We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Staff, Lots of Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff, Lots of Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were here for an event in April 2014 and it is fantastic news that that yearly event will be held here again in 2015.

The staff was great! They seemed genuinely pleased we were there to spend that weekend with them. The rooms were clean and functional and for the price, you could not ask for more.

I really liked the location - it was easy to get to, as well as pretty centrally located to everywhere in Erie we wanted to visit.

Good work, Clarion! We look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the atrium where the indoor pool is located. I do not know how loud these rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RedbeardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for staying at the Clarion Hotel! It is an absolute pleasure hosting your group at our facility & we are thrilled you have chosen us for 2015. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    79
    60
    31
    30
See reviews for
89
56
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

In August we came up here to do the Presque Isle triathlon. Our family of five just needed a hotel room for one night and this hotel was in a great location for the race. It even had room service for some pre-race fuel. The five of us fit fine in one room. The bathroom light flickered like crazy and one of the menus in the room had some smart mouth kid graffiti all over it. Had to throw that away! The staff was incredibly nice with my requests for rooms at late notice. But the walls were so thin that our noisy jocular neighbors kept me awake. I was nervous enough about the race and almost (but didn't) call the front desk.
Breakfast was $5 (free for my 4 yr old) and all you can eat but the offerings were very standard. Eggs, bacon, cereal. Coffee, juice. Bread offerings seemed a little sad. My kids loved the malty waffles!
Truly this hotel is located really close to PI attractions but it is definitively really "well used." I know it's really a home base for people visiting PI and doing outdoorsy things, and that means you don't invest in fine linens but I think you can do outdoors-friendly and still have a clean updated look.
We did not use the pool but it looked nice.

Room Tip: If you need a quiet night don't be near the pool. The toilets of your neighbor are also super lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Clarion Hotel prior to your race. We hope to see you again, whether for a race or a leisurely get away. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
276 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stay at a lot of hotels and I won't come back to this one. My work had me stay here or I wouldn't have picked it myself.

The rooms smelled like an old motel... I don't know where that comes from but it isn't pleasant. The room was clean though and the beds were comfortable. Two important points this place succeeded at. The decor is pretty much Golden Girls pinks and beige furniture. The grounds are very well kept and the exterior of the building looked recently painted.

My shower had a leak at the wall. I informed Jon at checkout and he thanked me for reporting it and it seemed important to him. He was very pleasant and nice. The best part of the hotel experience actually!

I am sure there are limitations to building renovations at a $90/night price point but this place could use an interior makeover and complete renovation if it is to remain relevant and viable as a business hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank pittHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Clarion Hotel. I am glad to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable and the staff pleasant and genuine. The owner is currently looking into renovations and we would certainly like to provide you with a positive experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Erie hotels

Central New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

When we arrived and went to check-in, we had to interrupt a multi-employee social conversation at the front desk. Once we inconvenienced them by checking in we proceeded to our room. Things went down hill from there. We were poolside, which meant all you could hear in the room was children screaming. There is a card in the book of services that you find in every hotel room. This card says that customer satisfaction is their number one priority, and if you aren't happy with your accommodation, they will do whatever they can to resolve the issue. I called to request a different room away from the noise. It became my fault since I "requested that room" (not true) and there was nothing they could do since they were sold out (empty parking lot 9:20 PM). I guess they will do whatever they can to resolve the issue provided it requires zero effort on their part. The room was old and worn, The furniture was beaten and stained. If it was wood, it was scratched, if it stood it leaned, if it was upholstery it was grease (I hope!) stained, and if it was any other surface it was well -handled and unwashed. Housekeeping was never seen during our stay. Even after a call for service, nothing. This is something they must plan for since they had 6 rolls of toilet paper in our room. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet room, avoid the pool area. The thin walls and the large sliding glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogilthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for staying at the Clarion Hotel. I am sorry to that the staff was unable to accommodate your needs. It is our priority to ensure that guests stay and leave happy. Consequently, it saddens me to know that you were not satisfied during your stay. I hope that you will consider staying with us again to allow us the opportunity to provide you with excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in a suite on the other sided of the hotel. It was a bit confusing getting there and back, but we managed. The hotel staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The room was very nice and spacious! Room was clean and the halls were quiet. My wedding was in the reception hall, which was absolutely gorgeous. There were a few mistakes made, but overall, my Husband and I had a beautiful wedding. Thank you Bel-Aire!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bel-Aire to celebrate your special day! Congratulations & best wishes to you and your husband! We hope to see you for years to follow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel itself is dirty and disgusting. Rooms are over-priced as is the mediocre food. Service is awful. We requested a room with a crib or pack and play when we booked the room and it is now 9:45 pm and my baby sure would like to go to bed and still nothing despite 2 calls and one trip down to the service area. There is a loud whine coming from the hallway that we are told is from the hot tub jets and will be off at 10 pm. Which is awfully late for little ones. Makes bedtimes very hard. The pool and hot tub are gross. All of the soda machines are sold out of bottled water. Every. Single. One. Worst hotel ever.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellabean819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Seriously, worst hotel I've ever stayed in. There was a used toothbrush left in our bathroom upon arrival and the refrigerator had drinks left in it from the previous guests. Housekeeping never came to our room the 2 days we were there, even though we took down our "do not disturb" door hanger AND we called them to request service when they didn't come the first day. It was extremely loud (could hear every flush of every nearby toilet and people coming and going through all hours of the night) and there were stains all over the chair that I don't even want to know what they were from. We were in town for a wedding and the reception was in the ballroom. The reception venue was gorgeous and the food was delicious, but that was the only thing I liked about the hotel. Generally old and run down. We used the pool also and we came out of the water feeling sticky. Stay anywhere else but here. You'll be better off.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Thank you for staying at the Clarion and attending the wedding reception hosted in the conference center. I am terribly sorry to hear that your sleeping room accomodations were unsatisfactory. I hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to provide you with excellent service and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Erie Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
3.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Property: Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Maxi's Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Sunday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie's main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing