We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, just not on a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Erie
Cicero, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, just not on a weekend”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for two nights, a Thursday and a Friday night. We knew the hotel was attached to Splash Lagoon, so we anticipated that there would probably be a lot of kids.

We checked in on Thursday and everything went fine. We had a suite with a jetted tub, and the room was clean and comfortable. The only downside was that our room had a view of the breakfast area. Next time, we might ask for a room on the second (top) floor.

Breakfast our first morning, Friday morning, was good. There were scrambled eggs available, along with sausage, various bread products, and juices. It was not very crowded and it was a pleasant experience.

Friday evening things started to change. We attempted to go to dinner, but a bus decided to pull up to the front door and block us (and 4-5 other cars). I asked the bus driver if he could pull forward so we could get out and he starting yelling at us. We waited to go do dinner. Apparently the bus was carrying a collegiate girl's sports team; as we heard all night long with them running and yelling in the hallways.

Saturday morning was not as pleasant as Friday morning was. First, we were awakened by a fire alarm. Apparently some parents decided not to supervise their children when they were using the waffle-maker in the breakfast area. There are signs clearly posted asking parents to supervise children when using the waffle maker. The alarms continued most of the morning. We decided to check out and eat elsewhere. During our checkout procedure the woman behind the desk had to ask numerous parents to supervise their children using the waffle maker. We wondered why they don't remove the waffle makers on weekends, to avoid unsupervised children from setting of the fire alarms with the waffle makers.

Our recommendation is to stay away from this hotel on the weekends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Keith W,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We are happy that you over all had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are continually working on improving the breakfast area and are currently ordering more food options. Unfortunately, the weekends can be a little busier with Splash Lagoon guests and this can cause the formation of lines during breakfast. Our waffle makers are one of the biggest hits here at Comfort Inn & Suites and it is a standard we must maintain to serve them every morning. For future groups that stay with us I will look into a better way to accommodate both sets of guests. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    68
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
103
41
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have stayed here 2 years ago and again this year on our way home form Florida.
It has large rooms and great bathrooms. They have renovated since we were here. The beds are excellent and it is a quiet place to stay. The hot buffet breakfast included is extremely excellent. They have an inside pool also if you want one. The prices have gone up a lot since we stayed here 2 years ago, but this time it was a Saturday night so that probably was the reason. During the week they have a coupon rate for walk ins in the hotel coupon book you pick up at the welcome centres.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear JBJOHNSON,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm glad you enjoyed the changes we have made with our complete renovation. I will show your comments to the entire staff to encourage them to keep up the great work!

We hope to see you again on your next visit back to Erie.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was amazing. It was so beautiful. The room was wonderful. The beds were very comfortable, a great nights sleep. The breakfast was good but very crowded, it took a long time to get through the line up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sarah L,

We are thrilled to see that you had a wonderful experience here at the Comfort Inn & Suites! That is what we strive for daily with all of our guests. Breakfast can get crowded, but we certainly we keep breakfast open longer to get everyone fed if that is what we need to do. I will share your positive feedback with the staff to help encourage them to keep up the great work. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Erie. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Overall I had a pleasant stay at the hotel, however found the room temperature extremely hard to manage. It was quite hot, even with the AC on. Staff were quite friendly. Did not try the food so cannot comment on food quality - but quite nice to have complimentary coffee and juice in the AM before checkout.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Molly C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I will share your concerns with the maintenance staff and have them look into the a/c issue. I do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. I am pleased to hear that the staff was friendly and overall your stay was enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Erie. Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn during our spring break the last week of March. It was wonderful. Our kids suite was very comfortable and clean. The room was beautiful. Our boys loved the bunk beds and their own TV. The hotel staff was very nice and pleasant. We asked for more towels and housekeeping brought some right away. We had a question about our TV and a young man from the front desk ( I believe his name was Ken) came right to our room and helped us. I went down to use the fitness center and someone was already on the treadmill. The woman at the front desk said it was not a problem to use the fitness center at the Residence Inn which I did. The breakfast every morning was very good. There was a nice variety of food. Sunday morning was crowded, but we expected that since everyone was getting ready to check out. Our family will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful stay for our family.

Room Tip: The kids suite is a great option to make your stay extra special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We are so pleased to here your stay with us was more than enjoyable! I really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. I will share your comments with the staff as well, it is very encouraging! Thank you so much, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed using my points, but would not pay the outrageous $170 a night they were normally asking. The did not recognize I was a gold member with choice hotels. Found a used soap in the bathroom and a nasty fake finger nail. Breakfast very cramped and overcrowded. Dirty tables and heaps of dirty plates and garbage on counters due to overflowing garbages. Have to walk across a bridge and through an8ther hotel to get to splas lagoon which charges $40 a day per ticket with steep locker charges. Room was nice, but overall overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trevor1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDCaputo, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Trevor1975,

Thanks very much for using your valuable time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Comfort Inn and Suites. I apologize that we failed to exceed your expectations during your visit. We are currently completing the final touches of our full hotel renovation, the breakfast area is one item that we are trying to make better. This includes recognizing the need for larger trash receptacles for when we are busy, these have been ordered and should be in place shortly. The prices do sometimes fluctuate when we have a high demand. I am also conducting a training with all front desk staff on the Choice Privileges Program, and how we can better recognize and appreciate all of our Choice members.

I hope that you will give me an opportunity to address the issues mentioned, and that you come back again soon to re-evaluate your experience. I assure you that it will exceed your expectations in the future. Thanks very much again, and I hope you have a wonderful Spring.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Care here as my first choice fell apart, and stumbled into an outstanding experience. Newly renovated room with very comfortable bedding and all the amenities. The bedding is amazing. Common areas were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and service staff was keeping up, despite it being a crowded Saturday. Noted that some of the guests tended to be rowdy and there were a lot of teens present as the property adjoins a water park, but the building was quiet and felt safe. Can't say enough about how professional and friendly the young man on front desk was. I felt that i got a very good deal and would definitely stay here again.

Glitch of some import: the entry door lock wasn't working, but since it's visible from the front desk i wasn't that worried.

Room Tip: The usual tip to get a room more toward the middle of the hallway is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldPhatMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallory H, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear OldPhatMC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback! I have shared this with my staff, it has encouraged them to strive for excellence. I certainly hope we see you again on your next visit to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#26 of 38 in Erie
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 8051 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#8 Family Hotel in Erie
#12 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful hotel located directly off I-90 and close to all Erie attractions and businesses. Completely renovated as of April 2014, all new guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Erie
Comfort Inn Erie
Erie Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing