We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Private, and Convenient”
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glass House Inn
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel was a great pick for a no frills weekend trip to Erie, PA. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and homey. I loved that each room had its own motel style private entrance with parking right outside your door. Rooms are quiet; even though the hotel is located on a main road you can't really hear the traffic from in your room nor can you hear your neighbors through the walls. Staff was friendly and the room was well maintained. Had a small refrigerator and microwave, which was nice. Location was just a couple of minutes away from Presque Isle and about 10 minutes from downtown Erie. Everything was easy to get to. The only thing that I would have changed about the hotel was the breakfast was limited; we were able to fill up but there weren't that many options.

Overall, very pleased with our stay! It was nice to have the character of a small, family owned operation instead of a chain. Will recommend to friends and will stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Hannah! Thanks for your great review, and for supporting a family business. We've been here for decades, and it's guests like you that help us stick around. We'll definitely keep your comments about the breakfast in mind, and we hope you'll stay with us again next time you visit Erie. We look forward to seeing you!

Best,
Tim & Laura, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The motel is decorated in 50s style, right down to the plates and cups at breakfast. I saw things that remind me of my mother. The Glass House Inn is on a busy road, but had double windows at the front and a small bathroom window at the back which opens. It was clean and comfortable, although I could see a few places the vacuum cleaner didn't always cover.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AliC2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much! As a family-owned establishment that's been in business since 1957, we're not surprised you felt so nostalgic here. We get that a lot, but that's what we're going for, so we're happy to hear you felt that way.

We're also happy that you were comfortable here, and we'll certainly take your small piece of constructive feedback to heart. Though we see you're based in Sydney, if you should find yourself back in Erie, we hope you'll pay us another visit. We'd be happy to host you again!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A step back in time to the classic Route 20 motels that used to be everywhere. This one has survived in fine shape and is far enough away from the interstate to be quiet. Loved the period tile in the bathroom. Great maintenance, cleanliness, and friendly staff have let this motel stay attractive and affordable and not gone downhill as so many others. If you want new, it's not for you. But if you appreciate classic, you're in for a great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unclejohn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We're so glad to hear you appreciated our place! We've been family-owned since 1957 and we haven't changed much since then, so "classic" is definitely the right word for it, we'd say. We're especially glad you were so happy with our service, and we look forward to hosting you again!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a cool little 50s-style motel in Erie, Pa. If you want fancy rooms, plush beds, room service, etc. then you are probably not the type of person who can understand the absolute coolness of this motel. The owners and staff are super nice and the rooms are clean, hip and fun. Like I said, if you want the fancy Grand Hiatt type lodging, then go to a big chain hotel in some convention center, but if you want a cool little place like the one your grandparents visited in the 50s and 60s, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: If you're checking in late, call the office before 10:00 PM to get your room number. These are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Very good help from Bri at the desk. Neat and clean room #31. Had recliner, bed, desk ,table and two chairs and real closet. Microwave , refrigeration, coffee maker, hair dryer. and tv. Bench outside to have a smoke.

I generated a lot of paper trash , since I was cleaning out old papers and memorabilia. And they took care of it.

I like being able to park right in front of my room and walk in with bags.

I was glad to have coffee and a bite to eat before heading out.

Definately you will get personalized service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andorian1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed for one night, 2/23, and found the hotel as expected - wonderful. We often stop here on our way to and from Cleveland. Front desk always hospitable. Although on a busy street, we never hear the traffic. Not far from good restaurants for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My 3rd visit! Charming cute motel! The rooms are lovely, stayed in King room this time! Stayed at large hotel last October only because we could not get a room here! Much prefer The Glass House! Staff warm and friendly, perfect brunch, will be back!, thanks so much!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fever2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
883 reviews
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
4.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 38 in Erie
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Address: 3202 W 26th St, Erie, PA 16506-2591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing