We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
42
91
81
39
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
91
81
39
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bel aire presque isle joe roots breakfast buffet pool area room was clean hot tub sausage great pool new carpet waffles state park would stay again staff was friendly cereal chlorine conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Never been so disrespected by a business. Booked over a month ago and refused to honor their reservation. We stopped in at noon when we got to town, confirmed everything, then went to the beach till check-in... At check-in they didnt have our rooms. Stranded us in town with 2 kids and my bride to celebrate our family's union. Thats not even to mention the crumbling facade, poor maintenance, outdated decore. The place is in shambles. CHOICE HOTELS WILL NEVER SERVE MY FAMILY OR BUSINESS AGAIN!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank jay5gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

This is a somewhat rundown hotel near Waldameer and not too far from the entrance to Presque Isle. Our main complaint was the noisy old air conditioners that cycled on and off. I had to shut the air conditioning off and just use the fan setting since it was so loud. We had two rooms and on the second day one room was not cleaned. The indoor pool is fairly nice but there is no security so anyone can walk into the hotel and use it. It was a long walk to our rooms on the fourth floor and when we arrived at the doors the second day we discover we were locked out. The indifferent desk clear never apologized. The room was fairly comfortable although somewhat dated. There were no outlets to charge electronic devices on the desk or nightstand.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and courtyard have no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We chose the Clarion due to its proximity to Waldameer. We will surely return for our next long weekend trip! Room was nice, breakfast was awesome and the dinner we had at Maxi’s was pretty amazing. Overall a great experience.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank McMama918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia M, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Lake Erie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Are travels lead us to spend the night in Erie. We had dealt with traffic noise for a couple of nights so we were looking for something not right on the road. The Clarion fit the bill for us in several ways. While the hotel faces a busy intersection, the rooms are back off the road. Our room was spacious with a reading chair and a desk and chair for writing and eating. Yes, the rooms are dated but I am more about comfort than decor. This hotel is extremely close to The park so we were to get to the lake easily but it is more of a quick drive than a quick walk. Breakfast comes with the stay and there was a large variety, a minor complaint in that my pancakes were Luke warm and I had higher expectations since it is in a restaurant. Still, we slept well here and would stay again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fiddleduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Hotel is an OK hotel maybe years ago it was a 3 star but it is now very dated. Breakfast was good room was clean, very small bathrooms and pool was cloudy. Was not a horrible place just would stay somewhere else before picking this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jessi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews