We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't sleep we'll”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Reviewed 19 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank xjerseygirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived on a Sunday Eve to an almost vacant parking lot with many apparent vacancies. Was told the cheapest room available was $129 despite the advertised rate of $64.99 on the digital sign. We were given a room on the third floor with ongoing renovations and the room smelled of smoke. The limited towels were threadbare, no coverlet, no conditioner, and the shower ( no bath) barely reached warm water at the highest point. The floor of the bath was filthy and looked like it needed a decent sandblasting. There were two beds (full size) that were so fare spaced from the side table that connected electronics would not reach. Lamps were unplugged and upon plugging in, the lightbulb didn't work. No DVD player but the refrigerator was at least on its coldest setting. All this after only 3 hours. Hopefully the light of day doesn't bring more issues. The positives ? It's very quiet since most of the rooms are unoccupied and right off the highway. The wifi is useless as others have noted. Did not venture in to the murky looking pool and would have loved the option of a bath.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy711plasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Lucy711plasman:

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Mary L. Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at this LaQuinta in Erie as the last stop on our way back to Illlinois after a four week trip to Newfoundland, Canada. Our stay was very pleasant, the location was easy to get to and a nice place to rest before driving the last leg of the trip home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Phillip H:

Thank you so much for the kind words in your review. It is our daily mission to make each of our guests feel assured, settled in and optimistic about their stay and in your case it seems as if we hit a home run, which is wonderful.

We hope that if you will be traveling in the area again, you will make us your #1 stop for your lodging needs.

Here For You,

Mary L Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited Erie this past week to go to Presque Isle Downs and tour the area. We chose La Qu7nta based on overall reviews on Trip Advisor. We travel quite a bit and the Advisor is my bible along with the US bedbug registry. We travel with 2 dogs and must chose the best or better among pet friendly. We asked for a room very close to an exit. Our dogs are well traveled but will bark if they see another dog otherwise they are well behaved and well traveled pets. When we arrived the room they were going to put us in room 117 was not ready. We were going to be placed in a room not to terribly far from the front desk. 103 I think. It would not have been good. I could imagine the possibility of other folks in our wing darting out their doors with pooch on lesh. Our Aldo would have shaken the roof with a bark. So we waited and about 45 min later our retreat of room 117 was ready. Perfect, perfect, perfect. It was 2 steps to the first interior door, another 3 to the exit door and there was the grass. Nirvana for pets and us. Nice quiet area behind inn to walk dogs. Other pet owners yield and we do so also. Very nice. Now for the room. It was nice and large and had tasteful neutral decor. There was a table with arm chair but the arm was broken and missing a bolt which we found under the table when looking over the room for any items left prior to check out. The room has some scuffed up wall paper here and there and along the edges of the carpet the carpet is whitish in color due to dust build up. The beds were comfortable but not amazing. The pillows were plentiful per bed but again only so so. The firms were way to firm, the soft not too bad. We just purchased a high end latex mattress so maybe it is not fair to compare but we do stay about 21 nights a year or more in hotels and the bed was on the low end but adequate. The AC unit was odd. It had to be put at 60 degrees with high fan in order to cool the room which i would guestimste at about 70. It ran nonstop and the room became uncomfortably warm from time to time. We kept the drapes closed to facilitate energy efficiency but it was still a struggle to really cool the room, but it was okay. I am very gery heat sensitive and I was comfortable. The bathroom was spotless. The only complaint is there should be a tras can in the bath. There was only 1 small can in the entire room. Now for staff. Everyone was very jice and helpful, from Maggie at check in to Sue on checkout. Housekeeping was super friendly. I had a pleasant experience in that the young asian woman in housekeeping had the most perfect english and understtod what I asked for. This is very rare and frustrating for both parties,
. Housekeeping who cannot understand the patrons make no sense and it can be a challenge at best just to get a bath towel without having to resort to animation and hand gestures. Final thought. We enjoyed our first gisit to Erie and our near perfect accommodations that we decided to stay an extra night. This La Quinta will be our first choice for repeat visits which we now know will definitely be in our future assuming the reviews on Trip Advisor remain consistent. It might be time to do a walk through of each room to check on broken furniture or marred wallpaper etc just to keep it really nice. Its much easier to maintain than to restore. A great stay, nice staff, amazing location stone throw from Interstate and a terrific pet friendly hotel!l

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank suitcaseannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear suitcaseannie,

Thank you so much for your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I am so happy the entire staff made your stay a pleasant one and we were very happy to have your lovely german shepard as well along for the trip. I do want you to know that we are completeing ongoing renovations, and within the next 12 months will be replacing all of the furniture (as it has been some time since new was ordered), as well as new room carpeting and window treatments.

I also have had our maintenance engineer look into the issues that you had with the cooling/heating unit in the room so others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for the wonderful review and the feedback on how to improve the hotel. We pride ourselves in listening to our guests and implementing as many of the ideas they suggest as possible.

I hope to see you again on your next visit through the area. If you need anything in the meanwhile please feel free to give us a call at the hotel directly.

Here For You,

Mary L Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Our check-in and check-out was quick and easy. This hotel is also very pet-friendly with a good dog walking area and available resources and easy access.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Deb B:

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review of our hotel. I am so happy that the staff was pleasant and that everyone in your family, including your "fuzzy" children ejoyed themselves while you were here. LaQuinta prides itself in being a pet friendly facility and like I always say the more, the merrier.

We hope you will stopy by and see us again on your next trip through the area.

Here for you,

Mary L Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Upon getting into my bed in the hotel room I realized I had been laying in dried urine. Although we were given a new room and an almost insignificant discount, no proper compensation was given. The absolute lack of care on part of the cleaning staff was apparent as it would be illogical to put soiled sheets on a bed thus leading me to think that the this maid must have not changed the bedding in several rooms which is both unsanitary and gross. To top this off the internet went at a crawling pace.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Maria B:

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. As you can see from previous reviews, we run a clean and friendly hotel and I am sorry your stay was anything but. I also am sorry that the 20% reduction in your rate was found to be lacking in your opinion. Please know that the issue was immediately addressed with the housekeeper in question and a disciplinary action was placed in her employment file. In addition, we will be increasing the bandwith on the wi-fi soon so that it accommodates better streaming in today's increasingly mobile environment.

M Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Check-in staff was excellent and the room was ready when we arrived but while the bed was as comfortable as ever, I was not happy being placed in an ADA room. There was only one chair to sit on, no desk chair, no sofa. They did let me take a chair from the dining area and it was at least some place to sit.

The wifi service was almost worthless. To connect you must open a browser and accept the conditions, then a connection is allowed. Most of the time I could send and receive email but other services on my tablet or smart phone were problematic because the connection frequently dropped and returned. It was easier to not use the wifi.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daytona_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary W, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Member:

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

I apologize that the wi-fi was not up to your standards when you stayed with us. LaQuinta corporation will be increasing the bandwidth across the brand in the next 18 months to accommodate the increase usage in streaming on devices. In addition, your room that was booked through dogfriendly.com was not changed in any way by the property. I wish you had let us know that you did not like the room they booked for you, we would have been happy to move you upstairs to one of our executive suites which are only available on our 2nd and 3rd floors and have a king size bed with sofa sleeper. Also, I apologize that the attendant was not prompt in meeting your needs when you came to the front desk. The attendants have a video camera that is trained to the front desk area so that as they are processing laundry they can see who is at the front. We do not have an office they disappear to, they are actually working on washing and folding laundry as well as working on ancillary cleaning lists left for them each shift. I have spoken with them to make sure they are more attentive in paying attention to the video feed from the front desk so that others are not inconvenienced as you were.

M Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
2.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie

Address: 7820 Perry Hwy, Erie, PA 16509-6628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range: £55 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While you stay at our pet-friendly hotel, start each day on a positive note with our free Bright Side Breakfast(R), a freshly prepared spread of waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, muffins, and all-you-can-drink coffee and juice as well as eggs, meat and yogurt. Once you jumpstart your morning, make your way to the many area attractions conveniently from our central location. If you are feeling lazy, you can lounge around at our indoor swimming pool or surf the Web on our free Wi-Fi. For a more active afternoon, you can head to our impressive fitness facility with an indoor heated pool. Professionals have come to the right place, with our fax/copy services at a full business center, available meeting spaces, and free local calls. The spacious guest rooms are each equipped with flat-panel TVs streaming over 60 premium cable channels, a microwave, refrigerator, and the option of a whirlpool tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie Hotel Erie
La Quinta Inn And Suites Erie
La Quinta Hotel Erie
Erie La Quinta
La Quinta Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing