We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Hola all,

We had the pleasure if staying two nights. The location couldn't be beat for us as we were there for shopping and exploring.

Pros:
* the breakfasts were delicious and the pancakes were to die for
* proximity to great shopping, restaurants and the lake
* the hosts, you can feel how hard they are working to make your stay memorable and enjoyable

Other things:

* our room was at the front of the house on the street and it was a bit noisy with more street traffic than we would have expected. But, we had earplugs so that was okay
* not a fan of comforters/bed spreads and prefer duvets or just newly washed sheets and a blanket.

Overall, we loved the place! We are already planning our trip back next year. Don't hesitate, book now and enjoy those pancakes and French toast.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playalover78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Spencer House is a wonderful destination which gives you a feeling of home away from home. We were greeted warmly and sincerely by the owners, Joy and Fletcher. Both were so very accommodating to our needs and comforts, from the large, spacious room with a "four-poster" cherry wood king-sized bed and many additional comforts, to a delicious home-cooked breakfast(by Fletcher, the owner) which would rival anyone's "Gramma" breakfasts when you were growing up. Very clean and comfortable throughout the house including the common areas, like an old-world parlor and library sitting room, and the long dining table nestled in a room which gave you the feeling of being transported back into the 19th century. I was staying with my wife, sister and brother-in-law, and we were all given helpful suggestions of local eateries and things to do including some of the many wine-tastings that were in the area. Our stay here was one of the best that we have ever had anywhere and I would highly recommend that anyone make a concerted effort to spend your next getaway at the Spencer House. Joy and Fletcher were so warm and inviting, and the house had an intangible "livable" feel to it. When we left, we didn't just leave the house, it was as if we were leaving new friends! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: "President's Room" on the second floor was large, comfortable, and quiet."
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were very impressed by the warm welcome we received from Joy and Fletcher on our arrival at Spencer house. They even had a Scottish flag flying on our honour (I was born in Scotland). We stayed in the Fletcher Suite for 2 nights and found it spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Fletchers' breakfasts are delicious and healthy. both were very helpfull in suggesting places to eat and pointing out some of the more interesting sites to visit, including the local wineries. I would recommend this B and B for anyone who wants to taste the old world charm of a 130 year old home in stead of a modern day hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The Spencer House is a fantastic place to stay. Clean, comfortable, quiet and friendly. Fletcher and Joy, the owners, have only owned this house since March. We could see that they have poured a lot of themselves into the house. Fletcher is the cook, and his breakfasts are delicious. Very filling. The picture that is on their website is only a sample of what you get to eat. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The front porch is a fantastic place to sit in the evening to just relax and watch the world go by. We will definitely come back for another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim090712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We loved staying in this bed and breakfast! The Spencer House has the amenties of a hotel with a "homey" feel--including a homemade breakfast each morning. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters which had a huge modern bathroom with a large jacuzzi tub and stand-up shower. The owners are a very nice couple who are willing to assist you in any way. The place is in a great location--within walking distance to downtown Erie and ~3miles away from Presque Isle State Park. The Casino is a short 15 minute drive and the North East wineries about a 30 minute drive. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwf1423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We found this bed and breakfast completely by chance. The house is a restored Victorian and couldn't be lovelier. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home. Breakfast was never the same and always full service. Special diets can be accommodated as long as you let them know before you check in. Also they can and will help you plan out your day's activities with a local's knowledge.

Room Tip: The Captain's Quarters is on the third floor, but well worth the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband , I and a friend were on a bike trip Spencer House was our choice to stay in ,this place was gorgeous we stayed in the Presidents suite which was so warm and homey after staying in different hotels each night the room was well decorated and cool ,very spacious as well , the bed was very comfortable linens that I would have on my own bed and no problems in the bathroom our friend stayed in Mary's room that room was just as warm and homey . Joy recommended some restaurants downtown within walking distance we ended up at a Irish Pub good food and very nice walk. Our homecooked breakfast was delicious fresh fruit was the best great converstion with Joy and Fletcher would definately stay here again !!
. Mike and Nina Illinois

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
10.5 mi away
Lakeview on the Lake
3.7 mi away
Glass House Inn
Glass House Inn
#9 of 38 in Erie
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range: £75 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save the region's 7% hotel tax, and get a great breakfast, by staying at our 5-star rated historical B&B. We are the only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie. We're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House b&b
Spencer House Hotel Erie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing