We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the big chain hotels”
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glass House Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than the big chain hotels”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Glass House Inn last year, and we were so impressed that we returned this year. The inn may look like it's out of the 1950's, but it's up-to-date with all the amenities you'd expect in a larger chain hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped with well-tended flowers. The heated pool is very clean and is kept at a perfect temp for summer swimming. Drive by those big name hotels and give the Glass a House Inn a try. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We're so glad you chose to come back and stay at the Glass House Inn again this year. Thank you for noticing the landscaping! We're so impressed by the beautiful flowers, we decided to highlight them on our Facebook page. The pool has been particularly popular recently thanks to the warm days we've had and we're glad you had a chance to swim. Hopefully we'll see you again next year (or perhaps even sooner!)

Best,
Tim and Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    217
    47
    12
    10
See reviews for
216
253
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stopped here for a night in June while traveling from Chicago to Niagara Falls, and we found the Glass House Inn experience to be wholly agreeable. Even though we arrived for a very late check-in at 11pm, we were greeted with warmth and a smile. The lobby and dining area are charmingly decorated, and the inn has a very cozy, lived-in feel.

The room was spacious and everything was spotlessly clean. My one very small complaint was that one or two pieces of antique furniture in the room had the faintest musty odor, but it really wasn't a problem at all. When you stay here, you feel like guests in somebody's home, rather than just another weary traveler in yet another motel room. So everything -- from the staff to the furniture -- has character :)

In the morning, the breakfast and coffee were excellent, including cereal and delicious pastries. Finally, checkout was a breeze. I honestly wished we could have stayed in Erie longer, since it seemed that a lot of other guests were in town for the great fishing nearby. Hopefully we'll get to return one day and stay again at the wonderful Glass House Inn!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed like excellent choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preppy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. We especially like that you, "feel like a guest in somebody's home," when you stay at the Inn. That warmth and character is what we believe sets us apart from other area hotels and motels. We hope you enjoyed Niagara Falls and the rest of your trip!

Best,
Tim and Laura, Owners

p.s. The fishing in Erie is excellent. Next time, including a trip out on the lake to catch perch would be definitely worth your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaca, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice, comfortable Inn with a good continental breakfast, super clean swimming pool, ample parking, clean rooms, and comfortable beds. The Inn was busy and all the guests we met were courteous. Great location for Waldameer and Water World and Presque Isle and The Tom Ridge Environmental Center.

Room Tip: Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, and all rooms are within easy walking distance of office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you, Jim, for taking the time to highlight all of the things you enjoyed about the Inn! The pool has been especially busy recently and it's great to see so many customers taking advantage of it. It sounds like you had a great experience in Erie, too. We love the Tom Ridge Environmental Center (especially climbing the tower and looking out over the lake). We look forward to you staying here next time you're in town!

Best,
Tim and Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Glass House is an older place, and feels it. The pool is nice, the rooms are clean if a bit dated, and quaint for a night's stay to get away. The bed's a bit stiff to make a week long stay in my opinion, and the AC unit was a little on the loud side, but I'd gladly stay here again when I have business or pleasure in Erie.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you, Ralph, for posting your review! We're glad you enjoyed the "change of pace" from the box hotels. We pride ourselves in our heritage and always love hearing from people who appreciate the quaint, beautiful aspects of the Inn. We hope that you choose to stay here again next time you're in town.

Best,
Tim and Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is an ideally located hotel and reasonabley priced. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. A clean, outdoor, pool was a real bonus too. It worked well for me and my young family.

It is, however, starting to show its age. The beds could use new comforters and blankets, as these were quite worn out. We were also stuck in our room for about 20 minutes when the bolt lock on the door was stuck. The staff cam down and assisted with this immediately. While it offers a continental breakfast, I would suggest skipping it for one of the local restaurants. It was great to be at a no smoking hotel, but having ash trays outside of each room defeated the purpose, especially when the cleaning staff was gathered outside our room smoking around 9:30 a.m.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cwirlstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We're glad that you were able to enjoy the pool, the friendly staff, and benefit from the Inn's proximity to some of the best locations Erie has to offer. That said, we'd like to apologize again about your room's bolt lock. Also, we appreciate feedback like yours about the ashtrays and amenities so that we can try to make things as accommodating for our guests as possible.

Certainly, we would love to have you stay again any time you're in Erie!

Best,
Tim and Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a lovely 50s style motel and a very welcome change from US chain hotels. We arrived quite late so we appreciated the late check-in time. The owners were particularly attentive, taking time out of their no doubt busy morning schedule to give us thoughtful advice (which we took) about where to stay next on our road trip. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast and liked the chance to have a late evening swim in the well maintained pool. A short but very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wisehams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We're glad to hear that you appreciated a break from the chain hotels and enjoyed your stay at the Glass House Inn. It was our pleasure to offer you recommendations about where to stay next on your trip! We're glad to hear you had such a nice, albeit short, visit. If you happen to find yourself back in Erie, we would love to host you again. We'll keep the pool open!

Best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I needed a room at the last minute and we came across this place and we were extremely pleased with everything from the cleanliness to the friendliness of the staff. Would love to come back again. We had a great experience. And the pool was pristine. Loved it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for such the great review, Vanessa! We work very hard to make sure that every visitor to the Inn has a wonderful experience, and reading about your trip made our day. We would certainly love to have you back again any time!

Best,
Tim and Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
5.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#7 of 38 in Erie
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Property: Glass House Inn
Address: 3202 W 26th St, Erie, PA 16506-2591
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Erie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing