We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gross!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Unfortunately I won this bid on Priceline - at a horrible price too! $95 a night for this dump. I made the mistake of lowering my star level as I was getting desperate to book 3 rooms in the summertime for a family trip.

It is so outdated and dirty. Our room had a soaking wet old, musty carpet. Like you couldn't even take your shoes off it was that wet. Thankfully they moved us to another room the next night. We saw them later set up a fan to dry it out. The other two rooms had a newer carpet but it was still very outdated with gold fixtures, etc. I can sometimes over look outdated but not when I'm paying $95 a night in Erie, PA! I just returned from Grand Cayman and spent $100 a night for the Marriott!

The only positives are that the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the breakfast buffet for $5 was not too bad and it is close to the beach area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are terribly sorry to hear the accommodations did not meet your expectations; however, we are glad to hear that you experienced excellent customer service. We take your comments seriously and will use them to help make improvements in the future. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    79
    61
    33
    31
See reviews for
90
59
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anynomous
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for years, this hotel has been around for many years, yes it can use updates and just most recently upon my stay thats exactly what they did!! the outside up front was painted, the room had brand new carpet, the hallway is maybe the only carpet that i seen that needed to be replaced, but people dont realize that is the most difficult to do when the hotel is always busy. they have to wait until they arent as busy and when it would be an inconvience for the guests, to me thats them thinking and placing the guests first!! (which is the number one goal of a great establishment) otherwise people will be complaining how the noise bothered them as they were doing the construction and everything. In fact they were working on the room right next door amd not once did i hear them do this, they do it during the day hours and i only seen this because the room was gutted out when i see one of the workers go in there!! I seen all these complaints about having to pay a misley $5.30 for a hot breakfast buffet, i mean really?? it was very worth the money and they staff made it even better, greeted with a smile, offered to make a waffle for me, cleared my plates promptly upon finishing, kept up with stocking the food. (go ahead and go to perkins or mcdonalds, but u will pay way more for the same stuff) the front desk gave me great directions. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critic_and_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 25 February 2014
On behalf of our staff here at the Clarion Hotel, thank you for your review! It's always a pleasure when our guests take a moment to notice the small details, including service, and we are very happy to hear we were able to give you a great stay! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet in Victor's. Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Erie, PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

As you pull up to the hotel, while the neighbourhood seems really sketchy, the outside looks nice...but then you go inside and it's really run down and not very nice. The hallways are dark and dingy and even though it's a non-smoking hotel guests were still smoking (you could see a haze in the hallways) and made the rooms smell. The carpets are dirty and our heater/AC didn't work well (it was boiling hot in the room). As a place to crash...it was fine...but overall we tried to stay out and about as much as possible so we didn't have to hang out here. I reserved two rooms (they have tons of adjoining rooms) and I booked about 5 weeks prior to our stay and our rooms were on separate floors. We asked if we could be moved and they told us we would have to beg the people beside us to move - but they wouldn't tell us if they were checked in or not. We just left it alone and stayed on separate floors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you kindly for sending feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for not granting your requests and are saddened that your overall experience was unpleasant. Prior to your next stay with us, we ask you to please call the hotel directly to request adjoining rooms. We do have a very limited number of rooms that adjoin, along with several room types that offer none at all. Our staff is very dedicated to seeing that as many requests as possible do get granted. Again, we want to apologize for providing you with a less than exceptional stay. We look forward to providing you excellent customer service during your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTON
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I were using our Choice Privilege points so we planned a little get away. We have been to Erie before and like it. And we have stayed at the Clarion before. Nice place. When I booked the room I did not even notice that I was booking a Business Suite. So when we arrived and checked in. We were given 2 sets of room keys. 1 set was for the room with a King bed and the other was for a sitting room. There was a couch, loveseat, a chair, a dining room table with 4 chairs and a wet bar. It was a great surprise. In our room the fridge did not work and the microwave was making noises so I unplugged it. But we had the fridge in the other room so it was okay. I told the lady at the desk upon checkout so I hope they got it fixed for the next guests. Breakfast was very good. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. The pleasure is in truly knowing that we have provided excellent customer service as well as a quality product. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the rooms and our breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing your during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were there for a conference. We ate at Victors and the food was really good. The only thing I was disappointed in was I did not have time to use the pool or hot tub. We had a good breakfast and staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forestmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing the Clarion Hotel! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Victor's. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed overnight at the Clarion Hotel in Erie on Sept. 21st. I had looked at reviews before we went and saw that many had been written saying that the hotel was dirty, confusing, old and for readers to not stay there. This was not the experience we had! We found the staff at the check in desk extremely pleasant and friendly, and they gave us a detailed map of the hotel grounds so we knew how to find our room. Granted, this is a hotel that has several different sections to it, but all the hallways are well marked and well lit and we had no trouble finding our way. In our travels we passed the indoor pool which we noted to be very clean and it seemed to be a place for families to take their children for entertainment...it was full of happy children splashing and swimming. We were in Area C and our room was on the 3rd floor. Our room was very, very nice, and had been updated with the newest style of pillows, bedding and flat screen t.v. We had a fridge and a microwave, and the bathroom was large and very clean, as was the room. No complaints there at all. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant located inside the hotel, Victor's, choosing instead to walk next door to Joe Roots, which is a good place to eat in Erie, btw. The shower in the morning worked fine and the towels were plentiful and of a good quality. I had read that the breakfast offered in Victor's in the morning was horrible, but we did go check it out the next morning and can't see what anyone is complaining about at all. For $5.30 you can make a waffle or a pancake, have scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, fruit, cereals, pastries, cereals, juices, coffee and tea. Everything was hot and was being refilled as fast as it was being eaten up. Staff was attentive and helpful there as well. So all in all, if you ask us, this place was a go and we would not hesitate to book into it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet as well as your entire stay. We look forward to your future visits with us and invite you to stay for dinner as well! We have a tremendous chef and a wonderful new spring menu due out very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh,Pa.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great hotel with a beautiful indoor pool and First Class restaurant,Victors. Outstanding service from the front desk, to staff,to waitresses.The only Hotel my wife and I stay at when visiting Presque Isle in Erie,Pa. Every staff person at this facility goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmythejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for the kind words of praise! It is a terrific feeling to know our staff took such good care of you during your stay. We look forward to your return visits and your continual enjoyment of Victor's Restaurant and the facilities within the Clarion Hotel. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Property: Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Maxi's Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Sunday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie's main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing