We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner Surprise”
Review of Bertrand's Bistro - CLOSED

Bertrand's Bistro
Price range: US$16 - US$35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner Surprise”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I found this GREAT restaurant while visiting Erie, PA. Our server, Dan G., was excellent and his associate Tom displayed the same professionalism . Dan was attentive without hovering and his professionalism was second to none. He explained the types of wine sold and asked what type of wine my wife and I liked and brought an excellent tasting wine to the table. Now I have to tell you my wife and I do not belong to any tasting clubs but this wine Chateau Saint Sulpice 2010 was excellent and so we bought the bottle,
For food we ordered the Escargot and Mussels for our appetizer, both were sweet and succulent. My wife ordered the Veal Oscar ( Escalope De Veau Oscar) and was surprised at the large portion. The crab topping was meaty and delicious and the accompanying vegetables were cooked to perfection. I was debating between the Bison Skirt Steak and the Stuffed Pork chop. I selected the pork chop which was also cooked to perfection. the chop was tender and juicy and the kale, berry stuffing was a pleasant surprise. ( both my items were the special of the day)
We finished our meal with a desert that is made in house called Decaque (sp) which has Buttercream and chocolate layers with praline granules and toasted Almonds. We finished it off quickly because of it had a delicate texture and was flavorful without being over sweetened with a good cup of coffee.
I look forward to future visits to this restaurant while in Erie, PA. This is a must visit for anyone wanting a relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and excellent staff.
I understand that there is also a family brunch offered on Sundays.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Bonjour,
We really appreciate your positive review! Our brunch is served every Sunday from 11am to 2pm.We hope to see you soon! Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    31
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, quaint, the perfect romantic atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I came across Bertrand's on trip advisor looking for a romantic experience with authentic food, wine and spirits. To start off, the reviews on tripadvisor were spot on. The restaurant is quaint and an appropriately thought out French restaurant that is like the quaint French restaurants I have been to in Nice France as I remember. The menu is authentic and amazing with many choices depending on your palate. Our waiter Nicholas was attentive, knowledgable and entertaining. The ingredients were all fresh and you can tell the difference in care. The food was cooked perfectly and the wine selection was excellent. Portions are big which is rare for an authentic French restaurant. If you are in Erie, this place is a must and will not disappoint and was a rather a pleasant surprise. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Bonjour,
We are thankful for your positive review, Merci et a bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Had a really good time there”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

It was our 19th anniversary so I thought a French Restaurant would be a romantic experience we would remember. Nick was our waiter. We had the best time. Everyone was so nice, and the food was excellent. Nick was very helpful with explaining all the menu items and made the experience something we will remember for the rest of our lives. Bertrand's Bistro truly belongs at the top of the list of (best restaurants) in Erie.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Bonjour,
We would like to send you our sincere appreciation for your review and congratulation on your 19th anniversary! Merci beaucoup! A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of France on Presque Isle”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Bertrand's provides the seasoned traveler the best food in Erie Pa. The brunch satisfied the francophile's tats for crepes and charcuterie, as well as those seeking a more traditional American experience. Wonderful service in a quaint setting made a summer weekend in Erie seem like a trip to the Normandy Coast!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSusan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Bonjour,
Very nice of you to leave a positive review! We really appreciate! Merci! A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Number One”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is what a dinner experience should be. A wonderful chat with our server Stephani. An extra spoon is offered so we may share our bowl of French onion soup. The duck is divine. Bertrand's has a small menu of dishes that are all executed very, very well. The wine list is more like a short story rather than a dictionary. You know that the wines were picked with care.

It is easy to understand why Bertrand's is voted #1 again and again. Yes, you will need reservations. Enjoy a meal here. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chefbebert, Owner at Bertrand's Bistro, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Bonjour,
We really appreciate reading your positive review! Merci beaucoup! A bientot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bertrand's Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing