We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice One Day Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very Nice One Day Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed at this property many times and this time it was only for one night as most of the Memorial Day Weekend was already booked solid.
We booked a city view room over the SPG site and upgraded to the AAA breakfast package. Very easy to do.
Upon arrival at about 2:30 pm on Friday, May 23rd we were greeted with a friendly smile and service by a young lady at the desk (sorry, forgot her name). Being gold members and having previously tweeted out to @SPG for consideration of an upgrade we were in fact upgraded from a city view to a higher level (room 702) Bay Front room.

The good:
I noticed a distinct improvement to attention of details from our previous stays. The room was very clean as usual and all of the the amenities such as the 2 robes hanging in the closet, neatness of the bedding, placement of items on the vanity & desk, 3 bottles of water left for us etc. caught my eye. Kudos to whoever prepared the room. If management reads this, please thank your staff member for a job well done.
We spent a good deal of time in the room as the weather was cloudy and very cool outside. We rented a movie on the TV (Jack Ryan) which was easy to charge to our room. $17 was a bit pricey but I'm sure the cable company mostly sets that price structure.
We also ordered room service. 2 bowls of ice cream for $20. Again a bit pricey but they did not skimp on serving size and had it to us in about 10 minutes. Very friendly service too. We've done this at many other SPG properties and they usually add in a complementary cookie or pastry. Management here might want to consider that as well. Details and extras make a good impression for little cost to the property.

Breakfast at the Bayfront Grilll was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and attentive. Kudos again! This AAA breakfast for two upgrade is well worth the $20 upgrade. Their American Breakfast is one of the best we have had at ANY restaurant. Free refills of coffee and OJ and they even offer to prepare a to-go cup of coffee. Details, details. Nice touch!

The not so good:
Not much. My only comment here is that management should reconsider not allowing SPG Gold members access to the club lounge on the 8th floor. Two years ago (but not our last stay in October) we were given elevator key card access so this policy must be relatively new. Most other SPG properties that we have stayed in have club lounge privileges for Gold members. Please reconsider this policy as it goes a long way toward brand loyalty.
Also, as stated in a previous review, the very large desk in the rooms are too big for the room and make close access to the windows impossible. Consider a different set-up when it's time to remodel.

All in all, a very nice stay. Thanks Sheraton & @SPG.

Room Tip: High floor at the end of hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N3YND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the service, cleanliness and had the oppurtunity to dine in the Bayfront Grille. I appreciate your feedback and I hope we see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    221
    68
    28
    14
See reviews for
254
266
36
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stopped here on a whim. Incredible location on the water in Erie, Penn. Room was large and gorgeous with two queen size beds. Spotless parking garage very well lit.

The restaurant is amazing. Supper was incredible. Menu changes regularly. Staff extremely friendly and accommodating.

Definitely a "two thumbs up" place.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a bayfront room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RivieraLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and review of the Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and got the chance to dine in our award winning restaurant. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've been trying to get my elderly folks out for a fancy Mother's Day lunch or brunch for years, but somehow never found a place that rose to my expectations until now.

Yes, the buffet is quite pricey by any standard and is somewhat limited compared to some major hotel buffets I've been to, but by Erie standards, it's tops. The view is, of course, lovely. The room, while modern, is still warm and the acoustics are muted. The service was adequate (what'd you expect, it's a buffet?) and the tables were kept filled with fresh, hot food right up until after the last seating.

I developed a close personal relationship with the carver at the Prime Rib station, which was delicious, and he never let me down in three visits.

There's something to please most palates here so, what's not to like?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0trudderedbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent visit to the hotel and for choosing the Bayfront Grille for your Mothers Day Brunch venue. We appreciate your feedback and comments and I will certainly share them with my staff. We hope to see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Sheraton Bay Front is a first class property. We didn’t eat here, but, the restaurant seems first rate. We did grab a drink at the bar where the bartender was very friendly and professional. The room was very nice, comfortable with great views. The desk staff was very helpful and professional and they made check in quick and painless. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davecm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Erie and for choosing the Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel for your accomodations. I appreciate your comments about the hotel and will share your positive feedback with my staff. I hope we see you at the hotel again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The day crew was pretty good when I checked in. The free parking was great and the place was immaculate. The cable could have been better but for Erie, that's life. The bar was nice and a decent bar tender. The location isn't too far from places to eat and night time spots. My gripe was when I came in later in the night, no one would be at the desk. I needed a few things and also wanted to extend my stay but I had to get a maintenance guy to find the front desk clerk. Sad thing about it is that happened a few times because I was living there day to day for an event. It was a good place but with a few kinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to the Sheraton Erie Bayfront and for completing a review of the hotel. I appreciate your feedback and I will certainly share your comments with my staff so that we can improve our services for future customers. I hope we see you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

loved the motel best place to stay while in Erie. Close to everything, shopping beach, hospitals, zoo. Was very clean, employees were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again and again when in Erie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoanieMudryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and completing a review for the hotel. I am glad you were able to visit Erie and enjoy the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here a week or so ago. Had an amazing time, was visiting 2 friends who live in Erie. I have to say, I didn't think much at all about erie (actually I'd never heard of it) - but it's a great place to visit and Sheraton really made the stay delightful. Next time I come back I will definitely be staying here, the staff and great and the room was beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan P, General Manager at Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for the great review and choosing the Sheraton for your recent trip. I am very glad that you got to explore Erie and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
5.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
0.9 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel

Property: Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Address: 55 West Bay Drive, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Erie
#1 Business Hotel in Erie
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#1 Green Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the new Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel,the area's first waterfront hotel. Enjoy the stunning Lake Erie views and an array of amenities designed with your comfort in mind. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, free WiFi, and HD TVs. Dine in at the Bayfont Grill and enjoy a delicious menu of regional cuisine with breathtaking waterside views. The Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel's central location is also ideal for business, weekend getaways, or to discover the historical and cultural natural wonders of northern Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Sheraton
Sheraton Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing