We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family visit”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Hanover, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“family visit”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Overall an excellent stay the only negative comment is that the carpet in the hallways needed to be replaced as they are severely stained. Also the carpet in our room in front of the TV was torn with threads showing and also stained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadmanrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
We appreciate you choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn. Thank you for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    80
    58
    28
    15
See reviews for
80
60
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Centrally located near shopping and the peninsula. Breakfast was better than expected and the kids loved the waffle maker (so did dad)! Reasonably priced and the pool stayed open a few minutes late for us. Our only issue was struggling to get our keys to work in the lock. They changed and reprogrammed it, but issues persisted. Not a big deal as we had booked two rooms beside one another and simply join the rest of our party while they resolved the issue. We've stayed there before and will do so again when we visit Erie in the fall.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom and Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel was too pricey for the cost. I often stay at Comfort Inns and have found it to be a good deal but not in this case.
Pluses:
-close to Presque Isle park
- all staff I encountered were friendly and helpful

Minuses:
-this hotel is very tired looking and needs to be updated
-the surrounding location/businesses are run down - not a very nice part of town
-the quality of the food at breakfast was poor (coffee was good though)
-a realistic nightly fee compared to the quality of the hotel would move up from a 2 star to a 3 star

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, and are looking into your suggestions. We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable and room we had was very clean. We were on the 3rd floor. Only 1 elevator and it was old and a little slow, but it did the job. Lovely to have coffee, tea, juices, etc and fruit available all the time. Staff were very kind and helpful. We did not try out the pool as it was very cool the day we were there, but it looked nice. Breakfast was good. They had two waffle makers, sausage, egg rounds, yogurt, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, and cold cereal. All in all, pretty good. Went down at 8 and didn't have to wait for anything. We left hotel around 9 and breakfast area was very, very busy. Hotel was full so this was to be expected. Many restaurants in the area to eat at. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glh1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn Presque Isle. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy breakfast! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Checked in at 4:30 only to be told my room was not ready. Since the surrounding area was rough (trailer parks and a biker bar) I planted myself in the lobby. At 5:30, guests were still being told rooms were not ready. Carpets are worn and rumpled, elevator was dirty. Room smelled like remnants of last night's dinner. AC unit rattled horribly. I asked for a shuttle to return a rental car and was told it would be a 30 minute wait. 90 minutes later it finally showed up. Hot water was at a minimum in the shower. Several loud families in the lobby and up and down the hall outside my room. Tried to print boarding passes but the printer was out of ink. I informed the front desk and got an apology but no attempt to fix the situation. When I checked out, I woke up the front desk clerk. Overall, not a good experience. There are other nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edukate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer a tremendous experience for our guests in the future. We hope that you will stay with us in the future, allowing us the opportunity to provide you with excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here the night before I took my nursing boards. The attraction was it was 4 doors down from the testing center. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the pool was wonderful. Only down side was the breakfast. The line for waffles was never ending, making it impossible for me to cook one. And i couldn't find any bacon or sausage. While this is not a deal breaker, it was a bit disappointing. I'm not going to deduct points off for this. Stuff happens and it is life.

it is also close to the beach and Presque Isle State Park.

I will definitely stay here again as Todd and Cindy give such excellent customer service, you want to come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaFair101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
It is a pleasure to hear you were able to relax prior to taking your nursing boards. We hope to have you stay with us in the future, so that we may provide you with excellent service again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at the Comfort Inn on West 12th Street in Erie many times. It is an extremely convenient place to overnight for people wishing to visit Presque Isle State Park and the attractions west of the city. We have always found this motel comfortable and have appreciated the breakfast offerings. The rates are a bargain during the offseason!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn Presque Isle. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others, as well as recommending our facility for others to stay at. We look forward to seeing you again soon so that we may provide you with terrific service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lake Erie
3.2 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
848 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 3041 W 12th St, Erie, PA 16505-3856 (Formerly Hampton Inn Erie - North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing