We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst water; best coffee. Great location for Presque Isle State Park.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Erie
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worst water; best coffee. Great location for Presque Isle State Park.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I have never smelled such horrible water coming out of a tap as I did at this hotel, but the coffee was the best of all the Choicepoints we visited this vacation. Go figure!

This is an older, rehabbed hotel with additional drive-up motel rooms. Navigating through it was like trying to figure one's way out of a maze. We were pleasantly surprised by the microwave and fridge in the room, which were not mentioned in the booking description. The central pool area is surrounded by double decker hotel rooms and has a vintage California feel, which is kind of charming. Nice wooden barroom. Did not like having to pay $5.30 per person for a breakfast which was not substantially different than what other Choicepoint hotels offer for free.

Entering and leaving the hotel parking lot was difficult, namely because West 8th Street is way too built up; the traffic is terrible. That being said, this hotel was only a block away from stunning Presque Isle State Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTrioFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing your visit to the Clarion. Your comments do help us know what we need to improve upon. We are pleased to hear you received a room equipped with a microwave and refridgerator and enjoyed our coffee. We thank you for choosing the Clarion Lake Erie and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    78
    58
    29
    30
See reviews for
87
53
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A misnomer if there ever was one, Calling this place " a conference center" - for what germs, bugs and heaven only knows what else. This place is filthy, dark and lacking locks and security. The room smelled terrible. The hallways are dark and dirty. The room rug was filthy. The towels were old and smelled of cigarette smoke. The building C outside door lock did not work and the door was constantly left ajar for easy access without a key card. The room door lock was partially ripped out of the door and did not lock. The air conditioning was terrible. The curtains were dirty. The window drapes did not close because they were designed not to close and therefore, privacy was lacking. Security felt and appeared to be non-existent. The television remote did not work. The desk clerk did not offer to make any hotel amends to the customer upon checkout for the problems encountered. Access and luggage carts were not available during late night check-in. Carrying luggage up the stairs and long distances was difficult. Light next to building C on the elevator side is almost non-existent creating a blind and very dark area. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing the Clarion. We apologize, and are saddened to hear you were displeased with your stay. Since your stay we have replaced many of the linen, the door lock on the C building has been replaced, extra lights have been added in low lit areas, more luggage carts have been purchased, and many of the rooms have had the draperies replaced. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you experienced and apologize again for your having experienced them. We would like to invite you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Hotel was in an excellent location. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet for $5.00 was well worth the money. The Atrium Pool and Hot Tub was wonderful. The only downfall was getting to the rooms - quite a mixture of doorways and halls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing the Clarion Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the pool area as well as the breakfast buffet at Victor's. We do apologize about the difficulty you experienced in navigating the building. We thank you for patronizing our facility and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived late at night and the front desk manager was bleary-eyed but friendly and prompt. Unfortunately, to reach our second floor room we had to go up two half sets of stairs, up the elevator, back around a corner into the first space, back down a half set of stairs.... You get the picture. Actually, I'll publish the shot of the hallway... Truly disgustingly dirty. After I get my son moved into his dorm I may look for another place because not sure I want to stay here by myself.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing the Clarion Hotel. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for directing our attention to the issues experienced.. We apologize for the difficulty experienced in navigating the halls. During your next visit to Erie, please give us a chance to impress you! We have many terrific amenities in the building and would like you to experience them all. Call the hotel directly to book your next stay. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

It was very clean. I little outdated. We were running in the Half Marathon at Presque Isle. The location was perfect. Bedroom and bathroom were very clean. I would definitely stay there again. The staff was polite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing your stay at the Clarion! It is always a pleasure to hear a guest enjoyed their stay! We welcome you to stay with us during your next trip to Erie. Be sure to call the hotel directly to book your reservations. Quite often we set aside rooms specifically for the Erie Marathon runners. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We wanted to stay close to Presque Isle, so we could ride bikes straight to the park. This was easy to do from this location...down a couple side roads, down the hill, and wa-la! (The ride back up the hill was a different story. Lol.). Perfect location! The room was ok; seemed a little older. It was clean and roomy enough. They never brought our requested cot, but I chalked that up to their extreme busyness. The hotel was booked solid for some fishing convention ( lot filled with boats). We were tight on time, so we didn't go to the pool. We were disappointed to see the next morning that the pool looked amazing! Hopefully we can stay here again next year and enjoy it as well as the lake. My only complaint is we thought there was a free breakfast, but you have to pay $5.

Room Tip: We noticed there were rooms overlooking the indoor pool. They had little patios and everything! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 25 March 2014
On behalf of the hotel staff, thank you for reviewing the Clarion Hotel. We appreciate all reviews and suggestions. It is a pleasure to hear the location was ideal for your travel plans. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked our stay through Priceline... What a mistake.. After a lengthy walk in the dark parking lot just to reach the building, we had to go up outside stairs and then through a poorly lighted, dirty inner hallway. Upon finding our room, we opened the door to find every light on and large leftover material in the commode, need I say more. So, I called downstairs to make sure that we weren't staying in a room where someone was already booked. The front desk sent a driver to deliver us a key to another room. Let's see here... peeling wallpaper, we could repeat every word of the conversation next door, the carpet smelled musty and old, the lamp looked like it was corroding. You can always tell how classy a place is when they itemize the cost of each linen, towel, and the alarm clock for you and place it on the commode. Seriously, do people steal alarm clocks? I thought we had apps for that now. We didn't even bring in our luggage, rather, we went to the car and pulled out only the items that we needed. The next morning, I go to check out and get to enjoy listening to the patron ahead of me repeatedly use profane language over the house phone. I made the staff aware of all of this and their reply was, sorry you booked on priceline so we cannot do anything about it. There is no possible way that the room we stayed in was two and half stars. As a final highlight, we stopped by the lobby/restaurant bathrooms on the way out before leaving. My husband says,"What color were the toilets in the ladies room?" Apparently, the ladies hideous pink/rose toilets are meant to compliment the men's room of dark brown ones.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank targtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#27 of 39 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Property: Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Maxi's Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Sunday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie's main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing