We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT RECOMMENDED - Gross”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Erie
georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT RECOMMENDED - Gross”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked our stay through Priceline... What a mistake.. After a lengthy walk in the dark parking lot just to reach the building, we had to go up outside stairs and then through a poorly lighted, dirty inner hallway. Upon finding our room, we opened the door to find every light on and large leftover material in the commode, need I say more. So, I called downstairs to make sure that we weren't staying in a room where someone was already booked. The front desk sent a driver to deliver us a key to another room. Let's see here... peeling wallpaper, we could repeat every word of the conversation next door, the carpet smelled musty and old, the lamp looked like it was corroding. You can always tell how classy a place is when they itemize the cost of each linen, towel, and the alarm clock for you and place it on the commode. Seriously, do people steal alarm clocks? I thought we had apps for that now. We didn't even bring in our luggage, rather, we went to the car and pulled out only the items that we needed. The next morning, I go to check out and get to enjoy listening to the patron ahead of me repeatedly use profane language over the house phone. I made the staff aware of all of this and their reply was, sorry you booked on priceline so we cannot do anything about it. There is no possible way that the room we stayed in was two and half stars. As a final highlight, we stopped by the lobby/restaurant bathrooms on the way out before leaving. My husband says,"What color were the toilets in the ladies room?" Apparently, the ladies hideous pink/rose toilets are meant to compliment the men's room of dark brown ones.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank targtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    79
    60
    31
    30
See reviews for
89
56
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I believe that they may have put our family in an older run-down room because we booked through Hotwire and got a cheaper rate. I had called in the evening before and requested a room looking out onto the pool. That night there were still a few on both 2nd and 3rd floors available, but when we checked in the next day we were told no pool view rooms available, even though I had called and specifically asked for one and the gentleman made a note of it. Our room had 2 large rips in the carpeting and large gross stains on both sides of the cushion of the chair in the room. The windows were so filthy you couldn't even see out of them. There were brown stains on the lampshade and the fan didn't work in the bathroom. And, the bathroom is very tiny and cramped. I don't consider myself too picky, but for the price this hotel charges from its website, their rooms should be in top-notch condition and clean. I didn't complain too much since we did get the room at discount. The pool area is very nice, but there isn't a shallow area for toddlers. The hot tub is shallow enough, but they had a sign posted requesting that children under 12 not go in the hot tub. So, not exactly toddler-friendly. I will say that the beds were quite comfy. I didn't wake with a sore back. Also the free coffee with vanilla creamer was good! We didn't try the $5 breakfast, so I can't comment on that, but Perkins just next door was a hit for our family! All in all, not too bad for $69, but would have been upset if we had paid over $100 for our room.

Room Tip: Ask about renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Room - Stained sheets when we first arrived. Room was ok. Food on the otherhand was terrible. We had a 5.00 rate for breakfast. Ate there first day, then went to Perkins for the second two days. Had dinner the first night in Victors. I would reccommend the Chef paying attention to details. Onion soup served was cold. Onions not carmelized, broth had no flavor, nPasta entree way over cooked, smoked flavor from cheese not present, just ot good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bassman5959642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

"Basic". Indoor pool, mostly children using it. Older decor and furnishings, everything seemed to be worn out and dated. Not sure what the cost was, since it was business and paid for in advance, don't overpay for this one.
On a good note there was ample parking.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool, no privacy, loud, and chlorine smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deerjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here and would come back.

Pros:
The location was great- what looked to be about the closest decent hotel to Presque Isle and only about a 5 min drive to the park.

Food at the restaurant was surprisingly good and very reasonable. Plus they had $3 sangrias the night we got there which were delicious.

Nice patio and courtyard area. The second night of our stay we ordered pizzas and sat outside at the patio.

Cons:
Bathroom was tiny and no toiletries the first night

Carpet in hallways needed a good cleaning

Uncomfortably warm in hallways and pool area

Asked for a pack n play when I reserved the room and was told they would have one in the room for us. Got there and no pack n play. Had to call front desk repeatedly asking for it and finally they brought it over an hour later (even though they kept telling me the guy was on his way). Just tell me upfront it's going to be awhile so that I'm not waiting around forever!

Other than that a decent hotel and you can't beat the location for visiting Presque Isle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We were there for the weekend, room was clean, there is a hot breakfast buffet for
an additional $5 per person. I couldn't ask for more. You are really there for the lake
and beach. Our room looked out onto the courtyard. You can open the windows for
fresh air, also.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I usually stay at this hotel during the winter months since they have an indoor pool. We decided to try the hotel for a quick July week-end trip to Erie this past week-end; and were not at all pleased with our stay.
When we arrived at 4PM for check-in we were informed that our rooms were still not ready, and our rooms would not be available until 5PM. Seriously, peak of the summer season and not enough staff to clean the rooms? On the plus side we were pleasantly surprised that the pool-view rooms were remodeled after previous trip in February.
The atrium pool that we LOVE during the winter months....proved to be a steam bath in July. The atrium needs better ventilation or at the least, please open the doors leading to the outdoor patio! We could not even sit on the deck of our pool view room due to the heat/humidity in the atrium/pool area. The pool and Jacuzzi definitely need more monitoring. Even though signs were clearly posted, children were playing in the Jacuzzi, as their parents watched??? Needless to say adult guests avoided the Jacuzzi area completely.
We will definitely be looking into other hotels in the area for future trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKBeach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
214 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Property: Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Maxi's Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Sunday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie's main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing