in Erie for fine dining. Do yourself a favor and review the site's images.

Room Tip: The lower priced boat harbor view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review on the hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff service and hotel atmposhere to be the best in Erie! We hope to see you at the Sheraton again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findley Lake, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

With high winds and massive snow accumulation I could not drive the 30 miles home after my shift at a local hospital. Besides, I was on call that night and took a chance that if I did get home, I would have to turn around and drive back to the hospital..........not in that weather. So, I made a reservation at the Bayfront Sheraton in Erie. Fast check-in, professional service, spotless room on concierge level. Room service was fast, the food was great, and the server was exceptional. Parking was convenient and sheltered.......$12/night. The only glitches preventing a 5 rating was the size of the room..........very small. At first my key card wouldn't work in the elevator, but they re-keyed it in 5 minutes. Will see them again when the next blizzard hits.

Green Features: Smoke free, even outside around the hotel. Great unless you're a smoker!
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G8r_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. I am glad you were able to weather out the storm at our beautiful hotel! I appreciate your feedback and I hope we will see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Good restaurant, but expensive. Hotel is nice and clean and it has good service, location is great to get to almost any point in Erie in 15 mins. Great Lake view. Gym is sufficient for a decent work out. Wireless internet is fast and reliable. Not 5 because my bathroom had to issues, toilet didn't flush and shower head was leaking. Gym equipment needs maintenance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MexKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and got the oppurtunity to experience Erie. We hope to see you at the hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

At first, I thought my travels could not get worst with one TSA agent checking hundreds of passengers during rush hour causing me to miss my flight. Then Delta came through by placing me on an United flight to get me to Erie, PA for my meeting. I had to drive to hours to get to the hotel, but late night driving and constructions on the roads did not prepare for the beauty of Erie, PA. It was breathtaking.

The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel was the best hotel stay and on the top floor. Kevin, Front Desk Personnel, was amazing. He even found my membership from more than 10 years ago. Full hot breakfast, beautiful view of Lake Erie, full internet access, complimentary parking, etc. Wow...I was in heaven. Thank you for the reboot...Next stops: Medical Mission in Haiti then a family vacation in Israel. I will be hosting an HIV/AIDS Symposium in Haiti this summer.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor come with complimentary hot breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for your positive reveiw of the hotel. I glad that you got to the hotel safely and that Kevin provided such a wonderful check in for you. We hope you get a chance to visit the hotel again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here on a trip to Grove City from Buffalo NY. It was a great in-between stop and there are so many restaurants to choose from within a 15 minute drive of the hotel. They have pretty much every chain restaurant you can think of a short drive away so we were able to use up our stockpile of Christmas gift cards!

Location was great.
Very close to the thruway.
Great view of the lake from our room.
Rooms & hotel seemed recently updated.
Friendly staff.
Quiet rooms.

All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jason189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for the positive reveiw. I am glad you had the chance to stay with us and experience the Erie area. I hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#1 Family Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing