We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a big family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for a big family!”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have four children, ages 10-14, and it's always a challenge to find reasonably priced, adequate accommodations. We were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. The room has two queen beds and two sofa beds, an efficiency kitchen, and plenty of room for people (and their belongings!) to spread out. It was only a three-minute walk to the Splash Lagoon water park through warm hotel hallways--perfect! Only a few negatives: a whirlpool tub sits in the corner of the living room area, which seemed a bit odd, and the bathroom was not entirely clean when we arrived, though housekeeping came right away when we phoned and management was very apologetic. The space was really dimly lit, and the gas fireplace wasn't functioning, though we didn't call about this. Overall, these details didn't matter--we had the space we needed, the convenient location we'd hoped for, and a sweet time away with our family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 004_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Rosie,

We appreciate your comments, however we are saddened that all did not meet your expections, I have forwarded your comments to our housekeeping team for them to improve in that area. We hope that when you are in Erie, PA that you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    119
    44
    35
    22
See reviews for
208
41
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and 4 year old stayed one night for splash lagoon. We got the kids suite. My boy absolutely loved his area in the room. He loved the face he had his own TV, and DVD player. He loved the whirlpool tub as well. We are not very picky people since all we need is a place to sleep since we don't really enjoy hanging out in a hotel room. It was a bit dirty but not much to complain about. We got their fairly early and they let us check in early which was fantastic. We got to change and enjoy the water park right away. The kid suite was very nice since the adults could have some alone time. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bufbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Bufbandit,

It was a pleasure to have your family here at the Holiday Inn Express in Erie, PA. We are glad you had a great time, however are disappointed the room was not as clean as it could have been, I have expressed your concerns with the housekeeping team for them to improve in that area, and again we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was the second time I stayed at this Holiday Inn, which is attached to the Splash lagoon water park. My kids like the "kids Suite"- which is kind of a room within a room. It has a bunkbed, a desk, dresser and TV all in a private space in the room (separated by a wall and curtain). The room was also equipped with mini kitchen (sink, microwave, fridge) and large jacuzzi tub. The tub is big enough for "large" adults , or for more than one child to get a bath at once.
The hotel also offers the Holiday Inn express breakfast. I would like to have been able to get coffee or tea at other hours of the day, though.
We had a few issues with our room in terms of cleanliness and general attention to detail by housekeeping. The next time we go to Splash Lagoon we will probably try one of the other attached hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear jwsmith66,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last April when traveling with my parents. The hotel is in a good location for shopping and restaurants. The breakfast is good, a Holiday Inn Express standard. However I had the worst sleep ever. I booked a room with a King bed and pull out sofa, because I thought it would be nice for my parents to have a King bed, and I didn't think a sofa bed would be so bad. It was! If this hotel is looking to do renovations or get new furniture within the near future, please make getting new pull-outs a top priority. Other than that, it was a fine hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear mrswhale,

Thank you for the sharing your experience with us. I’m very pleased to hear that you appreciated our convenient location and enjoyed breakfast. We set out to make every one of guests as comfortable as possible. It is unfortunate the conditions of the sofa bed prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and suggestion, and we hope you'll give us another chance next time you're in town.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we stop here on all our trips home from visiting family in the United States. It located close to some great restaurants and to I90. The staff is always friendly and helpful. I found it interesting because we had a suite and each TV had a different set of channels so it was a little difficult finding programs even with the TV station list from the front desk. It matched one of the TVs but not the other one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011taurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear 2011taurus,
Thank you for your review we know there are alot of choices in this area and we are glad you chose us, we are sorry about the inconvience of the TV's as we were at that time changing over to HD service and a few TV's were missed, rest assured we have them all fixed and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I recently completed a 1 night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Erie, PA while in town on business. This HI Express is located right off of the highway and is close to a number of major restaurants and businesses, so the location is quite good.
I think my overall impression of the hotel is split between good points and bad points. On the positive side, my check-in went very smooth (although I was not recognized as a Platinum IHG Rewards member), and I was given my room key quickly. It should be noted that there are no king-size bed rooms at this property. Every room is a little mini-suite. Mine had a separate bedroom with two beds and a mini kitchen which I didn't use. Overall the room was quite spacious. My issues with the room was that there was a pronounced odor in the room. It is nothing particular, just the smell of an old hotel room that might have once been a smoking room. It smelled stale, and moldy, and kind of gross. Also, the furnishings have seen better days with lots of chips, cracks, and stains.
On the positive side, I found the bed and pillow quite comfortable, and the free wi-fi was very fast and easy to use.
In the morning, I think my biggest disappointment was the free breakfast. I've stayed at tons of HI Express hotels so I knew what to expect, but this hotel was lacking the basics. There was no toast or English muffins. No yogurt or oatmeal. Just very suspicious eggs and sausage, and some cheap sugary cereals. I was terribly dissapointed and wound up walking two doors down to Bob Evans for a quick breakfast.
I've stayed at other hotels in this section of Erie before, and for the money, I feel this HI Express just doesn't stack up against the Hampton Inn or Hilton Garden Inn when staying for business. If you're there with a family for the water park, then this might be a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChewInRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Rusttribe,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with our location. Please accept our apologies that we fell short of your expectations with the room cleanliness and the breakfast. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This HIE is one of the better HIE motels we've stayed in. It was clean, quiet, and pretty busy. There is an indoor water park connected to the property, which draws families .. especially on weekends. The breakfast is, as in other HIE properties, free and of good quality, but it just like the breakfasts at other HIEs. If you frequently use this motel chain, the breakfasts can get a little boring, but it is consistent.

This location also has a pool and excercise room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarlanD505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear HarlanD505,

We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel during your travels, and appreciate your comments, I have passed this review on to my management team and staff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing