We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Fergus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value and Customer Service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Our second time at this location .....the front desk took care of noise in our room by moving us to quieter room on another floor. This is amazing price that includes the water park , breakfast and the room. There also many great dinner options in the area as well

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    115
    44
    35
    22
See reviews for
207
39
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was a bit hesitant about this hotel after reading numerous mixed reviews on several websites, but we really needed a suite, traveling with a preschooler and a baby, and our choices were limited on short notice. We were able to reserve a Kids Suite and we were really pleased with it. Others have mentioned dirty rooms but our room was very clean. Everything was as described, and I didn't have a problem with my 6 month old crawling around. The Kids Suite was great with bunk beds, it's own TV and a little kids sized table with 2 small chairs. Our 3 year old loved it. The only down side was that the one wall does not go all the way to the ceiling, so he was able to see the light from the main room and hear noise coming from our area. This made it a bit tough with a baby who still wakes during the night to eat.

Our bed was extremely comfortable and we had plenty of room to move around and set up a pack n play for the baby to sleep in.

Breakfast is free continental, pretty standard fair, and was fine for us but then I don't expect much out of a free breakfast. There is a Bob Evans in the parking lot if you want something more robust.

There is no onsite pool, I'm assuming because of the connection to Splash Lagoon, but you can use the pools at the Comfort Inn and Residence Inn, both in walking distance in the parking lot.

My husband also commented on the fact that the doors to the rooms closed very quietly. With all the kids and families running around we heard little noise in the evenings and never heard a door slam. This was huge for us. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked through hotel.com and got a deal for the suite. It was very clean and comfortable. There was a full kitchen that we were able to use and relax in the livingroom, away from the bedroom area.
The continental breakfast was wonderful. Lots of choices and 2 stations for the guests to go to instead of waiting for items.

It is easy to get to, as it is right off the highway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sportsgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I booked executive suite for one night, first we had a problem to get inside our room because the door handle is broken, second the first part of room with fire place have a smell ..., what is giving to my son asthma attack ... I have to make him stay in the second room with the beds but he can't watch all the tv stations because HBO's station are missing on bedroom tv, after calling frond desk and found out the hotel have not manager on stuff it is run by clerks ....these clerks are not train how to deal with customers!!!!!
Simple I never get what I paid for .... Stinky room with lot of dust and no customer service.....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bllava0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Bllava0069,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We certainly work very hard to ensure our guests receive the very best service we can provide each and every day. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. Rest assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to make your next stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked an executive suite here for 6 nights while visiting family in Erie so that we could have a separate room for our not-quite-yet 2 year old child. These are the reasons why we won't stay here again:

1. There was a delay with checking in. They apparently had to change our room but couldn't because the computer system was telling them the room was overbooked. The woman checking us in was very nice but she couldn't figure the problem out. She had to get her supervisor who had to bring it to another person who was finally able to make it work. A computer glitch that resulted in 15-20 extra minutes of standing around to wait.

2. There was garbage in our room! The closet had a large bag of fast food trash and an empty box of donuts.

3. Shabby. The couch and chair in the living room area were worn down and extremely dirty with oil stains and some kind of white smudges. The carpet also had several stains and worn out areas.

4. The kitchen was poorly supplied. It was adequate for us because we didn't eat too many meals there but they only had one pot and one pan without any cooking or serving utensils or a colander so you wouldn't even be able to make a simple past dinner.

5. The exercise room was one of the worst I've seen. There were 2 stair machines (not ellipticals) and 2 treadmills that seemed to be at least 15 years old. And I couldn't get 2 out of 3 of them to work. Also, this is not a big deal but a little strange: employees kept coming in to get a drink of water. Do they not have an employee lounge?

6. Housekeeping failed to address our request for morning service. We didn't get service our second day because they were about to start cleaning our room when we came back from the beach. But we made sure to call early the next morning to explain that we needed an early service time because our child naps from 1-3 pm. We even talked to the housekeepers themselves when we saw them cleaning the room across from ours. Yes, they assured us, they got the instructions to get to our room before noon. But when we came back at 12:30, no service. One of the employees overheard our dismay and got us clean towels and promised to speak with management about it.

7. The tub drain stopper was broken when we checked in. Fortunately, they got someone from maintenance to come to our room right away and he was able to fix it.

The only reason I give this place 2 stars instead of one is because a couple of the staff employees went above and beyond and the employees were all generally friendly. But it seems that the management of this place is very poor. Which reminds me of another factor in my poor rating... my spouse sent an email to the general manager the night we checked in to tell him about all the problems we experienced. The manger has yet to respond.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTiger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear BlueTiger28,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Needed a last minute hotel room and booked at this lovely establishment. Was very pleased with all aspects of my stay there. Friendly, accomadating staff. Large, clean rooms. Super comfortable bed. The free, hot breakfast in the morning was delicious. Would definitely return when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had other plans to camp tonight. They fell through, and we called this hotel based on Yelp reviews as we started driving away from teh campsite. The reception that we spoke with on the phone already had our room picked out when we arrived. So sweet and kind.

Laundry facilities were used and worked great. I ignored the don't overload the dryer sign and got what it told me to expect, but that's okay. Room was clean. Wifi worked great. Room was bigger than I expected. Did not hear any neighbors. I hear there will be breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNADVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
1.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#19 of 38 in Erie
188 reviews
6.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Address: 8101 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-4716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing