We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really just an okay/average HI Express with minor issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I recently completed a 1 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Erie, PA while in town on business. This HI Express is located right off of the highway and is close to a number of major restaurants and businesses, so the location is quite good.
I think my overall impression of the hotel is split between good points and bad points. On the positive side, my check-in went very smooth (although I was not recognized as a Platinum IHG Rewards member), and I was given my room key quickly. It should be noted that there are no king-size bed rooms at this property. Every room is a little mini-suite. Mine had a separate bedroom with two beds and a mini kitchen which I didn't use. Overall the room was quite spacious. My issues with the room was that there was a pronounced odor in the room. It is nothing particular, just the smell of an old hotel room that might have once been a smoking room. It smelled stale, and moldy, and kind of gross. Also, the furnishings have seen better days with lots of chips, cracks, and stains.
On the positive side, I found the bed and pillow quite comfortable, and the free wi-fi was very fast and easy to use.
In the morning, I think my biggest disappointment was the free breakfast. I've stayed at tons of HI Express hotels so I knew what to expect, but this hotel was lacking the basics. There was no toast or English muffins. No yogurt or oatmeal. Just very suspicious eggs and sausage, and some cheap sugary cereals. I was terribly dissapointed and wound up walking two doors down to Bob Evans for a quick breakfast.
I've stayed at other hotels in this section of Erie before, and for the money, I feel this HI Express just doesn't stack up against the Hampton Inn or Hilton Garden Inn when staying for business. If you're there with a family for the water park, then this might be a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChewInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Rusttribe,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our location. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations with the room cleanliness and the breakfast. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

This HIE is one of the better HIE motels we've stayed in. It was clean, quiet, and pretty busy. There is an indoor water park connected to the property, which draws families .. especially on weekends. The breakfast is, as in other HIE properties, free and of good quality, but it just like the breakfasts at other HIEs. If you frequently use this motel chain, the breakfasts can get a little boring, but it is consistent.

This location also has a pool and excercise room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarlanD505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear HarlanD505,

We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel during your travels, and appreciate your comments, I have passed this review on to my management team and staff. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Hotel room was ok, t but the sofa was old & not very clean , made sure that we did not walk barefooted the bathroom could have used some improvements especially the shower did not work properly it kept sliding down; But what was pretty bad was the breakfast the only fresh fruit were bananas. & that surprised me because most hotels we have stayed in, the breakfast had a lot of different foods. There was a machine that make pancakes but they tasted rubbery . The staff at the front desk were very friendly, but I don't think that we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Maria G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our staff always goes out of their way to be helpful and attentive to the guests and we are glad that you enjoyed their hospitality. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the room cleanliness and the breakfast. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The benefit of this hotel was the access to the waterpark. This was very convenient! However, the hotel is very out dated. I've stayed at many Holiday Inn Express locations and this was definitely was the worst. Carpets were extremely dirty and stained, the washrooms are old, bathtubs are stained, the beds were extremely uncomfortable. Although the cleaning staff made effort to clean the rooms as good as they could despite the condition. I believe the matresses have never been changed. I was disappointed as my family expected a comfortable stay and instead were watching every corner of the room from the first impression. After 9pm there is nothing to do in the area expect eat. There is no entertainment for the family who stays up past 9pm. Forget the breakfast...no taste....we went out every morning and bought our meal. The front desk staff was not very helpful under stress...it was Labour Day lond weekend and they just didnt know what to do with all the complaints and questions they were receiving. I never like to write bad reviews but I have to let people know what to expect...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylife1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Mylife1971,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if your stay was negatively affected by the cleanliness of your room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

water park was amazing 5 kids had no complaints ... room (suite) was basic and average, 4 plates no utensils and 4 plastic cups oh well not planning on hanging out in room anyhow..staff were polite and friendly breakfast was nice good selection....299 for a night 7 people 6 passes to waterpark and breakfast ..just dont think its a 5 star and you will enjoy yourself.......

Room Tip: we went with 2 adults and 5 kids 11 to 15 had a suite , two pullout sofa beds (nasty) and two double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear sshand1,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location and the fact that is connected to a water park was very good.
Room carpet was all stained. Same with sofa bed.
Bathtub looked old and needs updating.
Breakfast was just an average. Nothing special.

Room Tip: Overpriced, overpriced especially if you take water passes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridemebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Ridemebaby,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are deeply sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you have encountered which affected your stay negatively. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We rented the suite with another family, it had pleanty of space for the 8 of us (4 adults, 4 kids), however when we first got to our room and were unpacking we noticed that the kitchen was very poorly equiped - only had 4 plates, no forks or knives, no bowls, no glasses or mugs and no cooking utensils. We spoke with the front desk who then fairly quickly brought us enough cutlery and plates, etc. However still no cooking utensils and no lids that fit the pots. I would advise the hotel that if they are going to rent a suite that it should be a properly stocked kitchen, with at least the bare essentials like a knife to cut food with. The washrooms were very clean, the suite has 2 washrooms, one with a jetted tub. Overall our stay was good, I would stay at this hotel again. It was attached to Splash Lagoon so you could walk entirely inside in your bathing suits - that was very nice. Many, many restaurants closeby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Erin S,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
16 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Erie
Residence Inn Erie
#23 of 38 in Erie
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: £76 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing