We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice for lodging in Erie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best choice for lodging in Erie”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at Spencer House B&B twice, in May 2014 and August 2013. Our experience both times was excellent. The neighborhood is quiet, within walking distance of Gannon University and the Erie waterfront, and a short drive to Mercyhurst University. Our rooms have been comfortable, beautifully furnished and nicely decorated. The second floor sitting area offers beverages as well as a refrigerator where we could store snacks. Breakfast is always delicious and freshly prepared. Fletcher and Joy are gracious hosts, and we hope to stay again on future trips to Erie.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mary's Room and The Captain's Quarters and enjoyed both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efbthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We were so happy to have you both back again and glad you had such a good time. Can't wait to see you again!

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
106
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a lovely stay we had in this 1876 Victorian Era Bed and Breakfast. Located on “Millionaires Row”, Fletcher and Joy helped us to feel very comfortable and welcome. We stayed in the Spencer Suite which is on the third floor and very spacious with a huge bed that was so cushy cozy. We arrived after a big thunderstorm and enjoyed opening the windows to let the cool breeze through-there are about 6 windows so a crossbreeze was pleasant. Room had a big screen TV and a sofa with coffee table and bathroom with glass enclosed shower. There was a scrolltop writing desk, dresser and inviting window seat. I could imagine reading Pollyanna there once upon a time..or why not now? I love cubbyholes and alcoves. A ceiling fan was not needed but can help to circulate air. Oh, there was a little gas fireplace there too-for cool nights it would be lovely. We were able to view the other rooms that were not occupied and I will say that the website does not do the rooms justice…they are more lovely in person than the web has us think. Particularly lovely is Mary’s Room-it is bright and cheerful –picture on web is dark. Also the Captain’s Quarters is awesome with a gorgeous bathroom with a Jacuzzi type corner bath. Modern fixtures with touches of the old home. The breakfast area is cheerful and inviting and worth checking out-there is Greek written on the walls stating something profoundly wise (cant remember what exactly!) Fletcher made the best breakfast-Cinnamon pancakes with bananas on top with maple syrup with eggs and potatoes and sausage- fresh fruit cup- the whole caboodle! He also has this amazing fishing expedition thing going and I am in next time-love to go fishing on Lake Erie!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We're so glad that you came back to visit and had such a great time! Hope to see you again soon (doesn't have to be an anniversary!).

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Spencer House B & B in Erie, PA is comfortable, clean, and charming. Within walking distance from the downtown square, this Victorian home has been carefully maintained and restored. Our room was very quiet. The full breakfast was fresh and delicious. Hosts Joy and Fletcher were welcoming and helpful. We will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSUsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks so much for staying, and we also look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were looking for an historic, beautiful place to stay to relax and enjoy the area for the day and night. The Spencer House was an excellent choice. Joy and Fletcher are terrific innkeepers and Fletcher is quite the chef! Our room was perfect, the surroundings beautiful, the area quiet, and the breakfast was wonderful!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharmaryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed Erie! Hopefully you'll come back soon and spend a little more time here.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely B&B that has been cared for nicely. The current owners, Joy and Fletcher are friendly and hospitable and earn their title of Happiness Managers! We stayed in the President's Suite and it was charming and most comfortable. The extra sitting/reading room next to it, where there is the water cooler and fridge for beverages is an added bonus. And, we must not forget our fishing trip out on Lake Erie with Fletcher. Our goal was to not get skunked out and we each caught at least one fish, adding another state to our goal of 50 fished states. Fletcher is also a master in the kitchen as his breakfast was scrumptious and filling! If we are ever back in the area, we would definitely stay here!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank challengefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We're so glad you had a good time, and also for the wonderful fish dinner on your way back through! Fletcher's been working on the boat all winter, a newly rebuilt engine and fuel line, and he's really excited about going on the Lake this spring. Hope that you'll be passing through Erie again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We are seasoned bed and breakfast "stayers", and we loved this inn. The home itself is absolutely lovely, bedecked with lots of beautiful wood, architectural features, and plush bedrooms. The common areas are punctuated with Joy's absolutely stunning needlework, which is a delight. We stayed in the Spencer Suite, located on the third floor. It's a good hike up the steps, but it was good exercise, and well worth it! The breakfasts were delicious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We're so happy that you stayed with us and can't wait for your next visit here. Hopefully you'll make it back sooner than the next conference <G>

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Spencer House Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the city's historic “Millionaires Row.” We are from New York, it was our pleasure to stay one night at Spencer House, since we have been a big Bed & Breakfast fans. I couldn’t wait to tell everyone. Mr. and Mrs. Coleman provide excellent homemade breakfast and very comfortable room. The decoration of the house is increditable; I could not put my camera down....

Room Tip: Great value, excellent breakfast, quality room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jada Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Jada and Bertram,

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for sending the pictures. Hopefully you'll visit Erie again and take in a little more of our city.

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites North East
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 519 W 6th St, Erie, PA 16507-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spencer House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Save the region's 7% hotel tax, and get a great breakfast, by staying at our 5-star rated historical B&B. We are the only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie. We're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House Hotel Erie
Spencer House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing