We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel stay ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Inn Downtown
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel stay ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Reserved room at this inn for 1 night. Driving up to the office the property looked like it needed a
face lift and total remodel. The room smelled bad, the carpet looked like it was not vacuumed in the corners, air conditioner sounded like a jet. The bathroom had mold on the tile and the toilet
had a leak which caused it to run. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    9
    10
    45
See reviews for
19
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Parking lot and stairs dirty but room ok. Close to theater downtown. No breakfast in am. No coffee until later but one block from McDonald's. Air conditioning fine. Quiet and on Sunday morning heard church bells. But for $89 we expected more value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goodetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Don't Ever Stay Here, This Place Does Not Need A Makeover It Needs Razed!!!! AC Smelled Bad, And Sounded Like A Jet Engine, No Water In Pool . I would Not Use Shower Dirty,dirty,dirty! Yuck!!!! Noise Outside All Night...Very Scary!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louiesmom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Cockroachs!! And stained sheets! And nasty people just staring you up and down. was scared for my belongings. And the pool looked like a toilet. Dont ever ever stay here. Nasty nasty nasty.....................................................

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If I could give it less stars I would. My boyfriend and I honestly did not even last 20 mintues. We went to Erie on a quick weekend trip and picked this place because of the cheap rates. When we arrived for check-in at 2, we were greeted by a very kind lady behind the counter who explained to me they were "renovating". The facade of the hotel was falling apart dilapidated, railings lose, stairs crumbling, the pool resembled a swamp. There were people on the second floor who seemed to be live in residents. We received our first room, Room 235.

Our reservation was for a queen bed non smoking room for one night. When I entered the room I was hit with the smell of an ash tray.I tried to turn the light on using the switch, but it did not work.I waited for my boyfriend before I ventured any further than the door way. We both ventured to check out the bathroom and there was BLACK MOLD in the tub as well as rust and peeling paint.

I went back down to the office. (Careful on the stairs they are crumbling and the railings are lose and rusting make sure you are up to date on your tetanus shot). We kindly asked for a clean non smoking room. Again the very kind woman behind the counter changed our room and apologized that they had not cleaned that room yet. We went to our new room, room 240. This room looked slightly nicer from the outside and by slight I mean not at all. We entered the room and again it smelled musty, moldy, and smokey. The paint was peeling off the walls the lights would not work, again. The bathroom was just as dirty as the first. I told my boyfriend that we had paid for the night and we can't back out now. My boyfriend decided to pee while I was on the phone in a slight panic with my mother. I turned around and our dead bolt was broken.there were cables coming out of the wall, vomit on the door and something chunky in the peep hole. At which point an "Oh sh**" came from the bathroom., the toilet was nearly over flowing. That was it.

Didn't even bother to unload the truck. We went right back down to the office. There was no one at the front desk. Another poor patron walked in behind us and I told her to go in front because we were on our second room in the last 10 minutes. Once she was checked in the older man who spoke only 5 words of English I believe finally decided to acknowledged that we were in their tiny dilapidated lobby. I told him that we had been in two rooms in 15 minutes each grosser than the next and that I demanded a refund. Thankfully we got it and left. We ended up staying in the Riverside Inn in Cambridge Springs.

My Best advice, spend the extra money, stay on peach street or a nice bed and breakfast. Nothing is worth the risk of your health, safety or sanity to stay in a cheap hotel. Run don't walk better yet, just don't book.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the event we were attending. Unfortunately I prepaid using an online booking. I had to use my shoulder to push my way into the room. The room was old and really sketchy looking. We pulled off the top bed spread as it looked 40 years old and disgusting. Underneath were thin blankets with stains on them. Better yet, under the blankets were sheets with what looked like blood stains on one bed and some kind of yellow stains on the other bed. I had to kill ants that were crawling in the bathroom. We stayed only because we prepaid and survived the night but got out as soon as we could the next morning. When I checked out I expressed my displeasure to the front desk (owner I believe) he just stood there with a dumb smile on his face, like I have your money and don't care. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Whatever you do find another hotel. We showed up and were stared at by a bunch of people on the balcony that looked like they lived there. There were mattresses and everything thrown by the dumpsters. They were filling the pool with a garden hose. Then we got to our room and it stunk sooo bad. The room was filthy and the beds smelled. We didn't even stay there a half hour before we checked out and went somewhere else. Definitely WOULD NOT recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erie
1.0 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
5.3 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Harborcreek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn Downtown

Property: Western Inn Downtown
Address: 205 W 10th St, Erie, PA 16501-1411 (Formerly Knights Inn Erie Downtown)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Western Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Erie Downtown Hotel Erie
Erie Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing