We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very overpriced for a mini cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview on the Lake
Ranked #3 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Kaplan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very overpriced for a mini cottage”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The size of the mini cottage is VERY "mini", about 12 x 14-16, which is how it is advertised but found it to be very pricey for such a small room. The pictures on the homepage are exactly what you see when you drive up and does have a beautiful view. The outside has been updated and have very nice chairs on the small porch. The inside of the cabin has very dark paneling and dated back to the 60-70s. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very tiny and the lavatory had hair in it like it had not been cleaned.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Donna,

sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We tell everyone that the Mini-cottages are very tiny - ie no dancing room - but most people love them. I wish you had addressed any concerns you had with us so we could have tried to make your stay more enjoyable. Thanks for staying with us anyway. Perhaps you should have chosen one of our larger cottages or suites. The rooms and all other units are larger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    16
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at lakeview on the lake. Highly recommended. We stayed in one of the motel rooms. The decoration was all wooden and very rustic. Small attention to detail like a proper sized hairdryer and lovely hand made soap made it all the more special. Watching the sunset from the grounds overlooking the lake was beautiful! Thank you for a lovely time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Trying to describe LakeView is very challenging because each person that stays there is liable to have an entirely different set of preferences. Whatever they all might be, there’s probably a perfect place for them at LakeView.
I stayed in one of their historic old-style motel rooms. Room 10 was in the middle and was quite comfortable. New plumbing fixtures, flat screen TV, mini-frig, microwave and coffee maker kept me quite content. Wi-Fi in all their buildings was working fine, so I could have stayed there for days and been happy as a clam. Plus, I particularly love being able to walk right out my door and have my car parked immediately adjacent to my room.
For some others with different room preferences, they have single stand-alone mini cottages, romantic suites, a Beach Glass bungalow, Annie’s Retreat with great room and full kitchen, and a brand new three-bedroom home with terrific porch overlooking the lake. They’ve even got a full-sized Airstream trailer you can rent for the night. Take your pick, you’ll be quite comfortable.
This property sits on a bluff, overlooking Lake Erie and is one of the world’s best places to see beautiful sunsets. Be sure to watch your time and try to be outside as the sun sets over the western edge of Lake Erie…chances are your time will be awesomely worthwhile.

Room Tip: I stayed in motel room #10, conveniently located right next to my car. Walls were a tad thin, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWriterDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for the kind words. We enjoyed meeting you, and are happy you enjoyed our little piece of paradise on Lake Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We recently moved to Pittsburgh from England and decided to visit Erie and stay overnight somewhere. When looking at where to stay I wanted something with a lake view and this little gem of a place really does! A quaint little place, very we'll kept, peaceful, and the views are spectacular! There's a heated swimming pool, seats, picnic benches, grills, and a little private beach. We sat and watched the sunset with a couple of beers and a blanket before getting a good nights sleep in our cosy mini cottage. Kelly and Demaris were both friendly and welcoming hosts which is always refreshing. We'll certainly be looking at booking a few more nights there in the Summer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the thoughts, and enjoyed your visit, and hope it is the first of a lifetime of trips to our little piece of paradise on Lake Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our second stay at Lakeview on the Lake and we love this place ! The first time was during the summer and we stayed in a comfy, well-appointed motel room. This past weekend we opted for the romantic suite and were amazed by the amenities including: two flat screen televisions with a wide variety of channels, a separate living room area, spacious bathroom, very comfortable chair to watch television in the bedroom area, and a cool kitchenette area. The kitchen was a plus due to my wife's food allergies, it gave us peace of mind knowing we could cook our own food and there wasn't a chance of her getting sick. The interior of the romantic suite is warm and filled with beautiful wood giving you a "cabin in the woods" feeling but is so well insulated you feel cozy and comfortable. Kelly and Demaris are really wonderful people and do everything they can to make sure your stay is a satisfying one. They both took the time to let us know of parks, stores, etc. during our stay. My wife and I cannot wait to come back a third time in the summer !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elliott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. Guests such as you and your wife are what makes our life at Lakeview so great. See you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, pa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We love this place. Second time here. Clean rooms, quaint atmosphere. Awesome lake views and access to the lake via a LONG staircase down the bank leading to a hidden beach makes it a cool fun place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyerboyleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Airy
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at Lakeview. Stunning views, beautiful grounds, and the cabin was cozy the bed was comfortable, and the cabin was very clean. I felt safe and it felt like home. Kelly and Demaris the owners, are wonderful and went beyond helpful for what one would expect. I had a great time, thanks I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We hope you visit us again on your next trip this way. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
10.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
11.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
13.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview on the Lake

Property: Lakeview on the Lake
Address: 8696 E Lake Rd, Erie, PA 16511-1622
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeview on the Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway or relaxing family vacation? Lakeview on the Lake offers a variety of clean comfortable rooms, mini-cottages, and suites. We are the only resort in Pennsylvania located on the shoreline of Lake Erie. Only 10 miles east of Erie in the heart of wine country, the smell of grape vineyards can be intoxicating. Many of our guests have been coming here for years, the serenity of our eight acres is what keeps them coming back. Descend the grand staircase and walk along the shoreline, take a dip in our outdoor heated pool, play badminton, bocce, volleyball, or simply relax and unwind in our Adirondack chairs as you enjoy the spectacular sunsets. Fresh lake air and peaceful surroundings are sure to restore and revive your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lakeview on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview On The Lake Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing