We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place. A different venue.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glass House Inn
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice place. A different venue.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I enjoyed my one-night stay here. Like the other reviews say, the beds are super comfortable. This place is what you expect.....don't expect more. Some of the reviews I read compared them to the big chain hotels, you can't do that. This is a 50s style MOTEL that has the added touch of tender love & care that you can't get from the big chains. CLEAN !!!! Friendly. Nice continental breakfast (yummy glazed rolls). I asked for directions from the staff and had no problems finding the place....this is their home, they know Erie. As for people commenting about things not being "updated"....that's the WHOLE point....a nice place to stay, through a little time warp. My wife's only complaint was......she'd like a shelf in the bathroom. :-) Keep up the fine work. We didn't get a chance to use the pool, but it sure looked refreshing. GO INDIANS !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We're both really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Rich. It sounds like you really understand what we're all about, which is to be a great, traditional, classic American motel. Thanks a lot for all your kind words -- we were more than happy to help you out however we could, and we'd be thrilled to host you again next time you're in town!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    208
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
203
235
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dellroy, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a surprise to find a place like this. Down home atmosphere and comfort. Staff is super friendly and willing to help. Rooms are neat, tidy and, above all, clean. Continental breakfast is served but it's good stuff not just a bunch of donuts.. Owners Tim and Laura are a real treat. Very courteous. Maybe 4 to 5 minutes to Presque Isle. Not that far and an easy drive. We were extremely pleased and will definitely stay there again when in the area. For-go the big box joints and book your stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks so much for this great endorsement, Ted! You covered all the bases here, and we truly appreciate it. We really do our best to differentiate ourselves from bigger chain hotels, and it's great to hear that you think it's been a success.

We can't wait to be your hosts again next time you're in Erie. Here's hoping it's soon!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Laura,Tim and their staff very welcoming. They gave us great recommendations for restaurants, friendly service that went above and beyond anything I have received in the big chain hotels. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The fridge and microwave came in handy for the leftovers we had from dinner. Tim even gave me plates to use for reheating my food!! My husband and I will definatly be returning whenever we stay in Erie.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devakay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us so much! As a small, family business, personalized service is one of the advantages we have over bigger hotels, and we're glad that made the difference for you. It was no trouble at all to recommend things to see and do here in Erie -- we love our hometown, and we love showing it off to our guests. Thanks again for this great review -- we look forward to hosting you again next time you're up this way!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the last stop on a long road trip. When we changed our plans and decided to stay here, we couldn't have imagined how great this place was! I've traveled a ton and this is the only bed that matched the comfort of my own! The decor was so sweet and simple and the staff very knowledgable and attentive. We only stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed more. If I'm ever in the Erie region again, I will not hesitate to book here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, Sarah! We're so pleased we were able to make your stay in Erie such a comfortable and welcoming one. A person's own bed is usually as comfortable as it gets, so hearing ours matched up is pretty high praise!

All in all, we're really glad you decided to stay with us, and next time you're in Erie, we look forward to hosting you again.

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at this motel. The room was very clean...the bed was very comfortable. ..the continental breakfast offered a wide variety and filling breakfast. We highly recommend this place to stay and plan to return ourselves.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It's wonderful to hear that you had such a great time with us, Pamela. You really hit all our high points, and we're thrilled you enjoyed your mini vacation here so much. Next time you visit Erie, we'd be more than happy to host you again -- we really look forward to it, and we hope we'll be seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What I loved most about the Glass House Inn was the quaint atmosphere and the friendly staff. When I stayed here with my girlfriends on a weekend getaway we instantly felt welcomed. The staff really took interest in our travels and in our needs.

The room itself was cozy and was plenty spacious for the three of us. We enjoyed that it was decorated in a colonial style that suited the overall theme of the motel. It was very nice to have a small frig, microwave, and coffee pot. The room was very tidy (we stayed the long weekend for three nights) and they came in daily to clean.

Location of this motel is ideal if you have any interest in Presque Isle State Park (the beaches/trails), but it's also easy to head downtown to the Bayfront and to all the fun bars and restaurants. You can enjoy a little bit of everything.

As I mentioned, I was really impressed by the staff specifically-when we asked for directions to the beaches, the owners provided detailed notes on getting there (which was so simple). They didn't stop there-rather suggested things to do and see while we were in town. We really had a chance to enjoy Erie to it's fullest. They were so detailed they even checked times for the sunsets and found a great comedy club for us to go to.

I will suggest this place to all my friends looking for a fun getaway! See for yourself!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We really try to present a cozy, homey, welcoming environment, Brit, and we're so glad to hear you and your friends loved it so much here!

It was no trouble at all for us to recommend places to go and things to see -- we want every visitor to our city to have a great time, and we're so thrilled to know that you all enjoyed your trip so much. It's even better to know that we were able to make it that much better. Thank you for staying with us, and for leaving us this great review -- we truly appreciate it!

Next time you and your girlfriends are looking for a weekend getaway, we hope you'll come stay with us again. There's always more to do and see in this town!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed overnight at this little drive-up motel-style hotel. We were not impressed and should have spent the money on a chain hotel. Based on the exterior, we thought we were in luck, but the interior was not as well kept. The decor wasn't just very dated, but poorly maintained. It was supposed to be a non-smoking room, but the air was extremely stale and someone had recently ignored the rule. The bathroom was pink ceramic tile which was cracked all the way across like someone sat on the sink. The shower head was less than 6 feet up the wall. The radiator was peeling and rusting. The toilet had some sort of mystery fluid dried on the lid. The 2 double beds were hard as rocks to sleep on and the headboards weren't attached to the wall. the rattled against the wall every time you shifted in your sleep. The walls were very thin and could actually hear words of the people next door. The office closed at 11:30 pm and breakfast wasn't until 7;30 am. Too late for us to eat as we had to leave earlier. At least the front desk girl was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Kelly, of course we want every guest to have a wonderful stay with us, so it's particularly disappointing to hear you were unable to enjoy yours. Our hotel's charm is in its original '50s touches, like the bathroom tile and fixtures. We're very careful to maintain these vintage aspects, and we determined that the hairline crack you described was no cause for alarm. This concern for the original tiling is also why we cannot replace or move the shower heads, as we would have to completely gut the bathroom to do so. Most of our guests enjoy the classic features of our motel, and we'll continue to maintain and preserve them for posterity.

As for our beds, once again the majority of our guests prefer firm bedding, but we do have softer options available upon request. We're very proud of our solid cherry Thomasville headboards--which are of a much higher quality than the wall-mounted variety. Apologies for the peeling radiator--we do paint those regularly but were unable to do so until now because of this year's lengthy winter requiring us to keep the boilers on. Those will be fixed up again shortly!

Lastly, while we request that our guests do not smoke in our rooms, it is difficult for us to consistently enforce that policy. In events such as yours, we have an ozone machine and air fresheners available to combat the odor. Please accept our apologies for the smell.

Once again, we're sorry that your stay was disappointing, but we appreciate you reaching out to share your experience. We'd love another chance to show you a better time! Please keep us in mind whenever you're traveling in Erie.

Thank you,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.5 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
4.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Property: Glass House Inn
Address: 3202 W 26th St, Erie, PA 16506-2591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing