We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Erie and staying in a Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First trip to Erie and staying in a Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We loved staying in this bed and breakfast! The Spencer House has the amenties of a hotel with a "homey" feel--including a homemade breakfast each morning. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters which had a huge modern bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub and stand-up shower. The owners are a very nice couple who are willing to assist you in any way. The place is in a great location--within walking distance to downtown Erie and ~3miles away from Presque Isle State Park. The Casino is a short 15 minute drive and the North East wineries about a 30 minute drive. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwf1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
101
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We found this bed and breakfast completely by chance. The house is a restored Victorian and couldn't be lovelier. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. Breakfast was never the same and always full service. Special diets can be accommodated as long as you let them know before you check in. Also they can and will help you plan out your day's activities with a local's knowledge.

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters is on the third floor, but well worth the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauconda, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband , I and a friend were on a bike trip Spencer House was our choice to stay in ,this place was gorgeous we stayed in the Presidents suite which was so warm and homey after staying in different hotels each night the room was well decorated and cool ,very spacious as well , the bed was very comfortable linens that I would have on my own bed and no problems in the bathroom our friend stayed in Mary's room that room was just as warm and homey . Joy recommended some restaurants downtown within walking distance we ended up at a Irish Pub good food and very nice walk. Our homecooked breakfast was delicious fresh fruit was the best great converstion with Joy and Fletcher would definately stay here again !!
. Mike and Nina Illinois

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

By sheer luck i happened to find this wonderful B&B online. I was searching for a getaway with my husband but did not want to travel far from home. Never having visited Erie before we were surprised at all it has to offer. The Spencer House is located central to so many things, we are planning on a return visit. The house was built in 1879 and still retains original woodwork and hardware. There are so many countless details you need an entire day to appreciate it all. The Coleman's were ideal hosts and the breakfasts delicious......i stayed late in bed one morning and Fletcher was preparing a tray so my husband could bring me breakfast in bed! Had i known just how thoughtful Fletcher was i would have stayed in bed longer. Joy was warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay more than words can express. If ever you have an opportunity to visit Erie, PA book your room at the Spencer House.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Visiting the area for a wedding the second week of August, we were very excited to stay at the B&B. Not only because of the home's history but the Coleman's seemed to be really great people. We've stayed in B&B's in the past where the hosts were not so friendly. A little uncomfortable as you feel you are intruding in their home. This was not the case with the Coleman's! They are wonderful! Very personable and made us feel welcome from the first moment we met them.

The house was fully booked and we stayed on the third floor in the Spencer Suite. This is a fantastic room! Very comfortable king sized bed (seriously one of the best we've ever slept in), the room was clean, cool and had the original Victorian charm of the home with some modern conveniences such as a large free standing A/C unit, flat screen TV and free WiFi. The bathroom is clean, bright and airy. The walk in shower is huge! You literally could fit 4 people in it. The hot water wasn't a problem for us. It took about 5 seconds to reach full temperature. We didn't stay during a heat wave so I can't comment on the humidity or temperature being too hot. We kept the windows open and the ceiling fan on and had no issue with the room being uncomfortable. We did joke that they needed an elevator, but only because we have 4 steps in our house and are not used to climbing three flights. (You really don't need an elevator!) And although the inn was booked up, we didn't hear anything from any of the other guests until we met them for breakfast. It's a great place to get a good nights sleep!

The Coleman's pay attention to detail when it comes to making their guests feel comfortable. And it's the little things that count, such as the make-up remover wipes that were on our sink. Sounds funny to mention that but I forgot mine and realized this as we pulled up to the house. It was a nice little surprise to find some in our room. And I have to add, my husband was very happy to see quality toilet paper. Many times we've stayed in hotels and B&B's with really bad TP. According to him, this is a sign the owners don't really care about their guests, just the cash. I have to say, he has a point. They also keep a fridge fully stocked with drinks and snacks on the second floor for all their guests. We loved this added treat. It was nice to grab a bottle of cold water when you needed one. There is also a parking lot in the back with enough room for all guests. Breakfast is home made every morning and is great! Mr. Coleman whips up a mean cinnamon chip pancake and I don't even like cinnamon! I guess I do now.

The inn is located within walking distance of some great places not to mention it's amazing neighbors on Millionaire's Row. The Erie Art Museum is about 10 minutes away as is a great Irish pub & restaurant, Molly Brannigan's, Starbucks, expERIEnce Children's Museum, and Gannon University just to name a few. This would be an excellent place to stay if you are a parent visiting your kids at school. Presque Isle State Park and Waldameer is about 10 minutes away driving.

We loved everything about the Spencer House B&B and are looking forward to another visit. Now that our family decided to start a new tradition of getting together every summer in Erie, we are excited we found such a wonderful place to stay and can't wait to see it's progression as the Coleman's complete the renovation/restoration project. Why stay in a typical hotel when you can stay in an amazing B&B for the same price or less? Thank you Mr. and Mrs. Coleman, we had a wonderful time and look forward to coming back often!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Our first time at the Spencer House and it was delightful.
My husband and I, found Joy & Fletcher Coleman to be enthusiastic about their new home and to please their guests. We stayed in the Nanny's Room on the 2nd floor, at the back of the inn. It was recommended by Joy after I told her what we were looking for. The bathroom is only a few steps away and very private. It was perfect for us. We were able to view a few other rooms and they were all beautiful. The owners are working very hard to work on renovations all while maintaining and running the inn which is certainly not an easy task.
Fletcher is the chef and makes a tasty breakfast which is included in the room rate. We can't wait to return and this will be our inn of choice!
Fletcher recommended 1201 Kitchen for dinner and it was fabulous. The best we have had so far in Erie.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bflo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Joy and Fletcher's magnificently renovated home on Millionaire's Row in Erie was the perfect location for our 4-day weekend, walking distance to Gannon U, downtown and the harbor. The President's Suite on the second floor is huge, with a private bathroom, sofa, coffee table, flat-screen TV, air-conditioner, and very comfortable king bed. The towels and linens were luxurious; there were hundreds of books in the library. The architectural details and period furniture are fabulous. The extraordinary service is what a B&B is all about! Breakfasts were exceptionally delicious; special food requests were honored cheerfully and respectfully. Joy is an absolutely terrific hostess. We highly recommend Spencer House!!!

Room Tip: President's Suite has a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sine-Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.5 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Erie
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save the region's 7% hotel tax, and get a great breakfast, by staying at our 5-star rated historical B&B. We are the only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie. We're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House Hotel Erie
Spencer House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing