We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“False advertising” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Carroll House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
George Carroll House
Ranked #2 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“False advertising”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My mom and i stayed for a mother daughter weekend in erie. However when we booked in september we were not told that as of october they were no longer serving breakfast. Very disappointed since that was part of the reason we chose the house. Overall the house is charming but they need to change their sign and inform their guests.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate868686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. The following statement has been posted on our website for 6 weeks, “As of October 1, 2013 we will only be providing historic lodging, no breakfast served. Coffee and tea will be available.”
And, anyone who contacts us to make a reservation is informed of our change.

Chris, Betsy, and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
74
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were there for a Seawolves game. It's just a few blocks aways, but since it rained, we had a great dinner at the Smuggler's Wharf and watched the sunset on the bay. The keypad made it convenient to come and go. Our room was number 7, it had 2 full beds and was spacious with a nice flat screen TV. The linens and bathroom were impeccable. Breakfast was toast, bagels, English muffins, scones, muffins, yogurt, juices, tea and coffee. There were also snacks available at any time of the day. It was $95.00, same or less than you would pay in a chain. We loved it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKI761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
OKI761, Thank you for your wonderful review. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Chris, Betsy, and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

A quick trip with my son to check out a college in the area. Thought staying at a bed and breakfast would be a change from staying in a big hotel. Got to the inn and there was no one there to greet us, just a chalk board telling us which room we were in. Got settled into our room, which was fine, but really nothing spectacular to write home about. It was clean and spacious, we each had our own room,(within 1room) which is hard to come by @a b&b. Breakfast was just yogurts, granola bars and some baked breads. They were tasty but I like a real breakfast when staying at a b&b. The only issue with the inn isn't even related to the inn itself, but Erie..... The inn isn't in the prettiest part of town and if I had known that, we wouldn't have stayed here. I was concerned about my car in the back parking lot being still there in the am! (It was, thank goodness!) We saw several homeless people sleeping on bus station benches and just generally loitering around town. Being it was our first time to Erie, it was not what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stampedpassport2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of George Carroll House B & B and also for your kind comments about our cleanliness. We make every effort to ensure that our rooms are as clean and comfortable as possible for our guests. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred in regards to our breakfast service. We do only serve a light continental breakfast. Also, we have chosen to utilize a keypad entry system on our entrance door and also on our rooms for the convenience of our guests. Guests can arrive anytime after 3 pm and have immediate access to their room, day or night.
We are truly sorry we did not fully meet your expectations and wish you the best in locating a college suitable for your son.

Chris, Betsy, and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at the george carroll house, we stopped over in the drive from Indiana to New Jersey. The house itself is gorgeous and has "old world charm" but the rooms and inside were clean and modern. The bathroom and bedroom were spotless! All the perks of staying in a hotel but with the charm of a bed and breakfast. An added bonus was the keypad entry- we were late arrivals upon checking in (1am) after the long drive and it was so nice to just walk upstairs and go to sleep! The breakfast was just enough to tide you over until lunch and we explored Presque Isle (which is only a 20 min drive away.) The area around the B&B itself is "eh", we wanted to eat down by the bayfront and knew it was only a 5 minute walk but didn't think we would feel comfortable walking back late at night so we drove the 3 blocks. None of the surrounding area mattered much once inside the george carroll house though! Will definitely stay again if in the area :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gennipenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you! We are very happy you decided to stay with us during your trip and we appreciate your comments about our rooms. We try to do everything we can to make your visit comfortable and stress free. Our keypad entry is a nice feature in that you don't have to worry about arrival time, as you mentioned. Plus, our guests don't need to keep track of a key. Again, thanks for staying with us.

Chris, Betsy, and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stopped in Erie to break up a long drive, and chose George Carroll over chains close to the interstate because I wanted to see the shoreline and downtown. Stopped at the pier in my car on the way back from Presque Isle Downs to enjoy the sunset outside; it would have been an easy walk but the area was pretty deserted by that time on Sunday and I had seen at least a dozen homeless and/or questionable types loitering on State Street. Innkeeper had advised me that many of the downtown bars and restaurants are closed on Sunday but when more people are out and about or if you're not traveling solo the area seems pretty safe.

Parking and the keypad were very convenient. I heard little evidence of other guests even though the inn was full but did hear the city coming to life in the morning. Room #1 was spacious, spotless, with a very comfortable bed, room-darkening shades and nice modern shower/bathroom. Wi-fi was fast. If I were staying longer or returning I would try to get a north-facing room. Can't vouch for the breakfast as I only had a cup of tea and then hit the road, but there were plenty of good-looking choices and the common rooms were very welcoming if you have the time to linger over the morning meal. Be aware that there is no ice machine if you plan to enjoy a beverage in your room. No problem, as it's easy enough to stop at the McDonald's across the parking lot and buy a cup of ice.

Room Tip: Northside rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MwSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
MwSons, Thank you for your great review of our B&B and it's many conveniences. We are glad you chose us to stay with during your trip. We do want to point out that although our North rooms do face the bay we are 4 blocks from the waterfront and do not have any rooms with a water view. We hope that on your next visit to Erie you choose to stay with us again and have time to explore the area further.

Chris, Betsy, and Patti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belle vernon, pa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

For the "7th" year in a row I've visited the George Carroll House. This year there was a new in- house manager "Betsy" who was very hospitable, kind, and thorough. I was there for 5 days and as before the room was clean and comfortable; the coffee hot and fresh; the cereal selections fun, and the treats & fruit juices available at all times. The new manager (daughter of "Christine," the manager for the first 6 years) just picked up where her mom left off. I would and have always recommended The George Carroll House as a fine place to stay. Christine is now in charge of Boothby Inn, another fine find in the town of Erie.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darBelleVernon_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
darbelle,

We look forward to having a great visit with you and your family every year. Thank you for continuing to stay with us and thank you for saying such nice things about us. Have a great Summer and we will see you soon!

Chris, Betsy, and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

As we approached the 4th of july weekend the stress of half the year was building and an escape was needed. My fiancee' and I decided to take a trip that included the beach wine good food and relaxation. Choosing George Carrol b&b was the best choice! When securing reservations I spoke with a beautiful woman that was able to accommodate my needs that included a resonable price and specific dates and times. Within two hours I received a phone call back with all my needs met! Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome of the owner Betsy that helped us with choices of places to eat and visit. Our room was very cool clean and pleasently decorated. We were in walking distance to the bayfront where we captured a beautiful sunset. We were less than 20 minutes to seeveral wineries to select wines for our upcoming wedding. We were also less than 20 minutes from the beach! The special touches created a sense of home that included breakfast with a swwet touch and delicious coffee. A relaxing living space included a place to read the newspaper and grab a cold drink and snack. Betsy was available throughout our stay bringing extra towels and dishes to warm up leftovers from our eating out adventures. The fresh flowers and the charm of the b&b will keep this a favorite for special occasions! Take the step on your next mini escape in life at the George Carroll B&B.
.Maria & Rod Lower Burrell Pa.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Maria and Rod,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very glad that we could make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one. It was great talking with you and it was very helpful to hear your thoughts on some of our local restaurants and wineries. Good luck with your wedding but we hope to see you both again before the happy day!

Chris, Betsy, and Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Carroll House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Carroll House

Property: George Carroll House
Address: 401 Peach St, Erie, PA 16507-1416
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Carroll House offers historic lodging accommodations in downtown Erie, Pennsylvania. The Queen Anne style house was built in 1872 for George Carroll, an early settler and lumber dealer. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and air-conditioning. Off-street parking is available and a continental breakfast is served. Stay with us for your next visit to Erie and enjoy a unique alternative to the standard motel or hotel room. Keyless entry to the Inn and all guest rooms. No children under 12 * no pets * no smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing