We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glass House Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely 1950's motel. Clean and tidy and excellent value for money. Close to restaurants and friendly staff. Great place to stay on the way to your destination. We stayed in room 34. Able to park car right outside our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona65031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We're happy we were able to make your stay so comfortable, Fiona! Thanks for leaving this great review. If you ever find yourselves back in our neighborhood, we'd love to host you again!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    209
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
204
236
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We found the Glass House Inn, when I was searching for a place to stay in Erie, PA. It really had good reviews, and the pictures looked nice. If you are looking for a quaint little Inn, that reminds you of almost staying at a bed and breakfast, this is the place. My husband and I stayed in # 34 a Deluxe King. It was very clean, nicely arranged and decorated. We really like that you can park right outside your door. This Inn is located right on a main road, but with the door closed you don't hear the traffic at all. The breakfast isn't anything fancy, cereal, toast, bagels, danishes, juice and coffee. Enough to get you started, but if you want more there are other eating places close by. The staff was nice, needed to know directions and she looked it up to make sure. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Room #34 Deluxe King...Very Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrLeLzEl109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We're so glad you were happy with your stay with us! We're always more than willing to do whatever our guests need to make their visit to Erie more comfortable, and we're glad we were able to do that for you too. I hope you'll stay with us again next time you visit Erie!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler,PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while passing through, it's a very nice and small hotel. Its a motel like atmosphere conveniently located, but not on the "main drag" check in and out was easy and it was affordable. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We're definitely a homey kind of place, so it's great to hear you felt at home. If you're ever back in Erie, we'd love to host you again!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a very miserable young woman deal with us. Cold and not welcoming at all.
Toilet not working. Smoke detector broken and hanging. Window opener broken. More besides.
The lack of interest in us and our problems was alarming.
Poor. Would never stay again. No way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller3333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We're very disappointed and surprised to read this review. First, you should only expect courteous and polite service from our entire staff, and if you did not, then we apologize. However, we find it hard to believe that no one was willing to help with the complaints about your room, especially such a major issue as a broken toilet. Did you happen to mention your concerns to one of our staff? We would have been happy to do our best to make things right.

All that said, we did inspect the room closely after reading this review and didn't find any problems with the toilet. The smoke detector was also working, though it was slightly loose from its bracket. It has now been refastened. The room had new carpets installed last week and the bathroom was freshly wallpapered and painted.

Despite all this, we want all our guests to have a comfortable, headache-free stay with us, and again, we're sorry if you did not.

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff was very nice and helpful, and they gave good advice. The breakfast is not the best, but it would take off the hunger if you like pastries, cereal, fruit, and toast. Coffee of course!

Room Tip: The stay was clean and not very expensive if booked online prior. I had to add a night, and it was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chynah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We're so glad to hear you were so happy with your stay with us, Chynah! We were happy to be your hosts for your trip to Erie, and we always do our best to offer friendly and helpful info to all our guests. It's great to hear you enjoyed it! Here's hoping you think of us next time you visit our city!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was passing through as a party of one, from Ohio to Montreal. As I was coming after work and departing for early mass, I did not meet any of the staff in person (I stayed during closed office hours). They accommodated perfectly to what I needed. There were no rooms for one available, so I received a room with three twin beds with no additional charge. There was a warm welcome note waiting for me, and all contact on the phone was clear and personable. If ever I come through Erie, this will be my first choice of stay.

On the return trip, I stayed at a downtown hotel and had a sketchy experience; Glass House Inn side of town is definitely safer and maybe 7 minutes away from downtown. I recommend here. A friend told me Microtel is also a good location. Safe and enjoyable traveling!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We're glad you had such a great stay with us! We were more than happy to accommodate you -- our guests' comfort is our top priority. Sorry we didn't get a chance to meet in person, but maybe we will next time you visit. Hope we see you soon!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here during a fishing trip to Presque Isle Bay, Erie, PA. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, we had two large bass boats and they allowed us to park next to the pool area without unhooking our boats and use the pool house to plug in our electric cords so we could charge our batteries on our boats each night. The staff was very friendly, always asking if we needed anything and giving us suggestions on dining places. The continental breakfast was available every morning with a good variety of food. Location close to Presque Isle state park. Great place to stay for fishing trip or just time away from home. The only thing I would have to say on the negative side, is upon exiting the parking lot, there is a row of hedges that makes it a little tricky to see on coming traffic. Looking forward to next years trip and very high odds of booking here for our place to stay. Thanks for the hospitality. Danny D., B'ville, WV

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We were more than happy to offer you our hospitality, Danny! We always try to do our best to make our guests' visits go as smoothly as possible, whether that means providing places to charge your boats or pointing our great places to eat. Glad you were happy with the result! We'll definitely keep your feedback about the hedge in mind. We're looking forward to your next trip as much as you are! It'll be great to have you back. Thanks again!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Property: Glass House Inn
Address: 3202 W 26th St, Erie, PA 16506-2591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing