We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I were looking for a weekend trip to get away from work and stress. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but the Spencer House was perfect. Fletcher and Joy take pride in every little detail and it really shows. It was cozy and personal and the holiday decorations were a really nice touch. As you will read in the other reviews, the breakfasts were the stuff of legend. Since we had never been to Erie before we relied on our hosts recommendations for everything. They knew where to eat and what to see. We had a fantastic, stress free trip and will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
James,

Thanks so much!! We're glad you enjoyed your trip to Erie and all the places you got to visit while you were here. Can't wait to see you again.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
104
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Economy, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The Spencer House is absolutely gorgeous - we could have spent the entire time inside the house and been perfectly content. What made our time even more special were the owners - a lovely couple who went above and beyond to make our stay special. The breakfast was so much more than I expected - cinnamon chip pancakes, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, sausage. Can't say enough. They certainly lived up to their motto - "Come as guests, leave as friends".

Room Tip: If you like roominess, the Presidential Suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Cheryl,

Thanks so much for the wonderful comments! You and Matt were so much fun. Can't wait to see you both again.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My fiancee and I spent a weekend at the Spencer House, we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Nanny's room and it was perfect. It had the perfect touches you expect in a bed and breakfast, along with modern amenities. Joy and Fletcher are great inn keepers and Fletcher's breakfasts are top notch...if you stay hope he makes his pancakes. It really is the perfect place to stay in downtown Erie.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thanks so much for the nice comments, my favorite room is our Nanny's room, so quiet and secluded!!

Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

No detail is spared in this place - it's a charming house with fantastic hosts. The property is meticulously maintained, it has all of the amenities you'd expect and more (Flat screen tv in the room, free WiFi) and is near the beaches and Presque Isle. I had no idea what to expect and was pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the house was.

Room Tip: The President's Suite was excellent - ensuite bathroom, flat screen TV, couch, and desk. Everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Matthew,

We're so happy you both enjoyed yourselves--but next time, you have to spend more time to get the full Erie experience!

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were a little sceptical after having read a few review but we must say our weekend stay was amazing!!!!! Joy and Fletcher were very attentive, informative, and atune inn keepers. We had the opportunity to stay in the Presidential Suite. Very spacious. Speaking with Joy we learned oodles of the house's history from over a century ago to the history Joy and Fletcher have had as they have taken over and continue to revitalize the beautiful old house.
We were very comfortable in our suite: the temperature was very well regulated, there was plenty of hot water, the suite was clean, linens and terry was replaced each day "standard service" Fletcher says as we insist he not need bother, we had a brand new very comfy king size mattress, and the breakfast was plentiful and very flavorful.
Location of this house makes it another plus! It was very convenient to walk to many other destinations about town one would want to visit.
Make the Spencer House your B&B of choice while in Erie, PA.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Teresa,

Thanks so much the wonderful review, and we're so happy you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully we'll see you again if you ever get a chance to come back to Erie.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Joy and Fletcher were perfect hosts -they are truly professional innkeepers. Really great people, always there when you wanted or needed something but they also made us feel like we had this huge, quiet, tastefully decorated, beautiful house to ourselves. Very good breakfast, and this house is comfortable and inviting to come back to each afternoon or evening. Big front porch, great neighborhood downtown for walking in this nice college town. Having grown up in Erie - I knew this would be a good location to stay -and it turned out to be double good because of our hosts!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN_D46933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
John,

Thanks for the wonderful review. You all made both of us feel like part of your family! Can't wait to see you again.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Highly recommend staying at the Spencer House. Wonderful owners who really knew how to take care of their guests. Really made us feel welcome and recommended some great things to do. Great location, close to just about anything you want to do. Located on a beautiful street. Gorgeous well kept rooms and a fantastic breakfast! Will be returning to stay here on any return trip to Erie! Thanks so much Joy and Fletcher.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Andrea, thanks for the wonderful review!! Can't wait for you both to visit again and see what Fletcher's cooking up next time.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 38 in Erie
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save the region's 7% hotel tax, and get a great breakfast, by staying at our 5-star rated historical B&B. We are the only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie. We're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House Hotel Erie
Spencer House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing